Weekly Workouts.

Hey lovelies!

My laptop has been sent off to be repaired so fingers crossed that I get it back soon as, although I hate to admit it, I’ve become rather reliant on it for my everyday life (a little sad I know). We do have a laptop in the house which is sort of spare (it’s actually my dad’s laptop but he doesn’t use it during the daytime) but unfortunately the timing is pretty poor and the charger has just about given up! The good news is we’ve ordered another the charger…

Now as it is Monday I want to go over my workouts from last week and write up my plan for this week. Last week was a so-so week, it started really well but then about halfway through the week I got really awful cramps which forced my exercising routine to be put on hold.

Here’s a rundown of last week:

Monday –  20 min stretch session + 20 min ab work + a walk around the neighbourhood with my mum 🙂

Tuesday – 30 Day Shred. This didn’t happen, basically my mum and I cycled into town to buy my new mattress and to do a spot of shopping and we ended up cycling about 4 miles and did a fair bit of walking so I didn’t have the energy when I got back.

Wednesday – 3 mile cycle + 30 Day Shred which felt really good after so long!

Thursday – 3 mile cycle + 20 minute strength workout

Friday 30 Day Shred Friday is when the cramps started so from there on there was no way I was going to workout. Maybe some people can but I’m talking cramps that make me double over in pain so I don’t see how people can.

Saturday 45 min full body strength workout

Sunday – Rest day

So although the week didn’t quite go to plan I am fairly pleased with myself for making a really good start. Getting back into exercising regularly is pretty tough at times, even though I love to stay fit and actually mostly enjoy working out I just find myself feeling really exhausted and energy-less most of the time.

Anyway, despite a couple of setbacks I’m determined to keep it up so here is a rough outline of my plans for this week:

Monday –  2 mile cycle ride + a workout from my Women’s Fitness magazine

Tuesday – 20 min ab work

Wednesday – Tom’s graduation day so lots of walking therefore no scheduled workout!

Thursday – 30 min upper body workout

Friday – 30 Day Shred

Saturday – 3 mile cycle + 20 min stretch/ab work

Sunday – Rest Day

Hopefully most of my plans will come into fruition and I’ll end the week feeling a little more energised than the last! Despite battling the pain and the fatigue, I feel like my condition doesn’t have to get in the way of a healthy lifestyle and exercising is one of the things that I am going to try to continue for as long as I can. I know that despite the drained feeling I struggle with most days, working out will help me to feel better so it’s worth it!

Do you have any workout plans for the week?
Why do you exercise? And how do you motivate yourself when feeling tired?

What did you get up to this weekend? 

11 comments

  1. Sophie you’re so inspirational for being dedicated to a healthy lifestyle despite your condition. I know what you mean about it being tricky to get back into a routine. I went to the gym quite a lot while I lived at uni but since being back at home I’ve tried to get into a routine without using the gym but it is hard! I’ve taken a leaf out of your book and started planning my exercise for the week to make me accountable 🙂

    Mine goes like this-
    Monday: 20 minutes Pilates
    Tuesday: 30 minutes strength training
    Wednesday: 30 minutes yoga
    Thursday: 30 Day Shred
    Friday: Davina Power of 3
    Saturday: 30 minutes cardio
    Sunday: rest

    Whether I stick to it is yet to be seen as I’m working quite a lot this week and I’m very good at talking myself out of it. I’ve started using GAIN fitness (http://gainfitness.com/) which I find really useful as I can create a workout that only lasts 15 minutes if that’s all the time I have, or a 40 minute one if I’m feeling up to it, etc.

    My reasons for exercising at the moment are to lose some weight, to get fit, and because I find it quite enjoyable. Sometimes when I’m doing it I don’t exactly love it, but I always feel better afterwards than if I didn’t. Good luck with your week’s workouts 🙂

  2. This really is a great week of staying active! It;s not crazy like so many people you seen on blogs. Sometimes I see their workout schedule and think, how in the world do you have a life outside the gym?? But you handle it both great 🙂

  3. Way to stick with your plan when you can, and recognize when you need a break! Love how well you’re sticking to this, and how organized you are! I still need to work on that. And my motivation is knowing that I’ll regret I didn’t go/argue with myself all day about…but if I just GO, I’ll have gone and can stop fussing about it. Once I’m actually at the gym, the energy usually find me. Or if not, I figure I did something rather than nothing, so I came out on top even if was otherwise a “bad” workout.

    Hope you get your laptop back soon!

  4. Hey sweetie! You are so amazing!! I can only imagine to a small degree how difficult it must be to have to battle with your …..but you go girl! You are an inspiration – you stick at it, you keep learning and you keep on going….I think you’re doing great 🙂 sending hugs your way x x x

  5. Great job with the the workouts Sophie! I think you are one tough and amazing person for pushing through the workouts and staying active despite everything you have physically going on. What an inspiration you continue to be 🙂

  6. Sophie you had a great week! Don’t let unscheduled things keep you thinking you’ve failed 🙂 and to be honest I think you need 2 rest days!

    Plus strength is hard to plan. So keep the workouts short and obtainable 😉 you can always add another set on days you feel amazing!

    Thanks for keeping me motivated!

  7. My work out plans this week consist of walking which isn’t really the same! I still need to get down to a running shop and get my gait done and buy new shoes! After results! It’s my treat or consolation to myself after results! 😉

  8. I always plan out my workouts and sometimes don’t do them because I’m busy, lazy, or rather cook. Good luck with your workout goals! I hope your pain and fatigue gets better so you can continue with them!

Leave a Reply

