On Loss and Family.

IMG_7001

IMG_6999

IMG_7000

My family is one of the most precious things in the world to me. Although we may routinely drive each other up the wall, we have always been quite close and I know that I definitely wouldn’t have been able to come this far without their support. My parents and my sister have always been there for me and I hope I will always be there for them. Alice is definitely the best sister you could have! Despite not being as close to them, my grandparents are also incredibly important to me and they have also helped me become who I am together.

Sometimes though, we forget how lucky those of us to have family around us truly are and it takes something painful to remind us.

On Sunday evening my uncle died. He has lived in Denmark since before I was born and although I have only met him a handful of times I still feel a great deal of sadness. I feel sad for my grandfather, my aunt and my father who have lost a son and a brother, and I feel even more sadness for his children, although they are grown up the pain of losing a parent must be awful. He has been ill for many years now so I can only hope that he went peacefully and take comfort that at least now he no longer suffers.

Loss of anyone is always a terrible experience, even if they are not someone especially close to you. But I believe that we can always learn from our experiences, even those that bring us pain. Having to reconcile myself with the fact that my uncle will never come back to visit only reinforces how lucky I am to have the family I have surrounding me.

I know that I am extremely lucky.

My heart and prayers go out to anyone who has lost someone close to their heart, I hope that as time eases the pain it will be easier to remember all of the happy memories and be glad for what they had before it was ended.

Sophie x

18 comments

  1. I’ve recently been through the same thing. I always count family as one of my blessings but something like this happening brings it front and centre for sure. Was lovely to read your post.

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it, I am always incredibly pleased when my writing manages to touch someone. I’m really sorry for your loss, I hope you and your family are doing as well as possible.

  2. Sophie! I’m so sorry about the loss of your uncle 😦 I hope that you and your family are doing well and keeping each other strong. Your post was beautifully written and I’m glad to see that you found some positivity during a sad time such as this. Take care. xo

Leave a Reply

