The Countdown Excitement.

Hey lovelies!

I hope you all had a great weekend and that your week has started well. I had a rather pleasant weekend despite feeling completely without energy. Tom and I went to stay with his parents and had a comfortable Saturday afternoon spent baking (and eating!) cookies before settling down to watch Strictly Come Dancing with some slices of pizza. Sunday morning we drove to church and then went for a little walk and a coffee (hot chocolate with cream for me) in town. After going home to get some work done as assessment deadlines are looming ever closer I was off out again. This time to meet my parents and sister at the cafe she works at to grab a drink before going to see the switching on of the Christmas lights! It feels like the official countdown period to Christmas has now begun πŸ™‚

Seeing the Christmas lights strung across the streets has made the excitement really start to kick in. Now I’m making mental lists of all the lovely seasonal holiday things I want to do. You have probably all realised by now how much I adore this time of the year and all of the wonderful elements of Christmas. I’m excited to start all of the preparations and truly get into the spirit of it all!

I love all of it… shopping for Christmas presents; baking and eating mince pies; listening to Christmas music and carols; putting up decorations; advent calendars and candles; writing Christmas cards; going caroling; decorating the Christmas tree; wrapping presents; curling up in front of the fire to watch Christmas films; Christmas eve dinner; midnight mass; stockings; unwrapping presents…

This weekend I got an invitation to sing in a Christmas concert in a few weeks time so I’m excited to sing some carols again. With it now being 35 days till Christmas I feel that it is okay to declare my love for it and start the preparations in earnest. As soon as we enter the month of December you can be sure I will Β be decorating the house and baking mince pies πŸ˜‰

Having said that I have four weeks to write my assessments for this semester (I have four to write) so from now until the 19th December I’m probably going to be rather busy and increasingly stressed!

Are you excited for Christmas?
What are you looking forward to most about Christmas?
Any special plans this week?

10 comments

  1. I’m super excited for Christmas. I find that when I’m away from home, Christmas is even more of a big deal because it marks the period when I’m home with every one as well as all the festivities! I’m definitely feeling more christmassy this week; it’s colder and I don’t know, just more seasonal! I think the hike up in lights, decorations, gifts and stuff everywhere maybe has something to do with it!?

    I think I’m most looking forward to going home, singing carols, baking, the woeful Christmas TV and generally basking in the smells and sights of the holiday. It’s my favourite time of year for sure!

    Good luck with the essays! I’m feeling for you! πŸ™‚ xxx

  2. gorge photos! so so ready for xmas πŸ™‚ i’m excited for it, but at the same time i don’t want it to come too quickly because the countdown before christmas is often the most exciting. Plus once it comes, we have to wait another 364 days.

  3. Wow those lights are beautiful! What a great shot you got of them! Adorable village scene and train track too. Just looking at it is making me feel festive…. and that’s a first for me this year! I’ve been so busy that I just haven’t had time to think about Christmas. I finished a big piece of work today though, so I should be able to kick back a bit now and start making plans for the festive season. I’m looking forward to that a lot! xx

Leave a Reply

