A Bit of a Hash

Sorry for the rather cheesy title but it is appropriate for our dinner tonight πŸ˜›

But first, so that things are in the right order, here is breakfast:

Not particularly a ‘breakfast of champions’ but it’ll do me fine. I may have over egged the milk about but meh, I’m not one to waste things.

Today was a bit ‘meh’ though.

I won’t dwell on it, because that would be boring. Lets just say it involved a lack of productivity and two naps. And a great deal of fatigue and frustration in equal measures. I guess the journey to and from uni really took it out of me. Damn you fibromyalgia!!

But that’s enough of that, I refuse to let it get me down any further today. Especially as I have to draw on my mental resolve because I’m travelling again tomorrow!

Tomorrow morning my mum and I are on the road to visit my grandparents in northern France for the weekend. That means a drive, then a ferry and then another drive. But it’s worth it for two main reasons: getting to spend the time with my mum, and getting to see my grandparents, whom I miss a lot and don’t get to see very often.

So, onto that ‘hash’ I was talking about…

This is a dish taken from Jamie Oliver’s 30 Minute Meals. It’s a beef hash with carrots, celery, onions and rosemary along withΒ butter beans, bacon and tomato. It’s a really tasty dish and definitely a real comfort food.

So I’m afraid I won’t be posting tomorrow, I’m taking the evening off (sort of). But I have the review of the book I’ve been promising to tell you all about on Saturday so be sure to check it out πŸ™‚

Do you enjoy travelling? (And IΒ don’t mean the fun kind of holiday travelling!)
What foods do you turn to for comforting dinners in the winter?

18 comments

  1. That looks delicious! I love Jamie’s 30 Minute Meals, even if he was a bit overzealous with his application of olive oil haha. And I never understood what all the fuss was about when people complained because it took them longer than 30 minutes.

    Have a lovely time in France!

    I’m loving the little signature on the end of your posts πŸ™‚

  2. I LOVE traveling! I wish I could do it more often, but with school and all of the responsibilities I have in south Florida, it’s hard to get away sometimes 😦

    1. I do enjoy traveling for pleasure, although only when it’s a reasonably nice time of the year. And I get what you mean about having responsibilities – it’s difficult to just be spontaneous and decide to go somewhere!

  3. I wish I could travel more often! I’ve never been out of the U.S. and I’m dying to see other parts of the world. Most of the traveling I do is between home and my college, which is 2 1/2 hours away, and it’s not the most fun car trip!

    1. I’ve never been out of Europe and would love to travel to another continent so I’m with you on wanting to see other parts of the world! That doesn’t sound like a fun journey 😦 I prefer traveling by train than car.

  4. I do enjoy traveling, but only now that I have it more “under my belt” so to speak, and am a bit older. When I was in college I went to Ghana for my study abroad, and that was really really hard just because everything about it was so new and different.

  5. I really don’t like to travel, I’m more of a homebody. I like being with my closest friends and my boyfriend. I do love seeing my grandma and my relatives but most live in the same state as me so I don’t have to travel too far. I would however go some places in a snap if I was able to! That meal looks really unique and delicious! I wish you safe travels and I hope your days get better! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

