Realisations.

Quickly scanning my blog I have come to realise that lately it doesn’t exactly resemble most other ‘healthy living blogs’. The last few posts have featured several indulgent frappes, tray bakes, chips and cookies (as well as other healthier meals obviously). But this is the thing. Although in my description I mention my passion for healthy living, which don’t get me wrong I still am, I don’t see this blog as a typical healthy living blog. It’s more of a life blog.

My definition of healthy living is constantly evolving. How can it change? Well this year in particular I’ve learnt that it’s to do with a lot more than the food that passes through my mouth and the energy I expend.

Healthy living is about balance and moderation, and it is also just as much about your mental health as your physical state.

I don’t eat heaps of food and I don’t eat treats everyday. But having said that, most of the time if I fancy a treat, or find myself craving some junk, I will just eat it. I’m sure many you know what it is like to struggle with slightly disordered eating, I think most women experience that sort of issue at some point in their lives. It has taken a long time and a lot of effort on my part to get to a point where I don’t feel guilty about what I eat.

Sure if I do have a bit of an absent-minded binge when studying I feel a little bad, mostly from the discomfort it causes. But I can proudly say that I have got to a state of mind where I no longer begrudge myself a few indulgences here and there.

It actually amazes that I can say that. I wasn’t sure that I ever would.

I’m not going to lie, I still know roughly how many calories I eat in a day, purely because I can’t really forget how many calories are in most foods, but I don’t count them anymore. I also do still occasionally have days when I feel a bit bloated. But I have come so far in the last year.

My relationship with food is just so much healthier. Food is fuel because I know it keeps my body functioning, something I sorely need with my condition, but food is also something to enjoy. I love cooking almost as much as I love eating and I really like searching for new recipes to try and new foods to taste.

I hope that if you are struggling, as I did for years, that you are able to take some comfort from this post. It is possible to work through it and overcome your issues, I am slowly and surely getting there. Stay strong and carry on trying, there is always hope for better times ahead!

Have you struggled with disordered eating?
Do you feel guilty when you eat something indulgent?

Do you have any advice for someone still struggling or people like me who are on their way?Β 

p.s. If you are interested in this topic then I highly recommend reading Tessa’s blog about overcoming her disordered eating and Ali’s post on learning to love yourself!

24 comments

  1. Sophie, I love this post. I applaud your honesty and commend your mature approach to healthy living. I’m right there with you though, too. Healthy living isn’t just about food. It’s so much more. It’s emotional, mental, and spiritual health as well. And if one area gets too off balance, it doesn’t matter how healthy you’re eating or how much yoga you’re doing..you HAVE to take the time to bring balance back to the other areas as well.

    I love your approach to life and living! Keep up the great work!

    1. Thank you so much Anna, I really appreciate your support! Your comment is brilliant, I completely agree with the way you view balance and health πŸ™‚ I hope things are going well!

  2. I’m glad you’re having a healthier relationship with food. I use to struggle (what girl doesn’t) with my eating but I’ve greatly improved, too. I still eat healthy sometimes but always give in when I have a craving! πŸ™‚

  3. I really loved this post. You beautifully articulate where I have been in the past. I struggled with disordered eating and it got to a very unpleasant, unhealthy point and I never thought I could reach the more carefree place I had been before. I did. And I firmly believe that anyone and everyone struggling with food and their relationship with it can get better too.

    I think you are 100% right when you say it’s about balance. Balance in mind and food. I don’t feel guilty most of the time when I eat something indulgent but there are days when it will cross my mind. I think it’s important to honour cravings but it’s easier said than done sometimes and cravings have to be balanced sometimes too. I think it can be really difficult to decipher what you really want sometimes. When you have struggled with disordered eating, working out what your body is asking for and whether it is your body or your disorder talking is the most diffcult thing. It gets better though. You do get there and, yes everyone has bad days, but eventually they become a minimum and an exception rather than the norm.

    Really great, important post! Thank you for opening up Sophie! xxx

    1. Thank you so so much Jessica, your comment has left me beaming!

      I’m really sorry that you too have struggled with disordered eating, it’s such a horrible thing to go through, but I am so glad that you managed to fight it πŸ™‚ I’ve always really admired your attitude to food!

      I completely agree with what you have written about balance. Thank you for leaving me such a lovely comment πŸ™‚

  4. There is so much more to healthy living than just eating your veggies! Healthy living is enjoying life, enjoying what you do and enjoying what you eat (even if–or especially when!–it includes indulgent treats). So if you are enjoying it all, living without unhelpful guilt and moving forward–why heck yes, this is a healthy living blog!

  5. I love your blog because it is unique to who you are! I feel guilty occasionally for eating sweets, but I try to balance my workouts to allow me those indulgences!

    1. Oh thank you Brittany, I’m really touched! I think everyone feels guilty occasionally, it’s a natural reaction after all. Working out is a great way to balance out treats and it is really beneficial for your well-being too πŸ™‚

  6. thanks for the link up πŸ˜‰ I noticed this when you posted and read it but had yet to get over here and comment. I spell realizations with a “z” so weird. I love you no matter what you eat. I have bad eating habits that definitely impact things in my life, like my skin and my overall feelings but I’ve never had an eating disorder. I just love food too much to deprive myself and get full too easily to keep eating πŸ™‚

    Have a great weekend with Tom xo

    1. You’re welcome, I really enjoyed the post πŸ™‚ I think the ‘s’ or ‘z’ is an American/English thing! Thank you Ali, I love you too πŸ˜‰ I love food too, I would hate to not be able to enjoy it!!

  7. Sophie, I am sooo sorry for not reading this until now! I know you mentioned it on my blog and then I meant to go right over, got distracted… ugh, sorry about that lovely lady! But thank you very much for mentioning my blog/the link up, that sure as heck means a lot to me πŸ™‚
    What an amazing, inspiring and helpful post for me to read right now. You are amazing and yes I am still struggling, and the thing is… I am not necessarily upset and consumed by it, but I am also not happy with it. I am still in that rather annoying neutral zone and I need to bust out of it. On that note though, making the GENUINE effort to do so is of course necessary too. Nothing is going to change if I just sit back and hope everything improves. Nope, have to be proactive, no way around it.

    1. That’s okay lovely, you’re a busy person! I’m glad you found the post helpful, I always find your posts insightful πŸ™‚

      I am sorry that you are still struggling but I know that you will get there despite the difficulties you face, you are such a strong person. And yes it does take a lot of effort, it’s taken me almost 6 years to get to this place, but it’s so worth it! Good luck with everything Tessa!!

  8. personally, i love seeing bloggers who eat REAL food – none of this protein this that and the other. I think its better to eat what you are craving that way you don’t eat 20 other things that equate to what you originally wanted.

    1. Me too! I think real food is so important for health, plus it’s what I enjoy eating the most πŸ™‚ Completely agree with your comment, cravings should be honoured (as long as we don’t go to extremes!) Thank you for writing this!

  9. Great entry on your blog. Food can have such a great effect on us in good and bad ways. So cool to see how you take charge and the self discipline you take. Thanks for sharing!

  10. Great article Sophie. I completely agree. I feel like it is something that I would write. πŸ™‚ Hope you’ve been well.

  11. LOVE this! Who cares if you have a cookie, some ice cream, a sugary drink every once in awhile?? As long as you’re happy and are having it in moderation, that’s okay. I think a lot of healthy living bloggers have horrible definitions of health. I like your definition πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Haley!! I really agree with you, as long as people are happy and healthy who cares πŸ™‚ I’m glad you like my definition of health, I’ve always admired your attitude to health!

Leave a Reply

