Currently…

IMG_0040

Reading…

I’ve been stuck with my reading lately. I’ve just started an essay on amatory verse (in simple terms: love poetry) and as such I’ve had very little time to read actual books in between my research and poetry reading! Studying literature at uni can have its major downsides and having little to no time to read outside of the course is definitely one of them! So I’ve only just managed to finish This Isn’t the Sort of Thing That Happens to Someone Like You by Jon McGregor despite starting it several weeks ago(!) but I really enjoyed it. I will be reviewing it in the next few weeks so watch out for that. I’m now starting George Bernard Shaw’s Mrs Warren’s Profession which we’re studying next week in my Victorian module.

Listening to… 

As I have been so poorly lately, I’ve needed something to help lift my spirits. There’s only really one song that can do it for me: Rusted Root’s Send Me On My Way. It’s just so happy and uplifting, plus there’s the nostalgia – it just takes me back to watching Matilda as a child! I’ve also been really enjoying Daughter’s EP His Young Heart which is just beautiful.

Watching…

In my illness I’ve ended up watching quite a lot of TV and films, I have to admit Mamma Mia was definitely watched (I adore that film), as were Sense and Sensibility, Runaway Bride, and When Harry Met Sally… I’ve also caught up with Paul Hollywood’s Breads which always makes me want to go down to the kitchen and get kneading. If you have any fun, lighthearted films to recommend then I’m all ears.

Eating…

I had the most beautiful cupcake earlier today (I instagramed it – @loveliveandlearn)  that my mother kindly brought me back from the farmers’ market this morning. It was just so lovely to look at that I almost didn’t want to eat it… It was really tasty too so obviously I did end up eating it! Today the weather was actually springlike for the first time so after a brilliant talk on Jane Austen in St John’s College in Cambridge, my lovely friend Sophie and I decided to have a picnic nearby in the sunshine so I ate an avocado sandwich and a strawberry and vanilla smoothie – delicious.

Wishing for…

The summer! Having a taste of warmer weather has made me seriously pine for the sunshine and the months of long days with time off and holidays away. This summer my family is off to Barcelona for a week and I am so so excited, I’ve been once before and fell in love with the vibrancy of the city along with its stunning architecture and delicious seafood.

What are your currently-s?

Sophie x

12 comments

  1. I’m so sorry to hear at you’ve been poorly again, but I know that you’ll get through it full of smiles. I’m currently reading ‘We Need to Talk about Kevin’ after many people told me it was great. I agree, it’s well written, but it just seems to keep going over the same feelings and emotions, and I don’t really see where it’s going! I’ve been watching The Carrie Diaries – my favourite show ever! I’ve been wishing for a little less lonliness is all honesty. xxx

    1. Thank you lovely, I tried to carry on smiling! (Hopefully I succeeded :-P) I’ve never read it, did it get any better? I’m sorry you’re feeling a bit lonely, feel free to send me an email, I’m always here to chat 🙂

  2. Ooh we did a Victorian Module last term and studied Mrs Warren’s Profession, I hope you enjoy it, I loved it.
    What a very good choice with Sense & Sensibility, and Hollywood’s ‘Bread’, but I have never seen When Harry Met Sally- maybe I need to rectify that.
    The lecture on Austen followed by a picnic sounds so perfect! I really hope the warmer and drier weather sticks around so I can go for walks and picnics too.
    Always loving your posts Sophie, I feel I leave huge comments, but I always feel I have so much in common! X

    1. I really enjoyed it, so interesting and funny. Ah nothing beats S & S, one of my favourite of Austen’s (the other is Persuasion!). When Harry Met Sally is my absolute favourite chick flicky happy film, I watch it every year around new year time 🙂 If you like relationship films which make you smile, you should definitely try it!

      I think we have heaps in common too, whenever I read your posts I feel exactly the same 🙂

  3. Sorry to hear that weren´t feeling your best. I hope since this entry you are better?

    Btw, congratulations on the new layout and look of the blog. I´ve noticed that you have changed so many things on it! It looks great (:

  4. currently…
    reading: where’d you go, bernadette
    watching: too much trashy tv
    eating: lots of smoothies

    That’s super exciting you’re off too barcelona this summer!
    I hope you feel better soon! xo

  5. I definitely know what you mean about it being harder to read leisurely when you have so many school books to also read! I feel the same way! But currently reading a non-fiction about Alzheimer’s and (on a totally different note) a sort of smutty fiction book, and also a non-fiction called ‘Nurture Shock’ for school. Really enjoying all three!

Leave a Reply

