In the End.

This is the hardest post I’ve ever sat down to write. There is just no easy way of getting this out of my head and on to the screen.

After over five wonderful and happy years Tom and I have decided to part ways.

Just writing that sentence makes my feel really strange. The past couple of weeks have been incredibly difficult and I have learnt that it is important to let yourself cry and that it is okay to feel good one minute and then lonely and confused the next. I don’t want to share the intimate details of what happened because they are between Tom and I but I will say that it was a mutual decision. We are not angry with each other, in fact we still care for each other a great deal. It was just time to move on.

Right now it’s hard to picture my life without him, he really has been my other half. But despite the pain I feel now I don’t regret a single day of those five years, they hold some of the most special moments of my life and I will always treasure those memories.

I thought long and hard on what to call this post but I finally settled on ‘In the End’, one of Tom’s favourite songs by his favourite band. He taught me so much and made me very happy for a long time, and I hope that one day, when time has healed all our wounds, we can be friends again.

There is no easy way to get over someone, especially your first love, but even as each day feels a bit strange right now I know that eventually things will be easier and I’ll be myself again. I hope you can all understand that I needed some time away from the internet to put my head in order and deal with the emotions swirling through me, I may be a little sporadic with my blogging but I promise I haven’t disappeared altogether! Things may be a bit tough right now but I do have some really positive things happening in my life right now and I have lots to tell you all.

Hope you’re all well!

Sophie x

26 comments

  1. Sophie, everything you have written makes me know that you have such an amazing outlook on it. My boyfriend and I broke up over Christmas and it’s only now that I’ve begun to realise that I can treasure the moments we had together, and be grateful and happy about that wonderful time, without desperately wanting to revert everything back to it. The most frustrating thing is that switch between feeling good about it, and then missing it- so I absolutely sympathise with that!
    Have a lovely summer and look after yourself by doing all the things that make you happy šŸ™‚ Looking forward to hearing all the positive things, take care sweet X

    1. Thank you, I really appreciate that šŸ™‚ I’m sorry you’ve recently been through a break up too, I’m glad you’re now able to look back at it positively! Hope you’re enjoying your summer!

  2. My dear friend, I am sending you so much love!! It’s times like these that I wish we all lived in one giant community and could hang out in real life! You and I are in the same boat and would benefit so much from some girl time (whenever we didn’t want alone time because to be honest I prefer alone time right now.) I can sense your positive spirit and optimism through your words and can tell you are well on your way to the strongest you have ever been!! I am glad the split was calm and mutual, and I have no doubt in time you will be friends. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers! ā¤

    1. Oh wouldn’t that be fantastic! I wish we could have some girl time, I hope you’re doing okay! I do feel like I am staying strong and I hope I carry on feeling positive and making myself a better person šŸ™‚ I’ve been thinking about you a lot!

  3. Sorry to hear that, Sophie šŸ˜¦ I went through the same thing recently. It’s definitely not easy, but only time will heal. Stay strong!! ā¤

  4. So sorry to hear about this – I really admire your strength and positive attitude during what must be a very difficult time. When something like this happens, I like to remember that everything happens for a reason. xx

  5. I am so sorry, Sophie, but am glad that you could write about it. Even though you’re going through an incredibly tough time, have faith that with every end comes a new beginning. Sending lots of love your way.

  6. I feel like, even though this is an excruciatingly hard decision it was a decision you had to take and it was well worth it. What you have done will not only benefit you, but your ex as well. Sometimes we tend to believe we should stay with someone because there’s no way out, or maybe we do it because it’s routine and we are afraid of being alone. That can only lead to resentment…I’m sending hugs your way. You are a strong lady, and this will pass. Stay strong and positive!

    – Irela ā™„

  7. Aww Sophie, I went all hot and then all cold when reading this, sorry I’m a bit behind will blog reading, but big hugs from me, and care care of yourself lovely. x

  8. šŸ˜¦ I haven’t been online much & only saw this post now… I’m so sorry to hear this. Back when I was 21 I had my first heart break & I got depressed for a year. 8 years later I had my 2nd one & I promised myself that I would handle the pain & sadness differently and I did. I can tell that you are definitely taking this one day at a time. You have decided to stick with the good memories rather than drown in the loss of it or completely wallow in despair. You have a great attitude towards it and with time (as with all things) you will be better. You will wake up one morning & know that you healed.

    Stay strong xx

    Daphne

  9. Oh Sophie, I missed this post. I’m so sorry to hear this. I hope you’re holding up alright. I have no pearls of wisdom about heartbreak, but I’m here if you need to talk, even if you just feel like you need to get some words out.

Leave a Reply

