What I Ate Wednesday No.29

Hello my lovely readers,

I’ve missed the last couple of What I Ate Wednesday‘s so I thought I’d better join in with this week’s!

If you still don’t know what it’s all about make sure you go check out the lovely Jenn’s blog to join the party 🙂

Today has been another lovely day. The girls with whom I walk to lectures in the morning commenting that I was particularly awake and bubbly which makes a change! I think Tom should move here permanently 😉

Breakfast was brought to me when he got back from his run and I enjoyed it with the lovely flowers he bought me…

After lectures we met and went to the nicest little cafe down by the lake. They serve amazing scones and we just couldn’t resist sampling the cheese ones, they were just so tempting:

After the doctor’s appointment (standard appointment – nothing to report) we then went off to have lunch at one of my favourite restaurant as an early celebration for my birthday.

I got a plate of pita with taramasalata, tatziki and hummus with a mixed veg salad. It was a delicious meal, just the sort of thing I love and would pretty much eat everyday if I had the money!

Tom got a really delicious cajun chicken burger with hand-cut chips and salad. It was really tasty and I may have snagged a chip…

Then when we thought we were done with the meal, the waitress tempted us with dessert, again we couldn’t resist.

We decided to get two to share:

A rather decadent brownie.

And what I loved best was this flapjack with ginger and apricot – so good. I’m definitely try to recreate this beauty when I’m back home!

Right, that’s me done, I’m going to bed with a nice full stomach 😉

So worth it though, back to celery and hummus tomorrow!

How’s your week going?
What’s the most delicious thing you’ve eaten recently?

 

38 comments

  1. Happy early birthday Sophie! All your eats look delicious 🙂 Those brownies, in particular, look super yum.. ginger and apricot is an interesting combo but sounds beautiful. Have a wonderful day!

  2. I really like the look of those desserts! I’m a complete sucker for brownies! The pitta plate looks yummy too!

    Glad you are feeling better! 🙂

  3. What a beautiful day you had! Like you, I love Greek mezze. I can’t eat the taramasalata or tatziki (dairy allergy), but even without these, the flat bread, hummus, olives, salad and feta is such a great combination.
    Ginger and apricot flapjack sounds delicious. Again, another great combination of flavours. You must let me know if you manage to recreate it, as I’d love to try some 🙂 xx

  4. Yum, I couldn’t say no to those cheese scones either (even with my lactose intolerance :P)
    And your dinner looks like something I would love as well. I’m glad you were able to enjoy it. We need a bit of pleasure from the simple things in life once in a while 🙂

  5. Oooh, I’m exciting to see how your attempts at replication go–ginger + apricot sounds like a delicious (and doable) combo. I love that you get breakfast in bed AND flowers!

  6. Love love love Greek food! The flapjack sounds amazing because I adore ginger! The scone looks yummy, too. Yesterday I made scones for the first time when I’ve never even had one before. Judging by the picture of your scone.. I don’t think I did it right haha. But I’m glad you enjoyed your early birthday meal and that’s so sweet he got you flowers !!!

  7. That is one tasty looking cheese scone! I’ve started making my scones like a loaf and then cutting it into slices, but big round ones still look so good. Breakfast in bed and flowers? You’re onto a keeper there 😉

  8. Ohh that brownie..it spoke to me. My week has been great!! I am excited it’s Friday. The best thing I ate this week was a piece of chocolate cake from the store after a hard spin class..ohh the rewards.

Leave a Reply

