It’s a Fitness Friday!

Hey there my fabulous readers!

I’m in such a good mood today, want to know why? No? Well I’m going to tell you anyway 😛

I have completed not one but two workouts today!

After weeks of only light exercise it feels so good to get back in the swing of things. I was up bright and early (even though I didn’t have any uni classes till 12 noon)  and off to the gym with my lovely fitness buddy 🙂

We walked briskly as a warm up and then completed 11 minutes on the stationary bike at a fairly high intensity, 11 minutes on the elliptical at as high an intensity as my back and knees would take(!) and then a 5 minute cool down on the stationary bike again. In total I cycled and ran/climbed (I don’t know how to describe it!) for 5 miles.

Can you tell that I’m really pleased with myself?

I was ravenous when I got back so I blended myself up a delicious strawberry and banana smoothie:

This evening I decided I had the energy for another workout so I opted for a strength session.

It was a full-body/random-whatever-I-felt-like sort of workout and it felt so good to be lifting those weights again!

I did 3 sets of the following moves:

Squat with shoulder press – 12 reps
Russian twist – 8 reps
Lunge with dumbbell curl – 10 reps on each leg
Bicep curl – 12 reps on each arm
Easy press-up – 8 reps
Plank – 1 minute
Crunch – 15 reps
Reverse crunch – 15 reps

It took me about half an hour to complete with a two-minute rest in between sets. I’m hoping for some serious DOMS tomorrow!

Fitness Friday Summary

Monday: Upper-body workout + 2 mile walk
Tuesday: 30 minute gym workout (20 mins stationary bike, 10 mins elliptical)
Wednesday: Full body stretch
Thursday: Rest day
Friday: 30 minute gym workout + 30 minute strength

And I’m planning on going a 30 Day Shred tomorrow morning before going to get my lovely sister, Alice, from the station 🙂

I’m on a roll!

I’m also super excited about spending time with my sister again, I miss her when I’m away, we’re quite close and it’s fantastic to be able to spend the weekend with her. I have lots planned and some tasty eats at the ready so expect some food and fun filled posts this weekend!

Have you had any brilliant workout days lately?
What’s your favourite workout move at the moment?
Any exciting plans for the weekend?

16 comments

  1. I hear you on missing family….we’re pretty close (in location) but life gets in the way, always a blast when we get together.

    Also, WOW!!!! I love how you mention you’d like to start into fitness again and then tackle not one, but two workouts! hardcore weight/strength oriented ones at that! 😉 you go girl!

  2. Well done on those workouts – it sounds like you’ve hit your stride with exercise!
    I tried a new (to me) Jillian Michaels DVD this morning – Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism and absolutely loved it. It’s a cardio one which is great in one way, but it meant that I had an excuse not to do any strength training.
    Have a fabulous weekend with your sister 🙂

Leave a Reply

