Comfort and Coziness.

Thank you for all of your lovely well-wishes yesterday 🙂

Today has been a much much better day. I have taken the time to relax and do things that I’ve wanted to do. It’s one of those days where everything turns out so much better than expected.

It was an early start this morning, I had a 9am lecture and a 10am seminar. But that was it for the day! Although for me getting up is difficult, I always feel stiff and tired, but I do actually like it when my day starts (and finishes) early because it means I have the rest of the day to do what I like.

Thursday morning is Old English time and I’m actually really enjoying it. The literature is fascinating and for once I actually quite like learning the language!

I decided to grab lunch on campus today and take it back with me, the cafe in the English building does a delicious noodle salad:

It’s full of crunchy veg like red peppers, something similar to celery – can’t figure out what it is, red onions, spring onions and other great additions like big chunks of ginger and sesame seeds. It’s really lovely and, as I found out when I checked out the nutritional facts on the box, pretty healthy!

Thursday and Friday are always difficult days for me, it’s about halfway through the week and my energy levels start to drop. I definitely felt that way when I got back from my seminar today so I decided I would take it easy this afternoon to try to avoid the fatigue hitting too heavily.

Best decision ever.

I spent a couple of hours wrapped up in my blanket with my hot water bottle  just reading and catching up on some of your blogs.

Pure bliss.

Sometimes staying in bed for hours leaves me feeling sluggish and a little bit down but this afternoon it was just perfect. I actually made it a productive afternoon in bed and am left feeling really positive.

I can’t really say why I feel really good about this afternoon.

It might be that I was pottering around in these…

My lovely warm, cozy and rather comfy slippers. One of my favourite things this winter.

It could be because I was lusting over this…

Nigella Lawson’s Chocolate Pots. I bought her Nigella Bites cookbook last weekend at my trusty Oxfam bookshop. I love that place, there are always new books to discover and they invariably have a brilliant selection of cookbooks. Obviously every time I go on my food shop I simply cannot resist popping in and I have to admit, I nearly always buy something 😉

Or it may be because I was nibbling away on these…

These my friends are the snickerdoodle cookies I baked yesterday evening at Cake Soc. Yes, that’s right, I actually made it there yesterday and it was great fun (it might also have been the cause of the agony and exhaustion I experienced today but we’ll let that slide!). These are delicious. But then I adore cinnamon so I would say that. They have that perfect balance; crunchy on the outside and soft in the middle. And the cinnamon-sugar coating is wonderful.

Today has been lovely and dinner topped it off.

Leftover ratatouille on spicy couscous. Leftovers are just the best meals, they take very little effort but taste brilliant. I love ratatouille, the recipe I have is quite generous and I have a tupperware of it in my freezer to eat at a later date.

Now I’m off to bed for an early night 🙂

I’m up early tomorrow for the gym so wish me luck for that, I’m not used to working out in the morning!

Do you like spending cozy days in occasionally?
How have all of your weeks been shaping up?
Any plans this weekend?

I have the best sort of plans this weekend, my sister arrives to stay at lunchtime on Saturday and I’m really looking forward to spending some time with her!

16 comments

  1. I do love the occasional cozy day and I’m definitely calling them that from now on – it sounds so much better than my usual of “lazy day” 🙂 Mmmmmm, cous cous.

  2. you’re right sometimes a “cozy day” could make me feel lazy and more lethargic, but then other times it’s pure heaven. Glad you had a positive one. How could you not reading blogs, being in those slippers and making/eating snickerdoodles 😉 haha

  3. I love snickerdoodles! Those looks so good, as well as the ratatouille. I’ve never had it before but it sounds good with spicy couscous. It’s always nice to have a relaxing day! I’m glad you got to enjoy lazing around 🙂

  4. This post makes me so happy! Every picture is just lovely. I’m glad you had such a nice evening! Although there’s no way to have a bad evening when you’re curled up with a hot water bottle and a Kindle 😉

    Do you have a recipe for snickerdoodles?

    1. Aw thank you Emily 🙂 There definitely isn’t! I really do love it, it makes reading more so easy! I’m afraid I don’t, we didn’t get to keep the recipes, I’m sure you could find a great one online though!

  5. I used to hate lying in bed when I wasn’t asleep, but I have been getting into it more. I tend to read in bed more now. My ultimate indulgence is taking the duvet off the bed and wrapping it around me on the sofa 🙂
    I’m glad you’re feeling better xxx

    1. I’m exactly the same, I never really used to lie-in much before uni but recently it’s become really enjoyable, plus like you I love reading in bed! Mmm I love doing that when I’m back home 🙂 Thank you!

  6. I’m such a fan of cozy days. I think everyone needs them every so often just to take time out. I often curl up with a duvet, a brew and old Cary Grant films on my cozy days 🙂

Leave a Reply

