I Think I’m In Love.

Yes, you heard right. I’ve fallen in love, fallen in love hard.

Not with a person though. Oh no, I have fallen head over heels in love with the city of Nice. Set in the Côte d’Azur, in the beautiful French Riviera, Nice is a wonderfully bright, vibrant, bustling city. It has the feel of an Italian city as it only became part of France in 1860 and was a dominion of Savoy before. It is full of life and colour, the people are friendly, and the pace of life is slow and relaxed.

We spent a week in Nice soaking up the sights and the atmosphere of this beautiful city and I know that it is just one of those places I could never spend enough time in. We stayed just off Place Garibaldi which is situated just on the edge of Vieux Nice (the old town) and the town centre so it was an absolutely perfect location to explore the city to our hearts’ content. The surrounding towns and coastline are simply breathtaking, we spent many mornings and evenings on the beach in Villefranche-sur-Mer which is a stunning town settled right in an enclosed bay with the most ridiculously gorgeous views of the sea and the curving coast. The sun shines fiercely during the day and then the evenings are balmy – it has the perfect holiday climate and we definitely made the most of it with light lunches, plenty of ice creams and a few cocktails.

I haven’t had a chance to go through all of the photos we took but I really wanted to share my experience of Nice with you so here some photos from mine and my sister’s Instagrams to give you a little taste. I reckon you might well fall in love with it too…

mosaic7a869b608607395906c925a9d0fafe6e62c87539

This view… | Alice in Place Garibaldi | To market, to market

mosaicab0b94eb55bf751b7f0ca379f4c527c45c997157

French breakfasts cannot be beaten | Villefranche |Afternoon wandering

mosaic2514e1a841674e9f54ce956fa3d69e09679563ad

Ice cream for the day – ferrero rocher | Gelato at its finest | Nighttime churros

mosaic3c70ac9567db85fda0eb040865f17881b9d7a588

Seafood on the coast | Monte Carlo | Mojito happy hour

mosaic4dd9a6e90aa76b162c988e8cc984eda626977207

A view to die for | That beach photo 😉 | Can I go back now please?

Looking through all of these photos make me miss it all already, if you ever get the opportunity to visit Nice then I urge you to do so, you can’t possibly be disappointed by the sheer vibrancy of the city and the beauty all around it!

I hope you all had a lovely week whilst I was away, I’ll be catching up with blog posts and will also write a proper photo recap soon. If you want to follow me on Instagram you can find me @sophiejuliette_mh I love snapping away in my daily life.

Sophie x

p.s. Thank you so much for all of your lovely comments and tweets about my last post, I really appreciate all of the encouragement and support!

4 comments

  1. I love Nice. I spent arguably the best summer of my life in the French Riviera and given the chance I’d be back over there in a heartbeat. There’s something magical about that place isn’t there? Anyhow glad you had a great time ( you look amazing by the way :))

  2. How beautiful! Totally adding Nice to my wanderlust list (which, incidentally, is getting rather long). Can’t wait to read your official recap!

  3. ‘Tender Is the Night’ immortalised my wish to visit the Riviera and Nice. Forever a swooner for that book. 🙂

    It looks like you had a beautiful time! I hope you got some rest and recoop!

  4. Nice is not somewhere I’ve been but your description & pictures had me wishing for a lovely sunny beach holiday there! I love holidays because it gives you the opportunity to escape “real life” for a while and immerse yourself in another culture.
    I didn’t comment on your last post but I am so excited for you! I have no doubt that you will make a great teacher and that all the kids will love you! x

Leave a Reply

