Red Onion & Sun-dried Tomato Spaghetti.

Hey lovelies!

I hope everyone’s week is going well so far. Here in the east of the UK we finally have some sunshine! I can’t tell you how much it lifted my spirits when I spied blue sky through my open window this morning upon waking up. It was so warm and just felt like it is actually the summer, we have sorely been in need of nice weather, I have definitely had enough of the cold and rain.

I’ve had quite a busy day which I love and have got lots done. I keep promising to give you all of the exciting news I have so I will give you a littleย snippet: I’m moving bedroom! Probably doesn’t sound that exciting but basically at the moment I have the loft conversion bedroom which has an en suite bathroom but as it’s the biggest room/only bedroom with an en suite, it’s only fair that my sister has it for a couple of years. Soย I’m moving back to the first floor which means I’m getting to do up a new room ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m really excited and today my mum and I went into town to buy me a new mattress for my brand new double bed! So happy you have no idea.

My new mattress will just be aย dream.ย It’s so soft, comfortable and just gently moulds around your body. It may not seem a big deal to some of you but when you suffer from chronic pain and fatigue a wonderful bed can mean the difference between a horrific night’s sleep with a morning of awful pain, and a decent night and just a little morning stiffness…

Anyway today I have a lovely pasta recipe to share with you. It’s so easy to make and one of my favourite quick dinners.

I love the taste of red onions cooked in olive oil and combined with the sun-dried tomatoes I think there is a very Mediterranean flavour to this dish, it reminds me of summer evenings spent lounging about on patios watching the sunset and eating gorgeous breads, dips and salads created from fresh food bought at sleepy markets.

The balsamic vinegar and red onions give this a slight sweetness which contrasts perfectly with the bite and peppery taste of the rocket.

Personally I think this dish is a wonderfully simple sophisticated dish.

Red Onion & Sun-dried Tomato Spaghetti.ย 
adapted from Jamie Oliver’s The Return of the Naked Chef

Ingredients
(serves 4)

ย 320g spaghetti
1 red onion
2 handfuls of sun-dried tomatoes
2 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp balsamic vinegar
pinch of salt
enough rocket for 4 people
grated Parmesan for garnish

Put the spaghetti on to cook in a large pan of boiling water along with a generous pinch of salt.

Whilst the water starts to boil, heat the olive oil in a non-stick pan. Peal and finely chop the red onion, throw it in the pan with the oil and then gently fry for approximately 5 minutes on a low heat.

As the onion cooks chop the sun-dried tomatoes into smallish chunks (I find it easiest to useย scissors for this). Once the onions are starting to turn a little clear add the sun-dried tomatoes and the balsamic vinegar and cook for a further 5 minutes on the lowest heat possible.

Drain the spaghetti and return it to the pan. Pour over the red onion and sun-dried tomato oily mix, add the rocket and stir to combine. Season to taste.

Serve in bowls, sprinkle with a little Parmesan and tuck in!

I’m thinking of posting a recipe or two weekly, I’d love it if you let me know whether that’s something you’d be interested in reading on the blog more often!

Hope you’re all having a brilliant week so far and that you have good weather where you are ๐Ÿ™‚

Anything particularly pleasant about your Tuesday this week?
Which flavours remind you of holidays in the summer?


18 comments

  1. Definitely would love to see more recipes! This pasta dish sounds elegant yet comforting and looks just plain delicious! I adore sun-dried tomatoes! Lemon, fresh berries, corn, and everything cooked on the grill is what reminds me of summer for sure. That’s exciting you’re getting a new bedroom! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. New rooms are SO MUCH fun ๐Ÿ™‚ Can’t wait to see what you do with it–there better be pictures! And ohhh, switching mattresses made such a difference in my life, so I can only imagine how much you will be luxuriating in your new one! Makes it that much harder to get up in the morning, though, haha.

    1. Yes agreed, I’m loving finding things to decorate it with, although I have to be careful or I could end up spending rather a lot of money! Haha. I promise there will be pictures for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. More recipes! Your courgette and garlic pasta means I actually have something to eat at least three times a week at uni ๐Ÿ˜› and this looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

