Roast Time.

Hey there!

(I’m afraid this will be a really brief post because I’m off to bed in a sec, up early for one of my last lectures.)

Well I’m back at uni, unpacked, settled, with my schedule of the week in place. It feels a little odd, especially knowing I’m going home tomorrow afternoon, but I think it’s going to be okay (hopefully).

There’s something about being able to plan things and have everything under control that makes things seem okay. I think the key to this last term is going to be being completelyΒ organised. I’ve decided that that’s my new favourite word for the next month.

Before I left this afternoon my parents prepared a bit of a feast.

Roast chicken, roast potatoes, broccoli and an amazing gravy. Probably my last roast in a long time! I love home-cooked comfort food for rainy days like today, especially when I’m feeling a little emotional. Perfect.

You know what else is perfect?

Pie.

Apple and raspberry pie to be precise. With a dollop of natural yogurt. Is this what you were after Jessica? πŸ˜‰

I’m going to miss home, and miss my family (although I see both again tomorrow obviously). It’s not easy doing this last stretch, mainly because I like this place despite everything, and it’s a shame I have to be doing essays, revising and exams for the last few weeks that I have here.

Hopefully I’ll get through it in one piece without collapsing or anything else!

Anyway, I’m off to bed. Night blogworld πŸ™‚

Can I just ask, people from the UK, is thereΒ anywhereΒ in this country where it isn’t raining?
What’s the best thing you did this weekend?
Any exams, deadlines, important meetings or interviews coming up soon?

Β 

32 comments

  1. That meal looks so comforting! Can’t go wrong with meat, potatoes, and a good gravy! Apple pie is one of my favorites but I never heard of adding raspberries to it too. Sounds like a delicious combination.

  2. Oh man does that look delicious!! Especially the pie! Just think, soon it’ll be break and you can nosh on feasts every day! I know can’t wait for break to start soon so I can eat my mom’s dinners again haha πŸ˜‰

  3. Ah, looks like such a delicious plate of food! I hope you have a wonderful last few weeks at university. I’m currently going through the same thing. I hate deadlines!

  4. Lovely food again, the apple and raspberry pie especially πŸ™‚
    Raining here in Scotland and as far as I recall it has done every day this month except for the Saturday of this weekend. Currently it’s bucketing down and generally being very loud and annoying.
    I feel the same, I think it’s because I’ve realised that I wont be here for a while or maybe never again since I’m taking a year out, that I’m finally finding things to see and do when I should be doing coursework. This weekend hasn’t been very productive but I’ve had a great time exploring the city and spending time with new friends.
    Good luck for your deadlines and exams πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Hannah! Oh dear, I feel your pain 😦

      Well even if it hasn’t been a productive time for work, it’s great that you got to make the most of the city and spend time with new friends πŸ™‚ In many ways that is just as productive!

      Thank you πŸ™‚

  5. Yes! That is beyond what I was after! Apple and raspberry is one of my favourite combos! Good choice! πŸ˜‰

    It’s actually dry here at the moment but 100% sure rain is on the forecast for the next few days and a train line is down between one of the Bristol stations and Swindon due to a lovely deluge of rain on the track! πŸ™‚ It’s such a bore now. Talk about April showers!

    Best think I ate was banana chocolate chip pancakes yesterday morning! Your food looks better though!

    Yes…finals are looming. I’m trying to talk about them as little as possible to avoid stress! I can’t believe it’s almost finished – seems like yesterday I was in freshers week and moving in hall!

    Hope you have a good day! xxx

    1. Glad you liked it πŸ˜›

      Oh well lucky you! I hope the rain that was on the forecast never arrived for you. I can’t believe it even stopped trains! So irritating isn’t it?

      Mmm banana chocolate chip pancakes sound SO good right now! Swap you some for a slice of pie? πŸ˜‰

      Well good luck with them!! I’m sure you’ll do brilliantly πŸ™‚

  6. Mmmm, pie IS perfect. The perfect solution to rainy days or rainy moods. Love the idea of combining apple and raspberry. Enjoy your last bit of uni away from home, and just think of all the roasts you’ll get while living at home ;D I get to spend the weekend with the fam, and I can’t wait to have someone else cook for me. And, you know, visit with the family. But mostly the cooking ;D

  7. What what a delicious looking dinner!
    I did nothing fun this weekend but study for exams…but I finished yesterday and am home free!!! For a couple weeks till my summer class starts that is! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

