A Beauty Review.

I’m sorry for my general absence from the blogworld the past couple of days, I’ve really been feeling ill, in fact, ill doesn’t really begin to cover it. I dragged myself out of bed at 9am yesterday, despite of having gone to bed not feeling great the night before, because it’s one of my favourite lectures of the week but felt exhausted the moment I woke up. Honestly, on mornings like (I estimate about three days a week now) it feels like I was never asleep at all. My head pounds, my eyes droop and my whole body feels like lead. I may as well have spent the whole night ill, crying and drunk for how I feel when I wake up! Not fun.

So anyway, got back from my lecture at about 10.30am and promptly got back into bed and spent the whole day there. I just didn’t have the energy to move, I lived mostly off cereal and a couple of large flapjacks (which left me feeling guilty but lets not even go there today) and then obviously found it difficult to sleep later because I hadn’t done much… Then this morning I woke up still feeling as though the energy had been drained from me so I gave my first lecture a miss knowing that I’d still have another three hours of seminars and lectures to go and I’d never make it through all four.

I HATE missing stuff, seriously I think the only two days of school I missed the year before were when I had a horrific fever. I was the sort of person who went into school if I had a cold and a splitting headache and I never ever skipped any lessons. It’s not even that I feel particularly guilty if I miss, I just don’t like missing out on the lesson – getting the information later is nowhere near as good as being taught it plus when you miss a day you have so much to catch up!

Anyway, as today still hasn’t been great and I’ve not really felt like taking photos I thought I’d share with you something that I have fallen in love with lately.

No7 Beautiful Skin Day Cream for Dry/Very dry skin – £12.50

Lately my skin has been awful compared with usual, particularly in terms of dryness. Now usually I have pretty good skin, I have no acne, never have bad breakouts and only ever get the occasionally spot. However it has always had a tendency to be a little dry in the winter months and lately I’ve been getting all of these little dry patches mainly across my cheeks and between my eyebrows. It’s been really irritating me because no matter how much I’ve been moisturising within an hour they reappear as stubborn as ever! So I’ve been looking for a new moisturiser, something a little more ‘heavy duty’ so to speak, and I had a £5 off No7 voucher and I thought I’d try their new range and this seemed perfect.

Now I’d never normally go for something as expensive but with the voucher it was pretty reasonable and I’ve never tried using a day cream instead of just a moisturiser so I thought it was worth a shot.

Guys, I have seen the light. This is brilliant. Really it is, I rub it all in with a little extra on the dry patches and voila! My skin is silky smooth and the dry patches are gone for several hours. I’m really impressed with this, in a way I haven’t been with any new beauty products in a while. I’d love to try some of the other products in this range, especially the cleansing balm which I’m intrigued by, anyone ever used a balm?

They do two other versions of this: Normal/Dry skin and Normal/Oily skin so there should be something for everyone!

Pros: 

– Such a smooth, soft cream to use.
– Rubs into the skin well and doesn’t leave any whiteness.
– Smells lovely.
– Nice packaging.

Cons:

– The price.
– I feel for a cream of this quality it’s a shame it doesn’t have a higher SPF.

*Note: To all my lovely US readers I’m afraid Boots do not ship outside of the UK!*

 

I hope you are all having a fantastic week, almost the weekend 🙂

Do you have problems with your skin – dryness, redness, acne, etc?
What are your thoughts on No7?
Do you use a day cream? Or a night cream for that matter?
Have you found another fantastic moisturiser I should know about?


19 comments

  1. Sophie, I’m sorry you haven’t been feeling well. I hope you feel more energized tomorrow! Just remember, everyday is a new day and in no time the weather will warm up and sun will be shining all the time so you can sit outside, drink tea, read a book, and enjoy so many more things!

    Moisturizer wise, have you ever heard of Cetaphil? It’s FANTASTIC and I use it all the time!

    1. Thank you Anna, I’m starting to feel a little better! And yes, I can’t wait for that, my month off for Easter (in two weeks!) will be perfect for that 🙂

      Ooh no, I’ll have to check it out!

  2. Aww sorry you haven’t been feeling well, love. I’m sending tons of hugs and feel good vibes your way as we speak 🙂
    My mom bought some of that cream once and raved about it too! I may have to get some for my nastily dry hands haha

  3. HI! I just went through my spam and found comments from you in there! Not sure why they didn’t get approved but you’re all clear now 🙂 Thank you so much for commenting. Happy to have found you too! Get well soon! xoxo

  4. I hardly have any problems with my skin and it’s because I don’t wear make-up. Make-up breaks me out so bad whenever I tried to use it so I just gave up. I’m actually glad I can’t wear make up because I love the natural look! Sometimes my face does get really dry though and all the moisturizers I’ve tried makes my face greasy. That’s awesome you found some products to work with you though! I hope your days start looking up and you feel better! Just remember to try and have a positive outlook on life no matter what struggle you’re going through during the day! Life is literally what you make it 🙂

    1. Oh well I have to say lucky you! My skin is always pretty bad in the winter but then clears up as the warmer weather comes in and is always lovely in the summer, no idea why really!

      I hope so too lovely, I always try to maintain a positive outlook but I have to say it’s tough in the moment when I have almost no control over my own life!

      I agree though, and I plan on making lots of it 🙂

  5. In grade 10 redness/dryness around the area where my nostrils meet face came up. It came on so fast I thought it was from swimming in the highly chlorinated school pool. It seems to have stuck for the past 6 years though, so I guess I just have really dry/red skin in that area. The funny thing is I have found that the more products I use there the worse it gets. In the summer when I don’t use many products it’s almost unnoticeable! 🙂 Great review 🙂

    1. Urgh redness and dry skin are really annoying aren’t they! I have a similar issue but for me it’s really the winter with the cold months that does it, in the summer I have pretty near perfect skin – strange! Thank you 🙂

  6. I totally feel your fatigue! I’ve been struggling this week. I can blame mine on anaemia but still, it’s so frustrating. I hate being tired by 8 pm and waking up like I haven’t slept at all! I hope you feel better soon!

    I use Avene mosturizers because I love the smell and find them really mosturising! I love it when you find a product that works great! 🙂

    1. Oh I’m sorry you’ve been struggling! I feel the same, even though I can blame it on the fibromyalgia, it’s still frustrating!

      Oh Avene has some lovely products, you’ve reminded me about it now – I want to get something new 😛

  7. I thought I was the only one that had dry skin in those area’s during the winter months. I’m pretty spoiled in that overall I don’t have very “high maintanence” skin, so I can pretty much just wash it with water most of the year and not worry about it. But recently it’s been a bit more problematic, so I’m looking into some good face creams.
    Hope you feel better soon. I’m totally there with you about missing classes, so I’m hoping that you can relax a bit this weekend and feel like a new person on Monday 🙂

  8. Im sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling well lately! I hope you’re able to get lots of good rests and get better soon!!

    It always feels awesome to find a product that works so well for our skin, yeah?? 🙂 I use a total of three different face lotions. One for my t-zone which is for fighting acne. And than for the rest of my face I use a day cream in the morning and night cream in the evenings. And sometimes I use eye cream as well. Face lotions definitely come with a hefty price most of the time, but i guess its worth it if it works yeah? 😉

    1. Oh thank you Kris!

      I know, I love having lovely products to use 🙂 I’ve never used any night creams or eye creams, are they worth it? Yes nice products are expensive, but I agree it’s worth it if it works and feels nice!

  9. Somehow I missed this post until today?! Gahh not sure how that happened! Sophie, I am so so sorry you are feeling so just…bad, for a lack of a better term! I am sending major healing vibes and well wishes your way (trust me they help 😉 ) But seriously, feel better soon love, do what you need to in order to get better as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

