The Power of Song

Hello lovely readers!

If I’d posted this yesterday evening I may well have been a bit grumpy. You see, yesterday was a day of work. A day of pretty-much-no-stop work to be precise. I was productive which is a positive thing of course, but I was also in a lot of pain from being sat a desk most of the time so it kind of negated that feeling you get from having worked well. But, since then, I have perked up considerably.

Yesterday morning I woke up what my mum would call ‘a reasonable time’ (i.e. before 9.30am) and managed to get up and at my desk working within the hour. I still have endless sources to trawl through but this in itself is a good thing really, there’s nothing worse than not having enough critical material to draw on.

Aren’t old books beautiful? I got this out of the uni library before I left for Christmas and I think it is one of the loveliest books I’ve ever used. The cover is hard with gentle edges, the gold writing still as clear as when it was first printed, the pages are cream, soft and have that sort of musty, comforting smell. It feels nice to hold and slowly turn the pages.

Today I’m back at my work, rain is gently pattering against the slanted windows above me and I’m listening to Laura Marling as I start to type up my essay. It feels good to write for hours, I haven’t really had to in recent months and although I’m feeling a little stressed it still feels good. This is what I’m good at after all, I can read and I can write.

I’m struck by a particular post-it up on my wall next to me:

Even though doing two essays in one week seems an insurmountable of work for me, as I can’t sit at a desk for hours at a time, this quotation always reminds me that I can actually do it, and, in the words of Shakespeare, ‘where there is a will, there is a way’!

And what cheered me up yesterday? My 8.30pm hour long singing lesson.

I adore singing.

There is nothing like it in the world for me. I put my heart and soul into every note, every word. It takes all of my concentration and yet I kind of feel like I’m floating.

No longer having regular singing lessons and no longer having any exams to pass has actually freed up my voice. Even though we work on difficult pieces which require hours of work, I don’t feel any pressure and so they become fun.

To cheer me up today unfortunately I have no singing planned but I do have this:

These are biscuits from my childhood that my mum and I decided to buy on a whim in France. It’s a delicious light, buttery biscuit topped with dark chocolate. A Petit Écolier. They just taste so good, I’ve been having one everyday to power me through my work.

Anyway speaking of work, back to the essay writing…

Hope you’re all having a fantastic week!

What activity never fails to cheer you up?
Do you have any little treats from your childhood that you still like to indulge in?
Any other good quotations to help me power through my work this week?

 

15 comments

  1. That biscuit looks delicious! I don’t remember any specific treats from childhood – maybe skittles and I still like them 🙂
    Seeing that book takes me back to my uni days. I used to spend hours in the library trawling through old books – I love the smell.
    I think it’s amazing that you can sing – I always think of singing as something very uplifting and liberating … even though I only do it in the car!

  2. I love old books too, there’s just something so exciting about hearing the flipping of the crinkly pages or the spine opening 🙂 I don’t think I could ever get one of those digital book reader things, I love the real ones too much haha!
    That quote on your wall is awesome, too! I’m totally pasting that up asap 🙂

  3. You remind me of Belle 🙂 I love it. Old books, singing and waking up early! I love your stickie note, people are going to pin that photo, you just wait 😉 I love and admire your optimism and I think you’ve inspired me today – I’m going to sing for fun too!!!!

  4. I love the sticky note! What a great reminder. I’m admire you for loving to sing! I wish I could sing but I’m tone death and sound like a whining baby haha. I love food that brings me back to my childhood. I’ve really been craving Little Debbie’s Honeybuns! I’m going to recreate them soon. Cooking/baking relives stress and cheers me up! Along with blogging and just relaxing. Or looking up recipes 🙂

  5. Too many sources=waaay better than not enough. This makes me miss writing critical papers! Okay, okay, I’m completely an English dork. Who can’t sing to save her life, I’m jealous of you having skills! For me, reading a good book always cheers me up. As does baking cookies. Because I love the process, AND I love the final result!

Leave a Reply

