7 Happy Things.

7 has always been my favourite number. It is a magic number. It also the number of books in the Harry Potter series.

Everyone who knows me will know how much I love to find ways to be more positive. Now this term is going to be incredibly stressful for me… I have three texts to read a week (usually at least two are full novels), I have my dissertation to research and write, I have three assignments due in at Christmas, I have my PGCE application to put in at the beginning of November (which means writing another personal statement), then if I’m successful I will have tests and interviews… And breathe.

So in an attempt to not find myself snowed under and in a permanent state of panic by the end of the term I am going to start a new series of posts which will go up every Sunday titled ‘7 Happy Things’ where I shall list 7 things that have made me happy during the week. I hope you enjoy reading it!

tumblr_mq42o8Ro6Y1ru2tjho1_1280

{Image via Pinterest, originally from coffeeinthemountains tumblr}

1. Wrapping up warm in autumn clothes including lots of woolly jumpers and snoods. Although I don’t much like cold weather I have a weakness for knitwear and I have a drawer full of cozy snoods to bundle myself up in. I love nothing better than coming in from the chilly weather outside and changing into my ridiculously comfy yoga trackies and my furry slippers.

2.  Getting back to the gym after some time off for freshers! Freshers week is enough to make even the fittest person feel sluggish and it felt so good to be working out again and clearing out the toxins (we all know where they come from!). My skin is clearing up again thanks to a diet heavy on the vegetables, plenty of water and a bit more activity.

3. Starting lectures again and getting back into the swing of uni. Although I have a hellish term ahead of me I am really excited to get stuck into it all, I’m doing brilliant modules which I already know I will love. Children’s literature in particular is lovely, I can’t wait to get to read some of my old favourites for it.

4. Going for cycles in the countryside under the changing colours of the autumn leaves, and stopping for a drink in a country pub with friends. There is something wonderful about the crisp air blowing against your face, turning your cheeks pink with cold and then warming up in the comforting surrounds of an English pub.

5. So many brilliant TV programmes are returning to our screens – Downton Abbey, Great British Bake Off, Homeland, The Vampire Diaries… It’s perfect for those evenings when you just want to stay tucked up in bed or curled up on the sofa in a blanket watching TV.

6. Chatting with friends. Modern technology can sometimes be a pain but I have to say that I am so grateful for mobile phones, getting to send a quick text to friends that I miss and getting to hear their voices to chat always lifts my mood.

7. Being home for the weekend, getting to spend time with my lovely family whilst eating steak and chips, roast dinner, and apple crumble until I’m slightly too full. Also stealing extra cuddles with Poppy to make up for the ones missed!

I hope you all had a great weekend and are enjoying the autumn!

Sophie x

8 comments

  1. Loving all of your happy things 🙂 I wish it was cooler in Ohio so that I could wrap up in autumn clothes too! I LOVE cool, crisp weather 🙂 Also, I need to start cutting some things out of my diet to see if my skin will start clearing up. I am SO sick of breakouts! UGH. I am 25 – this is just getting ridiculous. What kinds of food did you cut out to see improvement? PS – Good luck with all of your assignments. While they are important it is still good to do things for you 🙂

    1. It is suddenly really cold here, it’s a bit of a shock to the system! I know what you mean, I’m only 20 but I do feel like seeing how I didn’t get many spots as a teenager I don’t want to start now! I’ve been cutting back on the amount of sugar and processed foods I eat as well as making sure I’m eating plenty of fruit and veg – simple things really 🙂

  2. I love this list!! I also love that photo of the autumn leaves, best season ever!! I have faith that these next few months will go by fast!! Once you look back you will be amazed at all you accomplished!

  3. This post could have been written by me – I adore all these things about autumn! 😉 Good luck with the term ahead, just take every day as it comes – I’d love to hear about how your application, interviews, tests etc for doing your PGCE go as this is something I’m also considering doing in the future. xx

Leave a Reply

