Currently…

Reading…

Anything I have the time to lay my hands on. One of my favourite things about the summer holidays is all that free time to read! I finished reading NW by Zadie Smith last week, which I absolutely loved. It’s witty, engaging, and thoughtfully written, I really enjoy Smith’s narrative style. I’m currently researching my dissertation topic and I’m ploughing my way through the chapter in The Madwoman in the Attic entitled ‘The Genesis of Hunger According to Shirley‘. Obviously I can’t just read for my dissertation so I’m also starting to work my way through the list of books for my Modernist module, the first of which is Nightwood by Djuna Barnes. I have no idea what it’s about but I’m looking forward to diving into the unknown (my life is just that exciting!).

Listening to… 

I recently discovered a new (to me) band whose music is equally perfect for perking me up on sunny mornings or relaxing for balmy summer evenings, Of Monsters and Men. I have to say the literary link wasn’t wasted on me either and might have a tiny bit to do with why I was drawn to their music. ‘Little Talks’ is a particularly good wake-up song if you’re like me and it takes some kind of motivation to get out of bed in the morning. I’ve also been listening to the song ‘Swell Window’ by Zee Avi practically on repeat, she has a lovely unique voice and the song just makes me happy.

Watching…

This is a little embarrassing to admit but I’ve been working my way through Sex and the City, which I’ve never actually watched before. I know, I know, it’s the opposite of high brow and there is a lot in it that makes me roll my eyes or even grit my teeth, but I feel like it’s just what I need in light of being newly single… And it is kinda funny! Additionally the sixth series of True Blood has started again so my Monday evenings are always enjoyable (mmm Alexander Skarsgård).

Eating…

Lots of strawberries. I adore the abundance of delicious fresh fruit in the summer and I take full advantage of it. We’re off to Nice in August and I’m so excited about the prospect of fresh juicy peaches. I’ve also been drinking my fair share of fruity rekorderligs, enjoyed in pubs by the river with friends. Laughter (and sometimes alcohol) is the best medicine for heart ache. With the UK seeing so much sunshine it has been the ideal weather for barbecues which has become a bit of family tradition Sunday evenings to replace the roasts. So grateful to have my family supporting me right now 🙂

IMG_7231

IMG_7239

IMG_7238

IMG_7235

I hope you all enjoyed lovely, sunny weekends! What are your currently-s? Any fantastic books to recommend or music I just have to listen to?

Sophie x

10 comments

  1. no books on my end, but i am anxiously awaiting the civil wars’ new album. this song is their first single and i love it so. 🙂

    omygosh, have fun in Nice! I look forward to all the pics to be shared! 😉

  2. Reading: Dan Brown’s Inferno and I’m halfway through and I like it 🙂 I actually started reading it because I read somewhere that the Philippine National Police reacted very negatively to the book & I didn’t understand why from the article. I decided I should just dive into it myself to find out. I will say though that this one doesn’t touch on symbolism as much as his previous books Angels and Demon’s & Da Vinci Code but he can be very engaging.

    Listening: to The Pixies lately as they are going to be in Madrid in November and I’m refreshing my memory with their songs. I missed out on the XX when they came last year and I was really bummed out too.

    Eating: a lot of just about everything and I’m getting worried. Hahahaha! I don’t think I am helping myself look presentable in a bikini really.

    Lovely post, Sophie 🙂 love the photos as well. Enjoy Nice next month. I’m stuck in steaming Madrid until mid-August then off to vacation via motorbike through parts of Spain and then drive through some parts of France to get back into the Northern part of Spain called the Basque Country. I’m so looking forward to that as well. Happy to hear you are getting along with the help of friends and family 🙂

    Daphne

  3. I’m also starting to work through my reading list for next year – I’m currently reading A Testament of Youth by Vera Brittain but I’ve just finished The Ministry of Thin by Emma Woolf which was fascinating.
    I’m also eating lots of strawberries – I can’t seem to get enough of fruit and salads at the moment!
    Enjoy the sunshine! x

  4. I’m really enjoying Of Monsters and Men myself, great great band! I know how you feel about Sex & The City. I think every girl has to go through that period in their lives where they have to watch this show. It’s ridiculous and superficial, but oh it’s SO ENTERTAINING! I might have to give it a re-watch myself 🙂

  5. I’ve been trying to get back into reading but lately haven’t found many books to lure me in – I feel another trip to the library is needed. I have been watching a lot of ‘Gossip Girl’, which I only recently started watching and I get the feeling I feel the same about watching it as you do with ‘Sex and the City’ (which is a show I really love btw).

    Other than that I’ve mainly been spending far too much time on Pinterest and not managing to sleep due to the lovely weather you mention.

  6. Girl, you flaunt your Sex and the City watching! Haha, I think I’ve seen probably 90% of the episodes, but still love catching reruns when I see that they’re on.
    As always, I love reading your posts and looking at your lovely pictures 😀

  7. I love it when eps of sex and the city come on TV – I always get hooked on the marathons. Sounds like a fun summer you’ve been having 🙂 And your bbq looks deelicious! Plus those veggies look amazing. And those drinks are so gorgeous! Can I come over? haha jk 😉

  8. Whenever Sex in the City has a marathon on, I move my love seat 4 feet from the tv, dead center and watch it until i fall asleep

Leave a Reply

