In Which Sophie Eats: Jamie’s Italian.

So for my birthday, I wanted to celebrate with my friends from home when everyone was back for the holidays and what better way to celebrate moving away from teenager years than some delicious (and rather sophisticated) cocktails? And of course, me being me, there had to be some food involved!

The logical choice for a good mix of tasty cocktails and scrumptious food in a good atmosphere was Jamie’s Italian. I’ve been a big Jamie Oliver fan for a long time, his cookbooks are great and I love his personality on TV, it made sense that I would then love his restaurants. Plus those of you who have been reading my blog for a while will know how much I adore pasta…

Jamie’s Italian has spread of restaurants of across Great Britain as well as some in Australia, Ireland, Singapore and Dubai so if you live in any of these countries and you haven’t been before I would definitely recommend trying it. There is a good choice of dishes from the pasta and risotto to fish dishes and very meaty dishes, it’s Italian food but with a typical Jamie Oliver twist.

IMG_7116

Florence Fizz – Limoncello, pomegranate juice, elderflower cordial & Prosecco

My cocktail was a lovely fruity, lemony, fizzy blend and went down a treat. We’d also definitely recommend the Bramble and the Pear & Rosemary Martini, which some of the others had and looked delish.

IMG_7117

IMG_7123

It was awkward lighting for photos of people so I haven’t many but here are some of my gorgeous friends and one of me and Tom, you can see a little of the decor which I really like, and whilst the lighting wasn’t conducive to clearly focused photos, it made for a really relaxed atmosphere.

IMG_7124

Prawn Linguine – Fried garlicky prawns, shaved fennel, tomatoes, chilli & rocket

After our cocktails we moved onto food, and obviously I chose a pasta dish. One of the things I really like about Jamie’s Italian is that you can have a small or a regular portion of most of the pasta dishes and if you’re like me and you a) don’t have a massive appetite, and b) like to save room for dessert, it’s a great idea! So I decided to have the prawn linguine. The tomatoes which make up the sauce of the dish were lovely and fresh, there was just the right balance of chilli and garlic and I was really impressed by the generous number of prawns on the plate. Overall it was delicious and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Having mentioned the small portions allowing room for dessert, it follows that I had something sweet to finish off my meal!

IMG_7125

Poached Winter Fruits – With vanilla frozen yoghurt & smashed honeycomb

This had a really good flavour but I was a little disappointed with it. I guess I just expected the poached fruit to be hot and therefore be a nice contrast to the frozen yogurt, however the fruit was cold (and consequently a little hard). I was still nice though, if the fruit had been hot and there had been more honeycomb sprinkled on top it would have been a great dish.

I had a fantastic evening with my friends, the cocktails started the evening brilliantly, the food was great and the service was also really good, and I still go on being a big fan of Jamie Oliver’s!

Sophie x

13 comments

  1. What a perfect way to spend your birthday!! I LOVE Jamie Oliver!! His show is my favorite of all time. You and your friends (and Tom of course) are all gorgeous and so healthy looking!! Weird comment, but true! HA!

  2. Happy belated birthday. 😀
    Haha oh my, that dessert almost looked bigger than your main dish (not that I have anything against that. Yum, sweet stuff!)
    My whole family are completely in love with all things Jamie Oliver, I think my brother (a trained chef, though not working as one anymore) has always been getting the latest cookbook every single year for either his birthday or Christmas.

    Oh oh oh, and did you know you can currently win a private cooking lesson with Jamie? I only discovered this today actually and am a bit too lazy to enter right now, but I’m secretly hoping I’ll win and am able to whisk my brother off to London to meet his idol. 😀
    anyway: http://prizeo.com/jamie (does this count as shameless advertising? For … someone else’s giveaway? EH.)

    One thing I don’t like about Jamie’s food (well, his recipes – I haven’t eaten at one of his restaurants … YET) is that they’re quite rich. Even supposedly simple meals. Not really much for my delicate stomach. Boooo.

    1. Haha it was quite large! Usually that’s not a problem though! Oh that’s really nice, we’ve got several of his cookbooks and I really like them 🙂

      Ooh that’s exciting! I hope you get it, it’s lovely that you want to take your brother! They are quite rich dishes but I suppose that’s okay for a special occasion (maybe a bit much for everyday!)

  3. I am soo jealous that you have been to one of Jamies restaurants. I was recently in Melbourne (he has a restaurant there in Australia) and I didn’t get to it! Looks like you had a really nice birthday dinner though… you all look so lovely and the food looks delicious!

  4. Jamie Oliver the first person on TV that made me think that cooking is fun and easy 🙂 My favorite was when he was picking up produce from his own garden and prepared pizza or a salad.

    Would love to try his restaurant 🙂 Looks like you all had good food and yummy cocktails.

    Belated happy birthday!!! 🙂

  5. What an amazing way to celebrate your birthday! Great food and great company 🙂 Everything looks delish and your cocktail sounds devine. I’d have to agree that warm fruit would have upped the contrast for the dessert, but despite it begin cold, it still looks like it was quiiite tasty. So glad you had a happy birthday!!

Leave a Reply

