Goal Check-In.

I’m sorry I haven’t been blogging that regularly for the past week, as many bloggers say I’ve been taking time off to enjoy life and it feels pretty good. I have lots too share with you and tomorrow I will have a post for you full of photos of delicious food. Today however I thought I would let you know how my June Goals are progressing…

Read at least 4 books – I finally finished reading Vanity Fair a couple of days ago, I’m pleased with myself for plowing through as it felt like it would never end! It was fairly enjoyable though as I enjoy Victorian literature and it is interesting to be able to compare it to both Dickens’s Bleak House and Eliot’s Middlemarch. I am currently reading The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho which is really a fantastic book and short too which makes a nice change.

Try a new baking recipe – I haven’t been home yet so this has not materialised but I have plans so watch this space.

Go the entire month without biting my nails – I’m pleased with how this is going, I’ve bitten one of my thumbnails a bit but I bought a beautiful new Models Own nail varnish in the colour Golden Peach. Having nail varnish on definitely helps to remind me not to bite and about half of my nails are starting to look quite nice.

Work on my strength – this has been a little more difficult than I anticipated, mostly because I’ve been feeling pretty exhausted from all of the walking we’ve been doing which is at least 3 miles a day. I have done a few exercises here and there but I’m struggling so I will wait a little and work on this more once I am back home.

Journal more regularly – this has to be my favourite goal this month. I don’t write in my journal everyday but instead write several pages as and when the mood takes me. You all know that I love to write and filling the pages of my black leather-bound diary makes me happy. I love the way it feels to hold a pen in my hand and I enjoy pouring my thoughts down onto paper. I will probably never read back what I write but it helps me to process my feelings.

Did you set yourself any goals for the month? How are they progressing?
Any suggestions for what I should read next?

What have you been doing this week? 

5 comments

  1. I need to have goals for every months just like you =)

    As a book, I loved The gifts of imperfection (it’s about personal growth)….

    Lately I tried to be more involved socially speaking : done ! I went to see my friend this week, bought a few flight tickets, planned my holidays with some friends, kept in touch with my friends, met new people….

    Don’t worry about the strength training, it’s hard at first… Just be careful to your protein intake, it helps a loooot !

  2. I never get round to month goals and always figure this time of the month is a bit late to get starting! I always like reading other people’s though because they seem so sort of accountable! I should remember next month!

    I have a vague goal of reading as much as possible this Summer! Maybe I should add Vanity Fair!?

    Lovely to hear how your goals are going and that you are enjoying your break! 🙂

  3. Nice goals. I wanted to do a 60sec plank set every day for the month of June and I’m failing horribly. I’ve done them during the week but weekends….well I forget 😉 lol

  4. I wish I could enjoy Victorian literature, I keep trying but I think I’m just not classy/up on social niceties enough to get the details. I did enjoy the Alchemist, however. Way to go with the goals! Mine’s going well, although I sort of took some time off during my weekend vacation.

Leave a Reply

