Recent Goings-On.

The last month has been so busy with the start of uni that I’ve found myself rarely reaching for my proper camera to spend time capturing photos. I take quick snaps daily with my phone and Instagram them but I just can’t lug my big camera around everyday. I have taken a few photos here and there though and I thought I’d share those that haven’t made it onto the blog so far. My life has been up and down with health and work and resting these past few weeks (read more about the health situation here) so blogging has been a little sporadic, I still love this community of wonderful people and your support is amazing!

On Saturday my mother and I took a little trip to a nearby farm which is both a working farm and a lovely little set of shops – clothes, toys, food, flowers, homeware and a little cafe. It’s so cute, especially around Christmas, we go every year so it is full of childhood memories. Aren’t these little piglets adorable?

Although I don’t like that it’s starting to get chillier and it’s dark in the mornings, I do love the beautiful colour of the autumn leaves. The changes in season are always my favourite times of the year, autumn brings with it rather gorgeous scenes. I love the trees that still have some green but then have a gradient of colour from the green to red.

If you follow me on Instagram (loveliveandlearn) then you may have seen that I did some extra special baking this weekend. As I mentioned the other day, my next door neighbour has just had a baby so I offered to give her some time with the baby and I had five-year-old Ellen round to do some baking! We had so much fun as she is just the sweetest little girl and we made some rather pretty biscuits. She especially liked adding the sprinkles πŸ˜›

My lunches have often looked like this for the past couple of weeks – eaten on a tray whilst I read or work. This particular lunch was lovely, pumpkin and apple soup, with crackers and cheese. Such a comforting autumn meal πŸ™‚

Lastly this little ball of fur has been my companion everyday since I started at uni. Because I’ve been feeling exhausted and very weak recently I do most of my work on my bed so that I can rest at the same time. Poppy always comes and curls up nearby which is somehow really comforting!

So, a bit of a random, mixed post. I hope you enjoyed reading anyway!

What have you been doing recently?
What do you love about autumn?

Do you have a favourite comforting, autumnal meal?

18 comments

  1. omg. i die for those piglets. SO cute.

    it definitely looks like autumn over there in your neck of the woods! The colors are absolutely gorgeous and your lunches are looking so cozy and delish. I think i could live off cheese and crackers. One of my favorite snacks by far.

    We don’t really get those color changes in leaves where I live, but one of my favorite things about autumn is the gradual change in temperature as it gets cooler and cooler. That still hasn’t happend for us yet, but the moment it does, you better believe I’ll be breaking out my boots and scarves! πŸ˜‰

  2. Ooh, I think I will answer all your questions today. πŸ˜‰

    I have been working, working, working.
    I love the cooler temperature and all the different colored leaves and pumpkins and apples and oh dear, I just love autumn. ♥
    tomato basil soup

  3. Wow, you’re so lucky you have changing leaves where you live! Those photos (especially the one with the red) are breathtakingly beautiful! That’s so sweet of you to help out a neighbor and bake with their kid. Sounds like so much fun! Little kids are always the funnest to bake with πŸ™‚

  4. The farm and shopping village sounds so lovely! I love places like that. And I love those pigs πŸ™‚

    Soup, cheese and crackers looks like such a comforting meal. The Slovak national dish is potato dumplings with sheep cheese and bacon. I ate it when I first got here when it was hot summer weather, and I enjoyed it well enough, but now that the temperature has dropped (brrrrr) I’m craving it like crazy. I might have to treat myself next week!

  5. Hey! πŸ™‚ I just came across your site, and read back a little and read your “an update” post. I just wanted to wish you well and say that your honesty is pretty amazing and strong. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

