What (I Wish) I Ate Wednesday

It’s Wednesday (for those of you who didn’t realise) and therefore it’s WIAW! The day we all get to indulge in some guilt-free food nosiness all thanks to the lovely Jenn, who I’ve heard has been partying it up with Ryan Gosling 😉

Now unfortunately I spent the day at uni giving a presentation and working so my food was pretty boring and I didn’t get a chance to photograph it. But, because I do love WIAW, I thought I’d share with you all what I wish I’d eaten today, going on my food cravings at the moment!

My very favourite weetabix mush: simply topped with raspberries. Don’t those berries look gorgeous and juicy? I adore raspberries, I don’t think I could ever get bored of eating them. In my opinion their only downside is that they can’t really be cooked in desserts the way other fruits can. Otherwise I’m pretty sure I’d declare them to be perfect.

For lunch on my ideal day I know just what I would have:

Again, very simple but it combines to of my favourite eats at the moment: pasta and roast veg. I’d eat this everyday if it wasn’t for the fact that I do love a bit of variety. I’ll probably be eating this sort of meal weekly when I’m back at uni, only with wholewheat pasta! I just get a big roasting tin and pile up chopped peppers, courgette, aubergine, tomatoes, carrots, sweet potatoes, squash, any vegetable I can get my hand on really, then add chopped onions, garlic and olive oil and roast for about 40 minutes – an hour. Easy as pie, tasty and healthy!

Now I’ve always eaten an afternoon snack, even as a young child, so being one of tradition (slightly contradicting the whole variety thing right now)…

I’m on a bit of a grapes kick at the moment and one of my childhood favourites is French brioche with blackberry jam. It just reminds me of being in my grandmother’s kitchen in northern France having this for ‘goûter’ 🙂

Dinner would have to be a family favourite: tarragon and mustard chicken, served with home-cooked chips and salad. As a lovely meal to share with the family, it just doesn’t get much better! Don’t get me wrong, I love my healthy food, I love my veg, but not everyone at home is such a massive fan so this is special to me because everybody loves it. I’ll have to get the tarragon chicken recipe up on the blog because it really is a delicious sauce.

And to finish off? Well I’d quite like a repeat of this dessert from the restaurant the other day please. Pure heaven on a plate really.

If you could choose anything to eat today, what would it be?
Do you have an absolute favourite food that you could eat everyday?
What’s the best thing you’ve eaten this week?

I just want to say a massive thank you to everyone who commented on yesterday’s post to wish me luck or to cheer me up, you all made my day 🙂 And the presentation went without a hitch so thank you for all of the support!

 

27 comments

  1. That brioche with jam looks so yummy! “It just reminds me of being in my grandmother’s kitchen in northern France” <– don't you love it when a food gives you nostalgia? 🙂
    If I could have anything today, I would've wanted my mom's lasagna!

  2. I love all of the meals! It looks so scrumptious! Roasted veggies on top of some pasta sounds like a simple and delicious meal. I got to try that out. Also the dessert at the end look incredible and so fancy. Love!

    I’m glad the presentation went well! 🙂

  3. If I could chose anything it would probably beee a really big & juicy burger with fries! Luckily I get to fulfill my craving soon 🙂 That chicken sounds delicious! I would love to make it when you post the recipe. I’m always looking for new chicken ideas because I consume it so much, I need variety! I can eat Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butter like it’s my job! I eat about 1/4 a cup of it every day, ya know, for good health 😉

  4. Your lunch looks so perfect… roasted veggies like that are just my favorite! If I didn’t give a hoot about calories and all of that, I would have a a few slices of really awesome pizza for myself! After having it the other day, I want moreeeee 🙂

  5. I’m glad your presenation went well!

    I like this post – the wish I ate post. Very cute 🙂 And not to mention delicious looking!

    I could definitely eat pasta and roasted veggies for every meal of every day. YUM.

  6. Mmm – all that looks so good, especially that pasta dish. I eat an orange everyday and usually have some sort of salad. I’m on a real nut kick at the moment too – cashews and almond in particular. Oh, I could eat chocolate everyday too of course 🙂

Leave a Reply

