Paris Recap Part 2 – Days 3, 4 & 5.

Hey everyone!

Sorry for yet another  absence on my  blog (and all of your lovely blogs!) if you follow me on twitter then you may have seen that on Friday morning I was up bright and early to go visit my grandparents who live in the north of France and I only got back this afternoon. So yes, now I am back for the next two weeks so you should be getting lots of posts from me 🙂

Anyway although I have lots to tell you I thought that I’d write my final Paris recap for you…

As you know we were only there for five days so we didn’t have long to pack in everything that we wanted to see. For this visit we decided to do the “must see” things and have definitely got plans to return in the next few years (I sincerely hope this comes true!).

Day 3.

 So on the morning of our third day we had made plans to visit the gallery I was most excited about: the Musée d’Orsay! For those who have never been to Paris/haven’t heard of the museum it is essentially a French impressionist and post-impressionist museum and the entire thing is beautiful. I absolutely loved the experience.

The museum is set up in a huge old train station with gorgeous architecture, stunning high ceilings and really lovely exhibition rooms.

Unfortunately you are not allowed to take photos inside the museum (not that it stopped some of the pushy tourists) as I would have loved to show you the main hall with the sculptures – you’ll just have to go there to see for yourself!

For me, the Musée d’Orsay was my absolute favourite part of our visit to Paris, the impressionist art is just wonderful. So full of colour and emotion. Getting to see dozens of enormously famous paintings by Renoir, Degas, Monet… was just amazing. I bought a couple of post cards and a lovely Degas print to put up in my bedroom and if I’d had more money I would have bought a book of the impressionist art.

Later that day we also walked over to the Eiffel Tower to take a boat up the Seine to see the riverside sights of Paris. If you visit Paris for the first time and you have a few days I’d definitely recommend doing a boat tour, they’re really well done with little music clips and interesting information to listen to as you go along, plus the views of Notre Dame are spectacular!

Day 4.

After three days of fairly intense visits we decided to take our fourth day pretty easy (I was in quite a lot of pain by this point!). We decided it would be a good time to wander the streets in a new part of Paris and do a spot of shopping. We visited the Marais which is a lovely area but is rather pricey! After having had enough of not being able to afford anything we hopped on the metro to take a trip to the Latin Quarter which is where the Sourbonne is situated. It’s a lovely area to visit with plenty of lovely little cafes and shops.

(Excuse the pained expression – this was taken right before my dad and I headed back to the flat for a nap for me and a break from shopping for him!)

Day 5.

Our train home was at around 2.30pm so we still had the morning left to wonder around the area near the flat. I thought I’d share a photo of our lovely little metro station with the traditional signpost as it was very Parisian looking!

During our meandering through the streets of Montmartre we found the most delightful little bookshop.

The Librairie des Abbesses is a little treasure trove for book lovers like me, it’s absolutely packed full of paperbacks and just has a really pleasant atmosphere. Although I didn’t end up buying any books I did leave with a couple of gorgeous black and white photography postcards which will look lovely in bedroom.

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading my Paris recap posts, it was truly one of the best holidays I’ve ever been on and I feel like I discovered so many fantastic things in such a short space of time. I already dream of returning, picturing all of the amazing things I still want to see, places I want to visit and things I want to do! If you ever get the opportunity to visit Paris I urge you to grab it with both hands, it really is the most brilliant city 🙂

Does anyone have any plans to visit Paris?
Are there other cities you dream of visiting one day? I would absolutely love to visit Rome one day! 
Are you a city holiday or beach holiday kind of person? 
Definitely city for me – so much more interesting.

10 comments

  1. The Musee d’Orsay was definitely my favorite thing in Paris too. Most people prefer the Louvre, but honestly that museum didn’t do it for me. Musee d’Orsay just splendid, there is no other word to describe it. Plus, I just adore Degas.

  2. Wow, everything looks so beautiful and quaint there! I would love to go to France as well as Spain, Australia, the UK, and Canada. Yeah, I kinda want to travel everywhere! 🙂

  3. Oh you have me yearning a trip back to Paris! I think I’m a mix of both types of holiday but James is definitely a city break person so I think I might be going on the beachy hols with someone else! Next on our list is Berlin but I will be heading back to NYC sometime soon I hope!

  4. City person too! I don’t find lounging on the poolside remotely fun for more than ten minutes. I know people who love beach holidays though, so…

    I would love to visit New York. That’s top of my list at the moment! 🙂

  5. I just love reading about your Paris recap and am glad to see you had so much fun! 🙂 If you love Paris, I know you would lovee Rome. It’s different, but the city is so culturally rich and gorgeous and has that Roman/Italian feel to it (if that makes any sense…).

    I love traveling to both cities and beaches so my travel bucket list includes (city) – Athens and Mikonos Greece & (beach) – Vanuatu.

  6. I’m a city vacationer as well–I can relax all I want at home, I want to see the sights, food, people and more if I’m on vacation! I absolutely love Rome, and dream of going to Florence again. I haven’t been to Paris–it’s certainly on the list of places I’d love to visit, but that’s become a ridiculously long list. I think your description of the Musée d’Orsay bumped it up on my list–I love the early impressionists, and pictures of their paintings don’t even come close to seeing the real things in person.

  7. I was all for beachy type holidays, but after going to Florence last year and NYC too I think I lean towards both, Alfie and I are planning a big honeymoon to somewhere exotic next summer. It’s going to be so hard to pick one destination.

Leave a Reply

