Just Keep Trying!

Well.

You know how yesterday I said I was exhausted? I’m still exhausted.Β But today it is for an incredibly different reason…

…I was in the gym at 10.30am and then I went to Pilates at 5.30pm!

I know, two workouts in a day – practically unheard of on this blog πŸ˜›

If I’d started a blog in late springtime last year this would have been very different, I was working most days of the week, I often did light cardio and strength on the same day. I loved working out, I had a great stamina, and I’d found ways of exercising that didn’t irritate my back or hips (much).

I was feeling great, I was mostly happy with my body. I relaxed my exercising throughout my exams and when Tom was back and I was free of exams, I had better things to do really!

Then came uni.

And we all know the rest!

But any, enough of that tangent. Today, whilst I am fairly sore, I feelΒ so proud of myself.

I’ve managed to achieve 45 mins of cardio AND 1 hour and 30 mins of Pilates. To be honest, I can ignore the pain, I feel GREAT.

Breakfast was a banana, I know some people like bananas after workouts but I quite like them as pre-workout fuel.

Second breakfast:

The usual weetabix mush with some frozen strawberries and blueberries. Frozen fruit isn’t a patch on fresh fruit but it does have its own positives. I love the cold burst of flavour and the way it slowly softens into the milk. It’s also pretty nice to have a variety of fruits which would normally be out of season!

The rest of the morning was spent working on my bed and as a consequence lunch never really materialised. I ended up just having little snacks here and there. A hand full of chili thins, some celery sticks dipped in taramasalata (all my healthy fats right there!), some more fruit…

I was due to meet some girls from my Old English seminar in the library this afternoon, we have a presentation to give on Thursday. I was a little early so I nipped into the library cafe to grab a mini brownie. They’re delicious, much lighter than any I’ve ever tasted, with large chocolate chunks in them. They’re really diddy but they’re a lovely treat.

Presentation prepped so a quick dash home to grab my things for pilates and then I was off again. Like a said, a busy day!

Dinner when I came back ended up being pretty decent despite the kitchen being an absolute tip and dirty pots and pans all over the surfaces. Urgh.

Pan-fried mushrooms in chilli and garlic, mixed in with a handful of tomato and red pepperΒ tortelloni, served with a sprinkle of Parmesan. Pretty darn tasty if I do say so myself πŸ˜›

One thing that did perk me up was this:

The middle one I bought on Monday, we’re studying them this week for my Modern Lit module, they’ve been most interesting to read. The other two arrived today in the post from Amazon. I bought them second-hand for only Β£3.50 in total (delivery included) and they’re almost good as new! Very impressed. They’re just light reads that I’ve heard good things about so I thought I’d give them a go. I’m quite looking forward to reading them πŸ™‚

Anyway I’m off to bed, 9am tomorrow!

Do you sometimes exercise twice a day?
Are you a pilates or yoga fan?
Β I’ve completely fallen in love with pilates!
Any new reads worth mentioning?

Β 

22 comments

  1. I always get SO excited when I have a bunch of new books to read, especially when they came in the mail! It’s like Christmas! πŸ˜€
    I haven’t been able to find a good read as of late, but I guess textbooks kinda consume me right now eww haha

  2. All of your eats looks so delicious. I love eating fresh fruits, esp. when they’re in season but when they are not, frozen ones are a great substitue too. They are great in smoothies!

    I like pilates more than yoga for some reasons. πŸ™‚

  3. I often try to fit 2-a-day’s in to my routine…but sometimes I just don’t have time! I usually will do a workout by myself in the morning before work and then my boyfriend and I will do a workout after we both get home from work. I love P90x, Insanity and running…however I have realized that, after some hip issues, I need to find a less intense form of exercise. Enter yoga! I have been slowly integrating Yoga into my daily routine…and I am learning to love it more each day. Pilates is next on my list to learn πŸ˜›

    1. I love getting two in because you feel extra great when you go to bed that night! I’d love to be able to workout with my boyfriend. I’m sorry you’re having some hip issues but I’d definitely recommend pilates, it’s helped me with my hips loads πŸ™‚

  4. Your eats look beautiful πŸ™‚ I sometimes exercise twice a day if I can, but not now with uni starting! I used to be a pilates girl, but switched to yoga and love it πŸ˜‰

  5. Well done you on your double dayer! Very impressed, I keep writing doubles on my plan but they never materialise because the first would have to be at 6am and I always end up pressing snooze. Plus I’d have to pack all my uni stuff and breakfast and its just a faff lol. One day! I tried pilates last week but the class was dead strange and I didn’t enjoy it, but I do think it was the teacher so I’d like to find a harder class. I do enjoy yoga though!

    Second hand amazon books are the way forward, I always try to buy used if I can. I’ve been a bit obsessed with rowing books at the moment, cue embarrassed face. hope you’re okay chick xx

    1. Thank you lovely πŸ™‚ I was quite impressed with myself πŸ˜›

      Gosh 6am is so early! I definitely think I would end up pressing snooze. I definitely think the teacher makes a big difference to the experience, I love my teacher πŸ™‚

      Yes you can get such great deals! Haha there’s nothing to be embarrassed about!

      Thank you, hope you’re good too! ❀

  6. Just goes to show how different our reading is, I didn’t class ‘On Beauty’ as a light read in the slightest but that’s just me! I think second hand books is the way to go for sure! I used to work out twice in one day but it would only be something like yoga and a normal cardio / strength workout. Now I just wouldnt have the time!

    1. Haha well it’s not light in size but compared with some of the books I have to read for my course it’s fairly easy going! I love buying second hand books, I love that they have their
      own story.

      Yeah I would never do two intense workouts in a row! And I have to say it is quite rare that I have the time (and energy) for two in a day.

  7. So pleased you’ve been able to do your exercise! πŸ™‚ And wow, the cost of those books and delivery is such a bargain, can’t believe it! Also, i think you may have converted me to your weetabix mush! I’m definitely going to be having some when i go back to Uni!

  8. I’m with you on your frozen berry opinion–they don’t hold a candle to the real thing, but they DO have their positives. And wow, sounds like a good workout day! I’ll sometimes hit the gym in the morning and then jog in the afternoon, but that’s definitely not a regular occurrence–although it feels good when you’re ready and in the mood for twice!

  9. I usually do more than one workout a day but usually just one session, if that makes sense. Although in the summer I find it easier b/c I’m so motivated by the sun to get active.

    Frozen berries are cheaper and last longer. Unfortunately we buy then fresh out of season all year round b/c of Logans LOVE of all berries….and our motto is – if they want berries, better make it a whole bunch of different types. Wants bread? – we make sure there’s always a variety so at least he’s getting some nutrition πŸ˜› lol

    Great job with your workouts!

    1. Yeah I get what you mean, I like to do cardio and strength together sometimes. Summer definitely makes it easier to motivate yourself, I really don’t like working out in the dark and that confines you to only a few hours a day in the winter!

      Aw well me too Logan πŸ˜› You’re such a lovely mum πŸ™‚

      Thank you!

  10. I LOVE tortelloni! I haven’t had it in so long I definitely need to make my own! Sounds like an awesome workout. I workout only one time, if that, a day but when I do I workout pretty hard and feel great/exhausted afterwards. I’ve never tried pilates but I love yoga! Such a stress reliever.

    1. Oh wow I’d love to see the photos of that! I would be incredibly impressed πŸ™‚ Yeah I would never manage to do two intense workouts in a day! I must try yoga, it’s on my list of things to do πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

