The End of an Era?

So I mentioned last Sunday that things have changed for me when it comes to matters of my health. People who have read my blog for a while will know that for the last six years I have had to deal with various different problems – back pain, stiffness, extreme fatigue, dizziness, headaches, trouble standing and walking etc. To put it in a simple term, I have a condition called fibromyalgia. (If you want to read about it there are several posts in my Posts Worth a Read section.)

I have been going to the hospital, the doctors, and the physio for almost six years now and on Friday afternoon something happened. I was discharged from the hospital. 

Basically the doctors can do no more for me. There is no cure and I have tried the vast majority of the treatments available so for now, I’m on my own. It feels a little odd, I’ve been going to hospital for so long that it has become a part of my life (I’m aware that’s quite sad), I can’t imagine not going. But for now, unless my condition changes, I won’t be going back.

It’s not all bad though.

I am determined that if I am going to have to live with this condition, I am just going to live with it. I want to really LIVE. So in a way, no longer having to deal with all sorts of hospital appointments means that it will be easier for me to feel like I’m leading a normal life.

Being at university and living at home this year means that life is slightly on hold, or perhaps it’s just that it’s easier. I feel a little like I’m a bubble which is cushioning me from the difficulties of adult, working life. Next year I am moving out again to live with some lovely lovely people from uni and it will be a nice in between step to help me figure out how well I’m be able to cope with my condition on my own.

I don’t know what I want from life yet, I just know that I want to do something that makes me happy, surround myself with wonderful people, and carry on finding pleasure in the simple but beautiful things in life. Who knows where I’ll end up or what I’ll end up doing but for now, I just want to move forwards in my life.

Stay positive everyone!

IMG_7073

(I wanted to include this lovely image of spring as it has been horrible snowy weather here and I’m trying to pretend we have sunshine and blue skies! Is it snowing where you are?)

I hope you’ve all had a great weekend and enjoy the build up to Easter 🙂

Sophie x

15 comments

  1. Stay in the fight Sophie. You will have good days and Fibro bad days, and with your positive outlook the good ones are going to be life affirming. I was diagnosed in Grad school and 8 years later I am finally learning how to manage it. You are a step ahead of me with your firm grasp on positivity. Blessings….

  2. I am sure you will have nothing but good things coming your way. Stay positive and live life to the fullest! Sounds like you have an amazing network of friends and family to help you through any hard times and remember you have blog readers that will always try to listen and be there 🙂

    xo Em

  3. Like all things that we have gotten used to in our life (by choice, by chance, or by a series of unfortunate events) we will miss it in our own way. It has become a part of us. I like the positive approach you are taking to all of this — change is good and you are looking forward to it, excited actually. Thanks for sharing! It´s inspiring to hear you on the happy end of the spectrum despite a difficult challenge that you are living with 🙂

    No show in Madrid but lots of rain and no sun! I have never seen Madrid so gloomy in the last 2 years and so that I´ve been here. I want the sun, now.

    1. I’m glad you found my perspective inspiring, I definitely always try to stay optimistic about life and its difficulties!

      Rain is almost worst than snow, I hate leaving the house in the rain, definitely wishing for the sun and the heat of summer now!

  4. Sophie, your ability to remain positive despite your pain is something I truly admire. I have total confidence that you will be able to live your life to the fullest and continue to inspire people, despite the fibromyalgia. Keep pushing forward ❤

  5. I was going to say stay positive, but it seems as though you’re already a very positive person which is fantastic! Some days aren’t as great as others, but I like to think that each day is a new day and its up to us to make it the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

