In Search of the Perfect Loaf.

Well hello there!

Today I am writing this post whilst feeling just a little too proud of myself.

Why you ask? Because today, not only did I get to cross something off my 20 Before Twenty list, I also made three delicious loaves of bread.

Those of you who have been reading my blog for a while will know I love to bake, if I had the time and the money (and the stomach capacity!) to bake everyday I think I probably would. I love creating pretty cupcakes, moreish cookies, the perfect afternoon tea sponges, anything with chocolate, muffins, traybakes, the list goes on… One thing that I had never tried my hand at before was baking bread. Of course I’d made bread as a young child with my parents but I doubt I did much of the work, I think the sum of my contribution probably amounted to sticking my hands in the dough and decorating the bread with seeds!

So today, as I didn’t really have any plans, I thought it would be the perfect day to give it a go.

A simple loaf of bread isn’t the most difficult thing to bake, but it does require a lot of time and it is a rather scientific process. It isn’t the ideal thing to bake if your someone who doesn’t like to follow recipes or measure ingredients. Or if you have no arm strength 😉

Luckily for me, I had this book to follow:

The River Cottage Bread Handbook No.3.

It’s a brilliant book with a great section at the beginning full of information on all of the typical bread ingredients, advice and a run-through of the proper method for making bread. I just followed the basic bread recipe which is recommended if it is your first time making bread.

I think kneading is my absolute favourite part of the bread making process. It’s hard work but it is just so therapeutic. You just let your mind drift and the methodical and repetitive action of pushing your hand into the dough relaxes you. I also love watching the dough gradually come together, it’s rather satisfying.

I was so pleased with my little loaves when they were ready to go in the oven, they looked more like proper loaves than I imagined! I think it’s the cuts across the top…

The entire time the loaves were in the oven I was terrified that they wouldn’t work out properly but when the timer beeped I was ecstatic! Don’t they just look beautiful? And the loaf that we ate with dinner tasted pretty good too.

Sorry if I sound like I’m blowing my own trumpet a little, I am just so chuffed with how this turned out! They are by no means perfect though so I have plans to bake bread again in the near future, probably more than once 😉

Have you ever made bread before?
Does baking with yeast make you more nervous?
What is the most exciting thing you’ve ever baked?

5 comments

  1. I love baking my own bread! It really is easy and so worth the waiting. Your little loaves turned out gorgeous! They look like you just picked them up from a bakery and then photographed them haha 😉

Leave a Reply

