A Shakespearean Afternoon.

Well it’s been a productive day!

I hope you’re all having fantastic weeks, almost the weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

The countdown has well and truly started to sink in, in three days I’ll be back in my uni bedroom.
I don’t really know how I feel yet.

I kind of want to be excited, there are things I want to try out, resolutions I want to fulfill.

But then I remember all of the details I don’t enjoy. The loneliness, the cold, the discomfort, the exhaustion, the pain…

It’s a completely confusing mixture of emotions to feel so in away it’s a good thing that I have had all of this work to do this week – it’s distracted me from thoughts of next week and made me shove my emotions to one side. It’s also useful really because now I’m in the swing of working again, I actually crave my modern literature lectures, I’m thirsting to discover a whole load of new and exciting books. And I want to be able to go to the gym again, and cook for myself. I have a list of recipes to try out. There is a stack of to-dos that I want to complete.

So it’s not all bad really, it just sometimes feels it when I imagine not spending any time with my family, with Tom, with my friends from home, for weeks. And the idea of going back to having a teeny tiny bedroom and a sub-par kitchen isn’t particularly appealing.

See what I mean about the confusion?! I can go from something positive to something upsetting in the blink of an eye at the moment.

I guess it’s normal.

I made lunch for my mum today because she was teaching till 1.30pm. It’s a simple dish but it’s delicious and on top of that is pretty healthy for a pasta dish. The ingredients are basically just cherry tomatoes, rocket, garlic, chili, lemon, olive oil and balsamic vinegar. It’s lovely.

So because I still have my Shakespeare essay to write I had a pretty work-filled afternoon. A Shakespearean afternoon.

This essay is worth 100% of the module (1o credits) so it’s quite important. The photo shows essay planning my way, i.e. notes and books spread across the bed. I do try to work at my desk as much as possible but after a while my back and hips start screaming at me and invariably I transfer to my bed.

Now lately I’ve been reading quite a lot about how your bed and the area around it should be reserved purely for sleep and relaxation as this helps you to fall asleep more easily at night. The sources suggest that you shouldย separateย your sleep and restful space from the space you work in. Well I have to say this kind of worried me a little, as in my little uni bedroom my bed and my desk are only a metre apart. Now to me this doesn’t sound very separated… I doubt it’s the reason I don’t sleep well though! But it does show me that perhaps I should try to work more at my desk instead of on my bed.

What do you all think?

One thing I have been doing to create a more soothing atmosphere in my room this week is lighting this every evening:

My lovely apple scented candle. It gives off such a pretty light. I have to say the scent isn’t particularly strong so it’s more of a decorative candle but it was incredibly cheap from Ikea so I can’t really complain! I really want to buy a couple of lovely scented candles for my room at uni now but I’m worried they’d set the fire alarms off.

Anyway it’s definitely bed time for me, my eyelids are starting to droop!

Do any students (or any of you who were recently at uni) find going back after Christmas particularly difficult?
What do you think about my sleep conundrum?
What do you do to make your bedroom relaxing? Any scented candles you can recommend?

ย 

10 comments

  1. Any chance you’d share step by step instructions for that delicious looking pasta/salad? ๐Ÿ™‚ I have the ingredients but i’m gonna need a little more help Lol

  2. I have not yet left the nest I call home (yikes I know) so I don’t know what it’s like to leave and go back to school, but I can imagine it being difficult. That pasta dish..had me drooling..and candles always help me to relax especially aroma therapy scents.

  3. I’m sorry you are having a bit of unease about going back to school ๐Ÿ˜ฆ If it helps at all for me to tell you, I really and truly do understand! The best advice I can give you is to go back with a positive attitude and try to adjust and all of that… and if you still don’t like it after the semester, you can always change your locations! it is possible to change the course of our lives and be happy is the most important thing! I transferred schools closer to home after a year at another school and it was the best decision I have ever made.

  4. Ooh, lucky you getting to study Shakespeare in first year – I’ve had to wait until my final semester in fourth year! And I must say, university becomes much easier once you move into your own flat/house with your friends. Nicer rooms, more space… nice and homey ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

