Tales from a Tuesday.

Just yesterday I was reading the beautiful Jenny’s blog post about the fact that you should avoid talking about the weather incessantly in your blog posts. I think she is quite right, I mean, talking about the weather is one of those stereotypical ‘small talk’ things to do.

Except for today, truly, it was a GORGEOUS day outside. So you’ll have to excuse me just this once, sorry lovely!

(By the way, it is a really interesting and well thought out post, so I’d definitely recommend you check it out.)

This morning I had plans to go to the gym upon waking up. I’d even spent time visualising the process the night before just before going to sleep to really plant the idea in my mind. However, I woke up still feeling pretty tired so I decided to give myself an extra couple of hours in bed to be lazy and read. Shame is proving to be a really intriguing book, I’m still not sure how I feel about it.

Breakfast was the usual sort of bowl:

I wonder if I’ll ever change my breakfast preferences? Having said that, yesterday I decided to buy some wholemeal English muffins and I do love a good English muffin with melted butter to start off my day!

I’m glad I left the gym for a bit though, because by about 10.30am I was feeling much better and definitely ready to tackle a good cardio workout head on.

I grabbed all of my gear together, including this month’s copy of Women’s Fitness which I have delivered home and I picked up this weekend. I don’t read magazines that often, although Women’s Fitness and my mum’s Easy Living are my weaknesses (she gave me last month’s copy to bring back with me), but I do love having one with me on the cardio machines at the gym. Whilst I know some people say it distracts them too much and they don’t work hard enough, I don’t find that happens with me and it really does make the time fly by!

20 minutes on the stationary bike, 5 of warming up, then 15 high resistance, followed by 15 minutes of hill inclines on the elliptical (seriously tough – resistance 60 at the top anybody?), and finished off with a 5 minute cool down back on the stationary bike. Let me tell you, I was sweaty and pink-faced by the end of it!

It felt really good though, I made sure to stretch out properly and then took a leisurely cycle back to my flat. There were so many beautiful daffodils and crocuses blooming all over campus which was just lovely. Speaking of which, look what I treated myself to yesterday:

Aren’t they pretty? Only a £1 at Sainsbury’s, I couldn’t resist. I think they brighten up my bedroom beautifully 🙂

Busy times after the gym! I dashed off (sweaty gym clothes and all) to the laudrette’s to put a load of sheets in, dashed back to shower and wash my hair, then dashed back again to pick up my laundry and then back to my room a final time to hang it up to dry in my bedroom. Why do I dry it in my bedroom you ask? Because I don’t want to have to spend an extra £1 on the tumble-drier. I’d rather spend it on daffodils.

After that palaver I finally got to put some food in my, by this point starving, stomach!

I decided to whip up a smoothie as I haven’t had any in a while (isn’t my life exciting?). Skim milk for its muscle rejuvenating properties, a small frozen banana for a boost in energy, frozen raspberries, a stick of celery and half an avocado. A good mix of protein, carbohydrates, vitamins and healthy fats.

Seriously why have I never put avocado in a smoothie before?? It makes it so deliciously smooth and creamy! It barely affects the flavour either in case you were worried.

Blissful.

After an afternoon drama seminar I came back, read more of Shame, did some prep work and ate dinner in front of Come Dine with Me.

Now I’m going to get ready for bed, I’ve got a 9am start tomorrow and a doctor’s appointment at noon – wish me luck!

How are your weeks shaping up?
Are you enjoying lovely weather too?
Any big flower lovers out there?

Lastly, avocado in smoothies – are you a fan?

22 comments

  1. haha girl, if it’s gorgeous – you tell the world that it’s gorgeous! I just cringe when people start every.single.post with “it was pretty warm today. the perfect day for a run!” or “it’s going to be cold today. I better bundle up for my run!”

    ENJOY THE SUN!

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed your sunny day! It was pretty lovely here, I drove to a volunteer meeting and it was beautiful weather for a drive. Ahh daffodils! So pretty. I’ve never tried avocado in a smoothie but as I currently have 1/4 of an avocado in the fridge waiting to be used it might be a plan for tomorrow!

  3. It’s been lovely here for the past few days as well, but I just had to mention the crazy winds in my post today! 😀 I swear it feels like a hurricane! Enjoy the beautiful weather! :] The smoothie looks so creamy. I’ve never tried adding avocado to mine, but I’ve been having post-workout smoothies a lot lately. They’re so easy and tasty!

  4. I love hearing about the weather 😉 – I think it was cool for me b/c our winter was so mild for Canada and it was actually interesting for me b/c I could hear others stating how they were having colder than usual weather and such….I’m a huge nerd.

    I also LOVE daffodils.

    and I have yet to try avocado in a smoothie but everyone keeps raving about it 😛

  5. Love the look of that smoothie! Avocado sounds like a great little addition, might have to try it myself. Those daffodils are gorgeous too, glad you had a nice day – enjoy the warm weather because it is SO COLD here at the moment 😦 Best of luck for tomorrow!

  6. Good luck with you DR appt.! I’ve heard putting avocado in smoothies makes it amazing but I have yet to try it. I need to soon! Those are such gorgeous flowers! I never buy real flowers because it makes me so upset when they die. Hopefully yours last a long while! 🙂

  7. Yes but commenting on the weather is so British! It’s all we ever talk about. Someone talking about the weather in their blog post wouldn’t bore me, I mean it’s only the same as posting a picture of your porridge every day isn’t it, and no one says don’t do that 🙂

  8. Sophie you are completely justified in talking about the weather..especially if it’s sunny or warm! Right now in Paris it’s overcast and raining so any news of warm weather is just what I like to hear! Really, feel free to send some of your sunshine down here 🙂

    By the way, avocado in a smoothie? At first it sounds strange, but I’ve seen recipes for avocado banana bread so I can’t imagine why it wouldn’t make a smoothie creamy and good! Yum!

    1. Aw thank you Anna 🙂 I wish I could send you some sunshine, at least Paris is beautiful whatever the weather!

      You really can’t taste it, just makes it extra smooth and dessert like 🙂

  9. I don’t mind anyone talking about the weather – it’s ok to indulge in a bit of small talk in my opinion. Besides, isn’t it the British national pastime, along with queuing of course!
    I love avocados in smoothies, but I really struggle to find decent ones – I can never get them to ripen properly.

    1. That’s true, we do like a bit of weather and queuing 😛

      I always have that problem, either you buy them ripe and then you have to use them straight away, or you buy them fairly hard and they don’t seem to ripen then suddenly turn brown! So frustrating!

Leave a Reply

