Currently Reading.

Having now been on holiday for the past two weeks I have had quite a bit of free time on my hands. I am not working for another week so I’ve been making the absolute most of this time off by filling my time with coffee with friends, sitting out in pubs in the evening, having fun on the dance floor with the girls, watching trashy TV and films (Legally Blonde – love it!), spending the day in comfy yoga pants, lying in in the morning, reading to my heart’s content…

I know a lot of you also love to read in your spare time so I thought it would be fun to write a little about the three books that I am currently reading. If you read my Book Q&A then you’ll know that I don’t actually enjoy reading multiple books at once, however unfortunately at any given time I’ll have two on the go thanks to studying literature! Long gone are the days when I could devour novel after novel to my heart’s content. Now it’s all about snatched moments tucked up in bed either upon waking up or just before I fall asleep. These days I’m lucky if I don’t fall asleep with my laptop still open on my bed and a book in my hand. However for the last two weeks, when I haven’t been out I’ve been spending my evenings curled up with my favourite reading company, Poppy, and a new book. Here are my book plans for this week:

IMG_7206

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

This book was completely unknown to me, I’d never heard of the author prior to being introduced to the book by the fantastic Emily. It’s a YA book which is not usually a genre I’d chose but so far the story is incredibly thrilling. Here is what the people at World Book Night have to say about the plot:

‘Todd Hewitt is the last boy in Prentisstown.
But Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in a constant, overwhelming, never-ending Noise. There is no privacy. There are no secrets.
Or are there?
Just one month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd unexpectedly stumbles upon a spot of complete silence.
Which is impossible.
Prentisstown has been lying to him.
And now he’s going to have to run…
Astonishingly powerful and breathtakingly exciting, The Knife of Never Letting Go is an unflinching novel about the dangerous choices of growing up.’

We’ll see how the story develops and maybe you’ll get a review soon 🙂

The Madwoman in the Attic by Sandra Gilbert and Susan Gubar

Although I have several months off from university I am using this summer to start (and hopefully do most of) the research for my third year dissertation. I’m planning on exploring the relationship that characters have with food, and look at the development of self starvation. This book is absolutely amazing when it comes to women in literature, particularly in the Victorian period and it’s proving a great help so far. I’m actually pretty excited to be starting my dissertation, it’s so satisfying to get to study something you are really passionate about.

NW by Zadie Smith

NW stands for North-West London and the book follows four main characters – Leah, Natalie, Felix and Nathan – through their lives in London, highlighting their different paths and their choices. I love Zadie Smith’s writing so I knew I’d love this and when it was nominated for the 2013 Women’s Prize I ordered it straight away. I love novels that explore human psychology and the way we interact together and make choices in life and I have high hopes for this one!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post and maybe be inspired to read a new book, let me know what you are currently reading or if you’ve read anything fantastic recently.

Sophie x

11 comments

  1. It ounds like you are having such a wonderful break that is full of relaxation and fun 🙂 Pubs+Friends+Books+Movies+Yoga Pants+Coffee=MY FAVORITE THINGS! 🙂 I have only heard of NW by Zadie Smith. It sounds like a great read. I’m going to add it to my list on Goodreads 🙂 Right now, I’m reading about 8 books (I actually enjoy reading various books at once – I never know what I’m in the mood for) but the one I can’t put down is called Mirror Mirror Off My Wall by Kjerstin Gruys! Such a great read so far! I can’t wait to finish it!

    1. Thank you, it has been a good break so far, it’s good to get to spend time with my friends 🙂 NW is definitely worth a read, I’m really enjoying it. I will go check out Mirror Mirror Off My Wall!

    1. Oh good, I hope you enjoy them! If you’re having a reading funk I’d recommend trying Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close if you like contemporary novels, it got me out of a reading funk a while back!

  2. I love this, I have been reading a lot lately and it’s been so enjoyable. I don’t pick books based on authors these days, instead I have been going into the library and grabbing books that grab me! I will read the back and if it sounds good I will try it! All of these books sounds great, especially the first two.

    1. I love reading, it’s the joy of escaping real life and getting transported somewhere entirely new! That’s lovely, I’m glad you go to your local library, I should go to mine more.

Leave a Reply

