This Weekend #3.

Hello my lovelies!

I’m back at uni but I have had a really nice weekend at home, I may not be feeling that much better but I know that I’d feel far worse if I’d stayed at uni.

Being at home I was looked after, fed and helped with things. If I’d stayed here I’d have probably stayed in bed for most of the weekend, my laundry would have piled up, I would have survived mostly on weetabix and I would have felt even more ill!

Anyway, without further ado, the photos from this weekend:

Fresh haddock goujons with my mum’s lovely tartar sauce and salad – a lovely light and healthy meal which felt like a real treat to eat πŸ™‚

Coffee with my mum and my sister was perfect, just so nice to catch up and enjoy some time together. I am slowly becoming more and more addicted to a fan of my skinny vanilla lattes, they just taste so good, it’s about the only hot drink I like!

Spur of the moment wishing lantern. They really are lovely to watch and it was a fun thing to do the four of us!

Breakfast this morning was a real treat: fresh orange juice, fresh blueberries and a buttery hot cross bun. Delicious, truly the best breakfast I’ve had in weeks!

Lunch today was one of my favourite thing to eat as a family, a good roast chicken with roast potatoes and parsnips, greenΒ cabbage and the fantastic gravy. I do love my parents’ food, there’s nothing like having a lovely meal prepared and served for you πŸ™‚

Anyway I’m feeling pretty exhausted after the car ride back to uni (half of which I was asleep for anyway!) so I’m off to read before bed.

I hope you have all had a fantastic weekend too!

What do you like best about going back home?
Anyone else addicted to coffee? Or something else?
Are you a fan of hot cross buns? I absolutely adore them!
Anyone got any exciting plans for the week ahead?

19 comments

  1. It sounds like you had a very relaxing weekend with your family! All of your meals looks delicious!! Going back to reality is never fun, especially since your family is not there. Hope you will have a great week ahead of you! πŸ˜€

  2. I want to know more about those wish lanterns!!!! looks so fun and reminds me of “tangled” πŸ™‚ so happy you got to go home, sorry I’ve been slacking on blog reading. It’s so hard to keep up with everyone!

    I love haddock and that homemade tartar sauce looks YUM-MY! πŸ˜€

    1. They’re sometimes called Chinese lanterns or just sky lanterns. They’re super easy to use, you just unwrap them, attach the bit that burns (that’s a technical term!), then hold them whilst they fill with hot air and away they go πŸ™‚

      Aw that’s okay, you have no reason to apologise! Thank you πŸ™‚

  3. Wow – sounds like you had a fantastic food and family filled weekend! Everything looks delish as always!

    I’ve never had hot cross buns! – What exactly are they? b/c they look so yummy! And i’m most definitely addicted to coffee! I make myself a latte just about every morning πŸ™‚

    1. It was lovely πŸ™‚ thank you!

      They are a little like an English muffin or a tea cake if you’ve had one of those before? Basically a bit like a soft little roll with raisins and spices in it and a sugar glaze on top πŸ™‚

      Latte’s are my go-to too, I love a good latte πŸ™‚

  4. I love hot cross buns, but I haven’t had any yet this year – I fancy one now! When I worked in a bakery I made literally hundreds each day, but I still like them despite that.
    It sounds like you had a nice time at home. I love just spending time with my parents – I can talk so comfortable with them about anything.

    1. Oh I would love to work in a bakery! I adore the smell of bread baking πŸ™‚

      I had a lovely time thank you. It’s really nice that you feel so comfortable with your parents πŸ™‚

  5. Every single thing looks absolutely delicious! You’re lucky your family cooks such fresh and delicious looking food. I love hot cross buns! Of course, I’ve only had them at a chain restaurant a couple of times but they’re still so good!

Leave a Reply

