Currently…

Reading…

I’ve just finished reading Shakespeare’s Hamlet which I enjoyed but didn’t love. I know it’s often thought of as Shakespeare’s best work but it just didn’t capture my imagination the way my favourite plays do. The soliloquies are wonderful though. I’ve now moved on to The Monk by Matthew Gregory Lewis for my Romantics module and Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye for American lit. Have you ever read either of them?

Listening to… 

First Aid Kit’s album The Lion’s Roar which is just fantastic. It’s the perfect music to have in the background when I’m working or reading because it’s quite calming and unobtrusive. I find myself humming Emmylou and Woolf all the time.

Watching…

I haven’t got a huge amount of time to watch TV at the moment but I do make the time to watch The Vampire Diaries each week, I don’t care that it’s aimed at teenage girls, I love it! When I was super poorly and didn’t even have the energy to read much for a couple of weeks I worked my way through the entirety of True Blood (I don’t even have a thing about vampires – Twilight does nothing for me!) and it’s fantastic. I think even Tom would enjoy True Blood as it’s a lot less… censored 😉

Eating…

I have quite a large appetite at the moment! My granddad just gifted us with the Jamie Oliver 15 Minute Meal cookbook and tonight we tried out the Beef Korma Curry which was absolutely delicious, I might recreate the sauce to have with vegetables instead. I’ve also developed a new love of hot chocolates, sparked off by Costa’s delicious honeycomb hot chocolate – so good! I made myself a fancy one this afternoon: two tsp of cadberry’s chocolate powder, one tsp of cocoa powder, a cup of milk, a tsp of vanilla syrup and a sprinkling of cinnamon. I think I’ve found a winning combination.

Loving…

That I’ve done half of my Christmas shopping already. My smart phone (more specifically having instagram!). Reading poetry again. My new pink floral lampshade. Honey on toast. Weekends in London. Curling up in my blanket. Woolly snoods. Sparkly nail varnish. Cooking dinner with the family.

 

Hot chocolates are always improved by the addition of whipped cream and chocolate sprinkles!

What are your currently-s?
Do you have any plans for the weekend?

17 comments

  1. I am SO relieved that I am not the only one that didn’t think Hamlet was as amazing as I was led to believe. I have to agree though, the soliloquies were great!
    I am desperate for Jamie’s 15 minute meals, as I’ve been watching them on TV, but it feels a bit pointless buying a cookbook now, as I can only use it here for 6 days (!!!!!!!!), and I’ll be too busy enjoying my Grandma’s cooking to cook when I’m in the UK! My Mum has bribed me though and says she’ll buy it for me when (if) I come back!
    I would love a hot chocolate so much (actually, it’s that hot here I’d rather an ice chocolate!) but my sensitivity to caffiene is rampant at the moment, so no cocoa for me ):
    This weekend for me involves going to the beach with my dog (however I think she may have a broken leg, so that might not be possible!) and working. Oh, and packing!

  2. I 100% agree re: Hamlet. King Lear is still one of my favs!!! and though hamlet was well written, I think it gets far too much hype. Macbeth and King Henry are way better!

  3. I opened my reader this morning to see a huge picture of your hot chocolate with whipped cream. Was a great way to start the day ;). Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

  4. I am so glad that I’m not the only one that wasn’t sp impressed by Hamlet! Don’t get me wrong, structurally it was good, but it wasn’t ‘exciting’. I am so desperate for Jamie’s 15 minute meals, but it seems a bit silly to buy it when I am leaving soon! They’ve been playing the episdoes on TV at the moment, and all of the recipes look great.
    Oh, what I’d give for a hot chocolate (well, it’s that hot here I think an ice chocolate is more appropriate!), but even that’s too caffienated for me these days! ):

  5. Wow you’ve done half your Christmas shopping already? That’s so organised! For some reason I had it in my head that Christmas was ‘ages away’ when, in fact, it’s only a few weeks off! I really need to get myself organised!
    I hope you have a great weekend! Enjoy the Christmas light switch on in Cambridge 🙂 … and don’t forget to enter my giveaway for a shiny tin of raw hot chocolate. It’s totally lush and would be a great treat for Xmas 😉 xx

  6. I love Nero hot chocolate.

    I enjoyed Hamlet and it’s one of my favs but I know several people who don’t particularly enjoy it too. I’m a fan of Richard III but I think that perhaps reflect more on me than anything! 😉

    You got 15 MM?? When I was at Penguin there was so much press and hoo haa about it! Jamie is a HUGE deal for Penguin! 🙂 It’s sort of weird seeing a book on release which I saw weeks prior! (Can you tell I love my internship?!) Is it a good book? I’m in the market for new cookbooks! 🙂

    Hope you are feeling better. It’s a rotten time of year for colds/flus etc. There’s a lot of stuff going round so I hope you don’t catch anything! xx

  7. LOL I love that yoy say, “I don’t care that it’s aimed for teenage girls” because I always tell my husband that but he is still absolutely obsessed with that show.
    And that hot chocolate looks freakin’ amazingggg. I need it. Right now.

  8. You’ve done all your Christmas shopping?I’m such a last-minute girl! I’m trying to think a bit more about what I’ve going to get for people and doing some more shopping on the internet this year. I’ve bought one thing so far …

  9. After reading this post I listened to some songs by First Aid Kit, they’re really lovely! Thanks for alerting me to their existence 🙂

    Mmm, what is the honeycomb hot chocolate like? I can’t wait to have something Christmassy and decadent from Costa. I might have to go for a tiramisu latte, though, if they still have those.

Leave a comment