In Which Baiba Visits.

Well my lovely readers, I have had a really fantastic weekend so far!

First of all, thank you so so much for all of your really supportive and caring comments on my last post. It took a lot to write it and then post it so it meant lots to me that you all offered your own experiences and your words of comfort! It’s receiving all of this wonderful support that makes writing posts like that completely worth it 🙂

Yesterday afternoon, after I’d finished with my seminars, I hopped on the bus into town to meet my wonderful friend Baiba from the train station. It was so nice to see her again, we haven’t seen each other in about 7 weeks so we had a lot to catch up on!

I booked us a table at Jamie’s Italian which is a restaurant I love. The food is fresh, well presented, and pretty reasonably priced plus the restaurant itself is in a lovely building with a really relaxed atmosphere, perfect for a meal out with an old friend 🙂

We decided, in the interests of preserving both our student budgets and our waistlines, to go for a shared starter and dessert. This way we got an affordable three course meal, pretty nifty if you ask me.

We started off with some ‘Mike the Woodman’s Mushroom Fritti – our own-grown crispy fried mushrooms served with really garlicky mayo’. Seriously, this is one of the best starters ever. If you live anywhere near a Jamie’s Italian, I urge you to visit just for this starter, the mushrooms are fresh, the crumbly batter surrounding them is light and crunchy and the garlic mayonnaise is just delicious, so indulgent. A light squeeze of lemon over the mushrooms just tops of the fresh taste. I’m pretty sure I could have had a portion to myself 😉

‘Prawn Linguine – Pan fried garlicky prawns with shaved fennel, tomatoes, chilli & rocket.’ There’s nothing quite like catching up with each other’s lives over bowls of delicious linguine. This is one of my favourite dishes to eat when out because I rarely get the chance to eat seafood at uni. Somewhat of a luxury really! It was delicious, I love the thin spicy tomato sauce that coats the linguine and the rocket adds a little bite to the dish.

We decided that we needed dessert. I mean really, who doesn’t?

Unfortunately, in my eagerness to devour my half of dessert, I completely forgot to take a photo of it! But, because I know you are probably desperate to hear about it (just pretend, okay?) I’ll describe it for you. ‘Peach & Almond Tart – Frangipane tart with preserved peaches, whipped yoghurt & honey’ Doesn’t that just sound divine? The frangipane was thick, in fact actually quite dense, but it had a lovely taste and serving it with yogurt and honey was genius, it was such a tasty dessert. At any rate, we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Instead of a photo of the tart you can have a photo of the beautiful Baiba.

I absolutely love her scarf!

We then went on to a bar for a drink and headed back home to chat late into the night. I’m not surprised we didn’t end up going to sleep till after 2am, we had so much to talk about. It’s so nice to have friends that you have endless amounts of stuff to talk about, it’s comforting to know that even after weeks apart, you can just slot back into the friendship as if no time has passed. Having said that, it’s also really exciting to see how much friends are changing and growing from their time at uni, we’re becoming different people, we’re developing new passions and instead of making us grow apart, it adds a new element to our relationships 🙂

Today we went for coffee with the gorgeous Natalie, our mutual friend from home.

Lattes never fail to lift my mood, especially with a shot of vanilla syrup. Sugar-free mind you 😉

Don’t I have such pretty friends?

It was so nice to be the three of us and we chatted for a good pair of hours. It really helps to see them when I’m feeling a bit low from being ill.

I’m so glad I got the opportunity to see both of them again, I’m lucky to have such wonderful friends!

Anyway I’m quite tired and I want to get an early night so I’m off. I hope you are all having a fabulous weekend 🙂

What are your plans this weekend?
Do you still meet with all friends? Friends from your childhood?
What is the nicest meal you’ve had at a restaurant lately?

14 comments

  1. I’m jealous you got to go to Jamie Oliver’s restaurant. That boy is NOT hard on the eyes whatsoever 😉 and everything looks fantastic! It’s nice to catch up with old friends, I haven’t in forever! Have a lovely rest of the weekend!

  2. I actually really love your friends teeth – no joke. I find nowadays everyone is encouraged to get braces that I have this fascination with unique teeth 😉 and her scarf IS awesome. That food looks so yummy!

  3. Aww looks like so much fun!
    I got to see and old childhood friend over spring break, and it was so nice to catch up over a cup of coffee and talk about our lives. Friends are one of the things that make life worthwhile.

    I think the last time I went out to eat was over a year ago – no exaguration there! Can anyone say frugal much!!! 😛

    Have a fun weekend!!

    1. Aw that sounds lovely! I completely agree, relationships are the very essence of life 🙂 Wow that is such a long time, I usually go out for a meal at least once a month! To be fair I don’t always pay though 😛

  4. It sounds like you had a lovely time with your friends – there’s nothing as good as catching up with close friends. Unfortunately I’m not in touch with school friends, but I have a close group of friends from university who I meet up with regularly over one (or a few) glasses of wine and good food.

  5. Such a lovely post!
    Made me all warm and fuzzy.
    My best friend and I have been besties since I was 12…..she moved up north and we trade off states every year now. I miss her but it’s a great excuse to travel! 😛

Leave a Reply

