Monday in the Sunshine.

Today has truly felt like summer. It’s been so warm and sunny, there is something incredibly magical about a completely clear blue sky stretching as far as the eye can see. Although I still have an exam left I’m starting to feel like the summer is here and knowing that I will be on holiday in just a few days is a fantastic feeling. I spent most of today with my mum and it has been lovely.

With the weather being so marvellous we just had to make the most of it and took a leisurely cycle ride through meadows and pretty villages. It was almost too hot for cycling but it felt so good to be out under the bright sunshine after spending the past few days indoors revising.

Not too far from where I live there is a little village with the prettiest tea room in an orchard. It’s an enchanting place to go and wile away a few hours lounging in deck chairs under the dappled shade of the apple trees.

The food is quite expensive so I think in the future we’ll probably just go for afternoon tea but we still enjoyed our lunch there.

We both went for a red pesto chicken salad which came with the most delicious whole grain bread. It was pretty good, the pesto had a lovely flavour and was complemented nicely by the sun-dried tomatoes, the piece of chicken was absolutely enormous though!

It was a lovely way to spend a long and peaceful lunch.

This afternoon I decided it was time to do some baking. I haven’t found the time to bake in weeks and I was really missing it so I indulged myself with a delicious recipe from my Primrose Bakery cookbook. The choice for today was their Peanut Butter Cookies.

Don’t they look amazing? The whole family loved them so they definitely did not disappoint. I ate several alongside some delicious fresh blueberries.

Although it feels somewhat indulgent to be scoffing down peanut butter cookies in the run up to ‘bikini body’ season (I loathe that phrase) they were just too good to resist. There is nothing quite like a still warm cookie which crunches as you bite into it and then has a soft and gooey centre. Plus I have to admit that I needed the energy as I by this point in the afternoon I was feeling pretty exhausted. Days like this make my aches become incessant and the fatigue really kicks in but sometimes the pain is completely worth it!

One of my favourite things about gorgeous summer weather is being able to sit outside in the evening and tonight we did just that.

Dinner in the beautiful garden.

A lovely fresh dinner of honey mustard marinated chicken, a chipolata and lots of fresh bulgur and mango salad, followed by some fresh strawberries.

Ah days like this in the sunshine are just pure bliss.

I cannot wait to have finished exams and be able to enjoy a summer of days like this one, I can tell that it’s going to be a really brilliant summer!

How was the start to your week?
Have you been enjoying fantastic weather?
What is your favourite thing about the summer?

9 comments

  1. Gosh, your pictures are beautiful, as is your writing! I literally felt like I was there, with you :p. I LOVE Summer days full of sunshine and nice bike rides and small sensations. I am so jealous of where you live, but I was surprised to see that the place you went biking looks a lot like the place I ride my bike! Hope you have more beautiful days like this!

    PS- Your chipolata looks awesome! I thought is was quinoa at first!

  2. All your food pictures look so vibrant! The fruit looks so fresh and the cookies look amazing! I’m a sucker for a good pb cookie. Looks like you’re havin’ some beautiful weather!

  3. Ahhh, this long weekend was lovely! The hot weather made going back to school so much harder, though.
    Looks like you had an excellent day. Your photos are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

