Aaaand Relax.

Hey lovely ladies! (And gentlemen??)

I am home sweet home and just so relieved. The journey was particularly slow as we had my bike strapped to the back of the car and it always feels so precarious, not matter how many bungee cords and ties you use to secure it.

As you may have seen if you follow me on twitter somebody decided to throw out the food I had left in my freezer so I had nothing to eat for my breakfast this morning. I thought I had been so smart by leaving a couple of English muffins in the freezer as I had a pot of honey in my cupboard and that would be great for my last breakfast but anyway… I texted my dad this morning and asked him if he could bring me something to eat.

He shows up at around 10am with this in tow:

Best dad ever? I think so. There was also a chocolate muffin in a packet which got eaten up in the car so I didn’t take a photo. Definitely a good way to start the journey!

My mum is amazing too as she was there waiting for us when we finally got home and had a delicious lunch in front of me within half an hour of my walking through the door. I’m definitely being spoiled today but I am not complaining.

Lunch was a homemade beef burger with salad and a little piece of baguette. So rustic and tasty, Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall gets it just right once again!

The afternoon was pretty much spent relaxing. I’m not going to lie, not much unpacking has been going on… I’ve already decided tomorrow shall be made up of a morning stretch and physio session, followed by some pampering, unpacking of the important things, an afternoon cycle and some more relaxation. Sound like a plan?

Dinner was pretty fantastic too, we had a gorgeous tomato tart with a courgette salad to begin with…

It’s just such an appetizing looking plate and it tasted so fresh. My favourite sort of meal 🙂

Not that it stops there, dessert followed!

That traditional English dessert of Eton Mess, one of my favourite summer treats. Broken up homemade meringue, fresh strawberries stirred into whipped cream mixed with natural yogurt. Such a beautiful indulgence.

Speaking of indulgence, as you can tell from my blog posts over the last couple of weeks, lately my diet has become rather indulgent. I’ve been feeling a lot more comfortable  with my body and my relationship with food is finally starting to become a lot more positive, however I’m beginning to feel the effects of all of this heavy food. Although I’m not letting myself feel guilty for any of it as I had the most amazing time with Tom and enjoyed every bite I ate but I do want to take a step back from it all. I feel as though I need a bit of a cleanse so I’ve decided that for the next week I will be sticking to three main meals a day consisting of whole grains, lean proteins and lots of vegetables, eating fruit for snacks and staying completely clear of processed foods and sweet treats. I’m not doing anything as drastic as a detox, I just want to eat really healthily and focus on other parts of my life 🙂

I hope you’ve all had a really great weekend!

What have you been upto this weekend?
What do you like to do when you’ve been indulging lots?

Have you ever done a detox? 

19 comments

  1. YUM!!! Everything looks delish!
    I’ve never done a detox before…unless you count having like 5 smoothies a day a detox since it’s been so hot outside and I’ve been too lazy to cook haha 😉

    1. Thank you Laura, I’m glad you approve, you’re someone I really admire for your healthy eating! I’m so happy that have finally got to a place where I can eat without feeling guilt afterwards 🙂

    1. I would definitely recommend just laying off anything sugary and sticking to wholewheat carbs, protein and fresh fruits and veg, I already feel so much better after a day of healthy eating!

  2. Everything looks soooooooo mouth watering. Yay for your awesome dad bringing you treats on his special weekend 😉 and too bad you won’t be around Tom but it must be great to be home 🙂

    I have never done a detox because in the one attempt I tried I only lasted half a day! it was too much for me 😉

  3. Thank goodness for wonderful parents!! I have tried starting detox’s,but never finish. I usually just drink or eat acidic fruits to try to push my toxins out. Ha.

  4. I’m going through the same thing right now! I eat soo much indulgent food and I haven’t been working out as much since I’m busy with work and when I’m not working, I’m cooking something indulgent haha. So this week I’m going to wake up an hour early so I can get an hours worth of workout in. I did it today and I already feel so much better! I still eat desserts daily, but I try to keep my savory meals lighter. All of your meals look amazing by the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

