Back.

Well I’m back at uni. It’s just for one night though, I have my presentation tomorrow afternoon so I had to get the train up today and then I’m going home again tomorrow evening for another week and a half.

I don’t really know how I feel being back.

I can’t say it makes me particularly happy, I already feel isolated because I haven’t really got any close friends here and I miss my friends from back home so much! And I’m still missing Tom of course, that hurts the most but I’m more used to it I guess.

Anyway, I’m not going to dwell on the negative!

This morning I had a lie in (not extreme don’t worry – only till 9am) and a leisurely breakfast:

Weetabix mush as always, with a sprinkling of fresh blueberries. I know that will be one thing I really miss when I’m at uni again properly: fresh fruit. I just can’t really afford to buy anything other than apples and bananas and I don’t even like eating raw apples that much.

I spent the morning working on my English language assignment (nearly nearly finished!) and packing. I’m sort of enjoying being very busy with work, sort of not. I used to love being busy, if I had a really productive day then usually I have a happy day. But now when I work for most of the day it means I have very little energy to do anything else. So in a way it’s good that I have little social life for the next couple of weeks as Tom and all of my friends have gone back to uni! It’s just a bit draining too.

My mum brought me back a lovely pasta salad from town to have for lunch. It was a pesto, spinach, and tomato pasta salad. Sometimes I find pesto can be overpowering which ruins the dish but this was really light, they hadn’t smothered the pasta in it. It was actually pretty healthy for a pesto dressing too! It’s nice to have a treat for lunch, especially seeing how I have pretty much no food at uni so dinner isn’t going to be very exciting.

I used to really enjoy train journeys but now I just find them exhausting. But at least I was occupied along the way:

My Kindle is proving to have been a really excellent idea for a Christmas present! I really love using it, in fact I use it everyday. It will never replace real books, the way for me, typing on the computer hasn’t replaced writing by hand. Books are still special to me, in a way having the Kindle makes them more special. I don’t really like the way books have become so consumerist, paperbacks are often just seen asΒ disposableΒ and I really hate waste. With the Kindle you can buy the cheap books you’d usually by as paperbacks, the trashy novels etc for less and they don’t waste paper, and chose to just buy books that you really love. I hope they start printing more books like these:

{source}

Isn’t it beautiful? I’ve noticed that increasingly books are being reprinted with lovely clothbound covers. I think they’d be wonderful to collect, to keep for years and treasure.

Anyway I’m pretty tired and I want to run over my presentation again before I go to bed so I’m going to say goodnight.

What do you think of electronic books? Will they replace traditional books?
Do you still buy books from bookshops?

P.s. I hope my foodie followers don’t mind all of these posts about books! I love literature, what can I say, I’m an English Literature student πŸ™‚

27 comments

    1. That’s one of the great things about the Kindle, although it works like a computer, there is no light coming from the screen so whilst this means you need an external light to read from it, it doesn’t cause headaches! Thank you chick πŸ™‚

  1. Sophie, I really hope your presentation goes well tomorrow. I’m sure that you’re well rehearsed and will do great! Just stay confident!

    I love that you’re doing more posts about books. While the food and health aspect of your blog is nice, I’ve really been enjoying the other aspects too.

    Personally, I still like to buy hard copies of books, but I can definitely see electronic versions become more popular. I’m really thinking about getting a kindle soon..they’re just so convenient and portable!

    1. It wasn’t as bad as I thought so thank you Anna πŸ™‚ I’m glad you’re enjoying the book posts, I love writing about literature as it’s one of my greatest passions!

      I definitely still like to buy hard copies of books too, they’re much more special. But now I only buy them if I really like the book!

      Kindles are great, I’d definitely recommend getting one πŸ™‚

  2. I loveee pesto especially in pasta ❀ I love how kindles don't waste, too. I also love how books are right at your fingertips and you don't have to make a special trip out to get a new one. That can be reaally dangerous for your wallet though haha. Good luck on your presentation tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  3. Your wheatabix mush always looks so delicious to me! I love that consistency.

    I’m still on paper books but I would love an e-reader. It seems so easy…and instantaneous. I would love to be able to read something at the moment I think I want to read it!

    1. I love unique bindings too, I just adore books with beautiful covers. The thing is I could never afford them if I wanted to buy books regularly and now that I’m buying books for much cheaper on the Kindle, I can save and buy gorgeous books to keep forever πŸ™‚

  4. Love those book covers, I was cooing over them in waterstones a few weeks ago. I think second term really is the hardest one of uni. I get homesick in winter term and I never really get homesick, I think it’s because you miss home comforts when it’s cold and you’re wearing 10 hoodies trying to write an essay with blue hands. Keep going chick, this is the term that your friends will start turning in to your close friends. If you ever want to get away maybe we could meet up some time, it’s about 3 hours from you to me so maybe we could meet in the middle. Hope your presentation goes well xxx

    1. They’re gorgeous aren’t they, if I could I’d have all of my books like those! I think you’re right about the cold and things not helping, I hate that it gets dark so quickly and that I’m too cold to write properly.

      I hope you’re right, I’d really like to try to meet some more people and find a nice group of friends! We have our refreshers fair the week I get back so I want to join in with a few more things πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for all of your Leigh, it means a lot πŸ™‚ I think meeting up would be really fun! We should definitely try to at some point! ❀

  5. I have a kindle and am obsessed with it… so convenient!
    And I am sorry that you are still homesick and not really feeling it! I know I keep saying this, but I truly believe it will continue to improve and you will just feel more comfortable there as time goes on!
    I hope your presentation goes well lady ❀

  6. I can see a Kindle being useful for school textbooks or travel, but I love reading from a physical book. The paper, binding, smell…it kind of makes me sad that it’s being replaced by electronic books. Then again, this is coming from someone who works at a used bookstore and whose bedroom mostly consists of bookshelves, so I’m probably not the best person to ask about electronic books. πŸ™‚ Good luck on your presentation!

    1. I love reading from real books too but with my condition sometimes my wrists can get quite bad so the kindle is great for that! I do know exactly what you mean, my bedroom is just the same πŸ™‚ Thank you!

  7. I haven’t jumped on the kindle train yet, because I think they’re going to ruin my fun with reading and turning the pages!

  8. If you aren’t a huge raw apple fan–try microwaving sliced apples with a smidge of water and cinnamon for quick “baked” apples–they’re amazing on top of oatmeal and I’m sure other cereal as well.

    And I just love paper books, I don’t know if I’ll ever adjust to these new-fangled readers πŸ™‚

      1. Whoop, glad I could help! I definitely want to hear a review once you give it a try! The microwave trick saves me in winter, when I still want apples but can’t stand to bit into the flavorless mealy apples that are all the grocery stores have in stock.

  9. I love my kindle for reading books that I would usually just pick up, read and then never read again. It doesn’t replace classic books that you want to keep, and cookery books are rubbish on a kindle!
    I hope your presentation went well πŸ™‚

    1. That’s one of the reasons I love my kindle too, it’s so practical and far less wasteful. I agree that cookery books are rubbish on kindle, it takes away what I love: pouring over endless photos of gorgeous food πŸ˜›
      Thank you Sarah, it went quite well πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

