Big News.

Hey hey there ๐Ÿ™‚

So, as I promised you all yesterday, I’ve got some BIG news to tell you!

First, let me backtrack a little. As those of you who have been reading my blog for the past few months will know, this has been my first year at university. You will also probably know that it has been a difficult year at the best of times. Over the course of the year my condition has become far worse and I have really struggled to get through it all. Earlier this term, after lengthy discussions with my parents, my disabilityย adviser, my English lit tutor and Tom, I made a difficult but important decision…

As of next year I will be transferring to a university closer to home.

This means that starting September I will be moving back home full-time and transferring to one of the local universitiesย to continue my degree. I am still going to be studying English literature and I will still be going into my second year, just at a different institution. Although I made the decision a while ago, I wanted to wait till I’d been in to see the head of English at my new uni and received my official offer before revealing this to the world.

I’m not going to lie, it hasn’t been an easy decision. The lecturers and tutors at my current uni are fantastic and I’ll miss some of their lectures greatly, I’m sad to be leaving a campus and a city that I have really grown to love, and of course I’m really going to miss the brilliant friends I have made! I also have to say that I’m a little disappointed to lose to my independence. If someone had told me, this time last year, that this is how things were going to turn out I would have probably laughed, it is definitely not what I planned. But I really feel that it is the right decision to make – I have to prioritize my degree, and of course my health.

I want to take this opportunity to sayย thank youย to all of you who have supported me through this year! Your kind words, your advice and your endless support has reallyย reallyย helped me get through this. You truly are an amazing bunch of people ๐Ÿ™‚

So I hope I now have your support with this change! It won’t be easy to begin with, but I am really optimistic that it will improve my life for the near future.

33 comments

  1. I agree with the other comments – I feel like this is a good idea and who knows. Maybe you might find a school that’s nicer and you’ll grow to love it. Won’t you be close to Tom too??? I’m sure that will help ๐Ÿ™‚

    I had to move home after I’d been gone for 3 years and it was really tough at first but then I loved it ๐Ÿ˜‰ lol

  2. This does sound like the right choice for you! The end of your semester seemed like a major struggle, and while independence is nice, so is focusing on school and not being afraid to accept a little extra help and support when it’s needed. I think it’s much braver to make a hard decision than to keep going with what wasn’t working. So I’m so happy you’ve found a choice and option that will work for you, go for it! Plus it means we’ll all get to see more of your cooking adventures ;D

  3. Thank you so much for writing this post and for commenting on my own blog post about dealing with an illness at university. I read this post the other day and felt proud of you for making such a tough decision for your health. It inspired me to share my own advice, so thank you. I hope everything goes okay with the move and you settle in well to your new institution. I’ve read your blog from start to finish recently and I adore it!

    1. Hey Bee, thank you so much for commenting, I’m really touched that you like my blog ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for the support too! It really helps me to know that people think that I’m doing the right thing. I’m glad it inspired you!

  4. I’m all for saying..Congratulations! While this change may take some acclamating, I think it was a very mature, wise decision. Good for you! And I think living at home will be a nice change..think of all the fun time you can spend with your family, all the meals you can cook with a fully equipped kitchen, and the movies you can watch..etc!

  5. That’s good! I know it’s a bittersweet transition for you but I think it will all work out. I hope you’re much happier and healthier next year! Best of luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Sounds like a solid decision, and as sure as I am that there will be some “setting in” times, I’m you will love it. Good luck with the move ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

