Home Comforts.

Although in many ways, transferring to my new uni and living at home again feels a little bit like a step backwards, there are many perks of being back here. For starters, I am fully aware just how lucky I am that a) my parents gave me the option of coming back when I was too ill to continue, and b) that home is somewhere I am happy to return to. I know that not everyone is in my position! Here are just some of nice things about living at home again:

1. One of the most obvious positives about being home is having the company of my family! My sister and I have always been close and in the last few years we have become more like best friends. I know I can tell her everything, we support each other when things are tough and we also have a lot of laughs together πŸ™‚

I love this girl!

The support my family gives me is great too, last week I had a couple of evenings when I just felt exhausted and a bit rubbishy, this is when having my parents and sister around me becomes so helpful and comforting. They help me out with daily tasks and they keep my morale up!

2.Β I’m not going to lie, one of the great things about being home is the food. (It had to be didn’t it!)

Firstly, having dinner cooked for you on most days is lovely when you’re under the weather on a regular basis and it also means you get to eat more varied (and more luxurious) food than when you’re cooking for one on a budget at uni. Dishes like this one:

Chorizo and gnocci isn’t the sort of thing you get to eat much of as a student!

Secondly, I have a fully equipped kitchen at my disposal which means one thing to me: baking πŸ™‚ I absolutely adore baking, no surprises there, particularly when the autumn months are coming in, it is starting to get a little colder outside and you want a little comfort for chilly afternoons. It’s one of my goals for the autumn is to bake on a weekly basis as much as I can, I want to work my way through some of my bakery cookbooks and I’m so looking forward to it. I’ve started off with this lovely creation:

Although it might not look like much, but this was an absolutely wonderful plum cake from my favourite Primrose Bakery cookbook. The next goods I want to try are white chocolate and granola cookies from the same book, as well as blueberry muffins from a Mary Berry book…

3.Β Comfort. When I’m in pain, or feeling exhausted, or just wanting to curl up and read or watch TV, being back at home means I can do it complete warmth and comfort. If I’m not tucked up in my lovely, soft double bed, I’m curled up in the little reading spot my mother created in the study.

This is the chair my mother used to sit in with me as a baby :-). It has been covered and is so comfortable to sit in, plus I love being able to watch the world go by out of the window.

4.Β Opportunities, in many difference senses. There’s the closeness of both town and my new university so I can just cycle in easily enough. There’s the ease of travelling to London by train to go visit Tom which is great. I’m going to visit him this Saturday and I can’t wait to see him again and have a look round his new flat! There is also the fact that I have everything near by, there are shops, cafes, the gym etc all within 20 minutes of me so if I ever want to get out of the house, I can do so without much hassle.

There are many other little perks of living at home again, these are just a few of the main positives. I won’t lie and say that I feel 100% brilliant about moving back, I want to move on in my life, I want to grow and “leave the nest” but whilst I can’t I am determined to make the most of my last year or two at home and take advantage of the pros of living here!

Here’s to a positive attitude πŸ™‚

If you’ve graduated, have you ever had to move home? How did you feel about it?
What are the positives of living at home with your family?
If you’ve moved out from your childhood home, what do you miss the most?

22 comments

  1. Moving home after graduation has been… interesting. I’ve redecorated my teenage bedroom to something resembling adulthood, but sometimes everyone finds it so easy to slip back into old child-parent relationships, which is so easy when you have younger siblings. I think it takes a while for parents to really grasp that you’re your own person after you’ve lived away. However, living at home = living with my chef dad, and his collection of cookery books. I’m currently making my way through Madhur Jaffrey’s Ultimate Curry Bible and Peyton and Byrne. You should find them, especially the Peyton and Byrne for baking, it’s wonderful.

    THAT READING CORNER IS AMAZING. And I audibly ‘aww’-ed when I read that your mum used it when you were a baby. That’s so sweet!

    And finally, you and Alice don’t really look all that similar in that photo. Are you more alike in real life? People are always shocked when they realise that my sister is my sister. Chalk and cheese.

    1. I definitely think redecorating your bedroom (or in my case changing bedrooms) makes a big difference in not feeling like you’ve completely reverted back to being a child!

      Oh I spotted a Peyton and Byrne book in one of my favourite shops in town (Oliver Bonas) and I fell in love, it’s so beautiful! I want to own it so badly now…

      See I don’t think we really look alike but people always say that we do. I can see you can tell that we’re sisters but other than our eyes all of our features are different. That photo was taken a year ago though haha.

  2. Home is definitely a comfort place. I transferred home for a semester and it definitely had it’s perks. However, I like living on my own, too! I do get home sick sometimes though πŸ™‚ I’m glad you are staying positive! ❀

    1. I definitely got homesick at points last year because home has always been so comforting to me! That being said I do look forward to being able to move out and move on with my life πŸ™‚ Thanks Brittany!

  3. Oh, what a lovely post! It’s definitely something that I needed to read and remind myself to look on the bright side of things. πŸ™‚

    Good luck on your goals for autumn!

  4. i’d say home definitely has it’s perks! πŸ™‚ when i lived in a dorm, i really missed being able to bake and cook. and the confined spaces just weren’t that fun. it looks like you’ve definitely taken advantage of your time at home, which is awesome! and being able to travel to london on the weekends sounds fabulous!

  5. I moved back home after 2 years of school, took a year off, then left and completed college. And that year back with the parents? JUST what I needed at the time. I was really struggling, and it’s just so much easier to share/ask support from parents than it is from friends–who I know are there for me, but don’t have the same complaint/whine tolerance that parents do ;D I am so thankful I had amazing parents that let me do that too! So I wouldn’t see it as a step forward, just a step to help you get where you want to be. And there definitely ARE perks when it comes to food/saving money too ;D I want some gnocchi now, mmm. All your meals and baking projects just seem so warm and comforting. Can I come move in with you and your parents too? Haha.

    1. I’m really glad you were able to go back home and that the support helped you to find your feet again! That’s a really positive way of looking at things, thank you for suggesting that πŸ™‚ Saving money is really great for me as I really want to be able to go live in London in two years time!

      Haha please do! πŸ˜›

  6. The plum cake looks yummy – just the kind of thing that I love!
    I moved home for about 8 months after I quit my job a few years ago. It was ok and I get on really well with my parents, but it was strange because I hadn’t lived at home for more than 3 years.

  7. I love the relationship between you and your sis, so sweet! I lived at home during Uni and never regretted it! After uni I moved out but then ended up moving home again. I think what you realise is that you’ll always have a home where you parents are – I keep thinking I have two homes!

    1. Thank you Laura, I’m really lucky that we’re so close πŸ™‚ I didn’t realise that! How did you manage to balance everything and still retain some feeling of independence? I can imagine that is how I’ll feel for a while after I finally move out too, it’s nice to always be welcome back at one’s parent’s home!

  8. I have just moved back post-graduation and it still feels like the summer holidays! That being said, I’m ready to move on again but it’s not that simple, unfortunately! I love home and my mum is my best friend but the longer I went through uni, the less I missed home as a building. I guess that’s the way it should evolve. After living abroad I became a lot less attached to the place – it’s all about the people who live at home! πŸ™‚ There are definitely perks aside from the company though: the food, the countryside, the pets and having all my books and stuff around.

    1. Haha I know what you mean, untill I start uni in two weeks time I think I’m going to feel like I’m just still in the summer holidays! I wish I could move on now but this is what’s best for me at the moment. I agree that it’s more about the people who live at home although having lived here all of my life I am quite attached to my house itself too πŸ™‚

  9. Good for you, keeping up a positive attitude! I’ll be honest, I’m definitely not looking forward to moving out in a couple years. It’s just my mom and I in the house and she’s one of my best friends. We even call each other ‘roommates’ now that I’m in college haha. It sounds like you have it great living at home, so you should definitely cherish it until you move out. Oh and that gnocchi looks sooo good.

    1. Thank you Chloe! Aw that’s really lovely, my mum and I are pretty close too. I love that you call each other roommates! πŸ˜› Yes I will definitely cherish these nice moments and having the support and company of my family this year πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

