Currently…

IMG_7012

Reading…

So much! I have an absurd amount of reading to do for my course at the moment, it’s really difficult to keep up. At this point in time I am working my way through George Eliot’s Adam Bede which is good but hard going – it’s almost 600 pages long. I’m also reading Thomas More’s Utopia as well as rereading Jane Austen’s Persuasion and dipping into some poetry from the Romantic era. Phew! So I’m afraid I’m not reading anything for leisure at the moment, I just don’t have the time.

Listening to… 

I recently discovered The Lumineers thanks to my sister, Alice, and I’ve been really enjoying their songs, especially Ho Hey. I’ve also been listening to soundtracks quite a lot lately because I find it difficult to work whilst listening to music with vocals. My favourite is undoubtedly the Pride and Prejudice soundtrack composed by Dario Marianelli, it is just so beautiful. If I sit and listen to it I can picture every scene and it definitely evokes an emotional response from me.

Watching…

I haven’t been watching loads of TV recently because some of my favourite programs have just finished. I am loving Africa with David Attenborough although the last episode is this week. The footage of the animals in their natural settings is simply amazing and it’s fascinating to watch. I also love a bit of New Girl and Vampire Diaries for some light entertainment to distract me from my work 😉 Plus a new series of Food & Drink has started (this week’s episode is on BBC iplayer) and it’s presented by Michel Roux Jnr so it’s extra good in my opinion!

Drinking…

Heaps of hot chocolates! They are my go-to drink at this time of the year when it’s so cold and often wet. My favourite way to make them when I particularly need cheering up is with a spoonful of nutella and then cream and mini marshmallows on top. So so comforting.

Dreaming of…

The summer. I’m always like this at this time of the year, I long for blue skies, sunshine,  picnics, holidays… I want to be able to go outside without having to bundle up in multiple layers of knitted clothing, and to sit in the park and read without feeling like my nose and fingers are frozen stiff. I’m dreaming of ice cream cones at the seaside in June, of picnicking by the river in July, of cocktails under a parasol in the balmy evenings of August…

Loving…

My new NARS blush in Douceur which is just lovely dusted onto the apples of my cheeks. I’m also loving having the time to experiment a little more with cooking, last week I made pizza, this week I’m going to try a new dish of courgettes and quinoa. I love spending time in the kitchen cooking dinner for me and my family, cooking can be creative, fun, and I find it rather therapeutic.

What are your currently-s?

Sophie x

11 comments

  1. How very busy! I’m going to start on Middlemarch this week so that will be a struggle, but I always like the sense of achievement after a long book. Oh and Persuasion is so beautiful, I love it!
    I also love the P&P soundtrack- perfect to listen to whilst dreaming of spring/ summer.
    Finally, that courgette and quinoa dish sounds yummy, I’ll hope for a recipe 🙂
    Sorry for such a long reply it just seems so much of this post applied to me too! xxx

  2. No wonder you don’t have time to read outside of school work! It’s kinda old at this point, but the soundtrack to Hero (http://www.amazon.com/Hero-Music-Original-Soundtrack-Tan/dp/B0002S945W/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1360165236&sr=8-1&keywords=hero+soundtrack) is absolutely beautiful, it’s my favorite when I don’t want words, just music & emotion.

    And oh my gosh, you reminded me that Vampire Diaries exists–watched season 1 and stopped, I need to start season 2!

  3. Very interesting post & indeed very very busy! I love to read too but wow that´s a lot!

    I´m currently watching reruns of one of my favorite crime shows– Cold Case but I am excitedly waiting for the third season of The Walking Dead to start again on Sunday! I really like the show 🙂 I am still caught up in the Zombie Craze.

    As for reading, I read an average of 1 book per week but nothing worth bragging about the reading material. I am caught up in books similar to Harry Potter. The author is Rick Riordan. However, one of my favorite books of all time is The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera, which I find myself wanting to reread every few years.

    I love electronic music and I download a podcast once a week. I´m also not big on lyrics (most days) but I do enjoy my occasional pop music for dancing with friends. For times that I need to concentrate I choose classical.

    1. I’ve never watched The Walking Dead, is it scary? (I’m a wimp for scary films/shows!)

      I adore Harry Potter so maybe I’ll give Riordan a go. The Unbearable Lightness of Being has been on my wishlist for ages, I’m definitely reading it this summer!

      1. Not scary at all but it has moments where it makes you jump because you don´t know where the zombie is going to pop out from. They also leave some story lines hanging and that really makes me so impatient for the next episode to come out. I´m surprised by how the story is still evolving — new characters and interesting twists. I was skeptical about how long they would be able to keep at it but so far it´s still working for me 🙂

  4. I love Nars blushes. I’ve not had a non-Nars blush for over five years now and whilst I may be missing out on other great brands, I just know that a new Nars will last forever in the pan and on my face.

    I’m finally getting around to The God of Small Things which has been lying on my shelf since way back in sixth form! I was always a bit jealous of English students in my first year. I used to seem them reading Shakespeare and Austen in the library whilst I was staring down at Russian verb tables! My subjects got a lot more exciting past that first year and the reading picked up. I remember fighting a loosing battle to finish all 1000 + pages of The Brothers Karamazov in time but if it’s any consolation, it doesn’t seem so bad in retrospect and I kind of miss all that academia. No, actually, I definitely miss it.

    I was the same with studying and music. My go-to was Lord of the Rings because if you listen to all three, it spanned an afternoon! Bit of Radio 3 was always nice too. I am obsessed with O Soave Fancuilla from La Boheme at the moment. It entrances me.

    Hope you are well! x

    1. Me too, I have two of them and they’re my absolute favourites. You’re right about them lasting for ages, the one I’ve had for longer still doesn’t have a dent in it and I use it loads!

      I’ve never read The God of Small Things, did you enjoy it? Wow that is a long book! I can imagine missing academia when I finish.

      The Lord of the Rings soundtracks are great 🙂

  5. I love ‘Persuasion’. I think I might love it just a tad bit more than Pride and Prejudice and that’s definitely a big statement. 🙂

    I love the Pride and Prejudice Soundtrack! My favorite track on it is ‘Darcy’s Letter’. Imagine sitting on the train as it speeds towards the city as you see the sun rise. It’s lovely! 😉

    ps. Yay for hot chocolate!

  6. Hi Sophie I love your blog! Currently I am reading a lot as the weather is cold and having countless chai lattes!

    I really like the idea of currently, can I borrow the idea for my own blog positivelygrand.blogspot.co.uk/ ?

    I would change the name to ‘right now’

    ps. I dont mind if it is a no, but please feel free to visit my blog anytime 🙂

Leave a Reply

