My Little Spot by the Window.

After a full week of work, it’s fair to say that I feel absolutely shattered. I love my job, I adore working with children, but they really do demand so much energy and when there are 30+ of them running around, all needing help? They are just exhausting!

Today has got to be the hottest day in the UK this year, it’s about 30°C outside and the sun has been shining all day. I figured I deserved a nice relaxing morning. This evening my sister is having a bunch of her friends over for a barbecue and it should be lots of fun, they’re a great group and Alice knows how to party. So what to do this morning? The answer’s fairly obvious.

Jumped on the bike and rode into town to visit my favourite spot, the prettiest little cafe called Sticky Beaks.

It’s set aside from the centre of town which is usually too crowded to move about on Saturdays and it is a lovely place to spend a couple of hours.

And the food, my goodness the food!

When my sister started working there as a waitress I remember her telling me that it was essentially me in cafe form. It really is my ideal place, the decor is exactly my kind of thing for starters and their ethic really appeals to me too. All of their food is cooked and prepared freshly that day, and they source most of their ingredients really locally. The dishes are fresh, healthy, full of veg and just so delicious.

 

It just shows how much more independent going to uni has made me, I would not have wanted to go to a cafe on my own back a couple of years ago, now I actually really enjoy it. It’s lovely to sit and read whilst enjoying delicious food for a little peace and quiet.

I went for a fantastic salad of orzo with broad beans and peppers, it was perfect for a hot summer’s day. I’ve never tried orzo before (although I knew I’d like it, you know me and pasta!) and it was really nice, the salad had a subtle dressing and felt so summery. They come up with so many beautiful options, sometimes it can be difficult to choose.

Although I was there on my own for most of the time, Alice did join me for a some lunch which was really nice. I love that we are such good friends as well as sisters, I can see us meeting up for coffee regularly once I’m at uni and she’s started Sixth Form 🙂

Before I left, I had to sample one of my favourite things on offer…

Cake. A slice of Apple Herman Cake to be precise. It was so so good, I love apple in baked goods and it was such a wonderful treat to share with Alice.

Despite the extremely hot weather (far to hot be cycling – I was practically melting!) I had an extremely pleasurable morning sat in my favourite little spot by the window.

I will be back tomorrow, hopefully with a bunch of photos of the barbecue this evening. I hope you are all having a brilliant weekend and have lots of sunshine where you are 🙂

What do you like to do to escape by yourself for a couple of hours?
Do you have a favourite cafe?
What is your ideal slice of cake?

 

22 comments

  1. I wish there was more cafe’s where I live! Looks like a beautiful, relaxing place to be. Good food doesn’t hurt either 😉 I love apple in baked goods as well. Just wait, this fall I’m pretty sure 90% of the recipes on my blog will be apple related haha.

    1. It’s just lovely, I know that you’d adore the food!! I can’t wait for that then, I’ll definitely watching out for those 🙂 I’m sure you’ll come up with some delicious things, I’ll have to give your apple recipes a try!

    1. Yay you’re back! I’m off to check out your new blog post now 🙂 I’ve been missing your lovely comments!

      You should definitely check it out sometime, I’m sure you’d love it in there 🙂

  2. I know how you feel with your job. I worked at a childcare center for about 2 years and boy did they ZAP my energy!! God bless ya!! I love that you went to this window spot alone. I tend to go to coffee shops alone, that’s my favorite.

  3. That sounds so lovely and peaceful! I love escaping to cafes too–still relaxing, but you get the chance to get out of the house. No delicious-looking orzo-salad cafes around here, though 😦

Leave a Reply

