Finding the Time to Read

My 2012 resolution no.8 is to “Read more. Write more. Blog more. Devote my time to words.”

I really want to find the time to read, I want to devote more time to words, and in this spirit I bought myself this:

Isn’t it pretty?

The aim is for it to a) motivate me to read extra books, books which aren’t part of my course and b) to hold me accountable – what is the point of having such a lovely journal if I don’t read any books to fill it with?

I love notebooks and I’m aware that I’m perfectly capable of using an ordinary notebook and writing in all of the books I read.

But, would a normal notebook have this inside it:

I don’t think so!

I know it might seem silly, but I love having things neat and ‘just so’. It’s the ridiculously fussy perfectionist part of me.

And the first few books I have in mind?

The Tiger’s Wife – Téa Obreht

  I’ve heard some really fantastic things about this book and I’m really intrigued. It’s not necessarily what I would usually choose but I decided that, with so many people singing its praises, I should give it a chance to impress me too.

In Between the Sheets – Ian McEwan

I love Ian McEwan’s writing so fancied trying another of his books and this one seemed quite different to the ones I’ve already read. I hope he succeeds in captivating me with his words again.

Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro

Would you believe that I’ve never read any of his work before? But I’ve heard so much about the beauty of his writing that I just had to get one of his novels. Possibly looking forward to trying this one the most!

So there you have the next three books that I’m planning to read next. I’ve got a list longer than arm of books I want to read and I desperately want to find the time to read for pleasure more often.

Hopefully now that I have my pretty little book journal I’ll have more motivation to make the time 🙂

Do you have a list of books that you want to read?
Any recommendations for me?

I really want to try reading a few non-fiction books too, especially on food, fitness or health, so if anyone could recommend any that were particularly striking I’d be very grateful!

 

26 comments

  1. I’ve always wanted to read “never let me go” so I can’t wait to hear how you like it! I’m going to miss my free reading time a lot this semester, I’ll have to squeeze some in somehow heehee 😉

    1. I’ll review it as soon as I’ve read it so you can judge how I found it 🙂 I know just what you mean, I get so caught up in reading the books for my course that I rarely get a chance to read for pleasure!

  2. Finding time to read was my problem too. I created my blog “Books From My Closet” because I would obsessively buy books but never get to them. The blog has helped me get back to reading. I try to read every night, for at least 45 minutes. For 2011, I read 12 books, which in the grand scheme of my book collection, isn’t much, but that was 12 books more than what I read before. Where did you get your book journal? I love keeping journals of any kind and that would be awesome to record my reviews manually on top of blogging about them. My blog is http://www.booksfrommycloset.wordpress.com.

  3. I love this new book journal idea! I’m a bit of a perfectionist as well, and I can see why you like a specific journal to document your readings.

    Your book selections look great by the way! I’m glad you’ve already picked out several to read..I always have trouble finding a good book!

    Have you read the Bell Jar by Slyvia Plath? It’s a bit eery, but for some reason I loved it. Oh, and another one of my favorites is The Stranger by Albert Camus..once again, another weird-ish novel, but so good! I guess I like psychological novels that really make me think!

    1. Thank you Anna! I know, I can’t help it, I can be so fussy about these things 😛 Well I will try to recommend more books in future and maybe start writing some reviews on the blog. No I haven’t but it’s on my list of books to read! And I’m really keen to try something my Camus, my mum has read them all and loved them. If you like psychological novels then I’d recommend ‘The Turn of the Screw’ by Henry James – it really plays with your mind 🙂

    1. It’s really pretty isn’t it? I wanted to keep it so that in a few years time, I know which books really marked me so that I can read them again 🙂 I checked out your link, great book recommendations!

    1. No I agree there really isn’t, I love having the crisp, white pages to record my thoughts and musings 🙂 It’s a good goal, I think reading is a great source of enrichment!
      Welcome to my blog, thank you for visiting 🙂

  4. I love the book journal, it’s a really good idea! I haven’t read any of the books you mentioned here though, I’ve been meaning toread Never Let Me Go for ages but I’m always forgetting.

  5. I love the idea of a book journal. I’m so tempted to get one, even though I’m not sure that I need another notebook in my life… I’ve never read any of those books, though they all look fantastic. I’ve read a few of McEwan’s novels, and my opinions are pretty mixed, and I’ve read When We Were Orphans by Ishiguro which was great.

    I have a never-ending list of books to read. One I’d like to read soon is The Behaviour of Moths by Poppy Adams.

    Are you on Goodreads?

    1. Well if you can’t help yourself, mine is from Paperchase 😉 I have rather a few notebooks too, I love them, I think I may even be addicted! I’d be really interested to hear what you think of McEwan’s work. You’ve just given me two more books to add to my never ending list!
      No I’m not, it looks tempting though! Bit worried it would end up becoming another addiction though 😛

  6. I am really looking forward to these book reviews myself. I love this idea 🙂 I am not really one with words, as you may have noticed from my blog 😛 but I love reading so please let me know what you think 🙂

  7. I have a really bad habit of judging books by their cover–BUT, I would definitely read the books here…all the covers are aesthetically pleasing 😉

  8. I love that journal. I’ve had various book journals, but I’m really bad at writing in them!
    I’ve read Never Let Me Go and loved it. I’m reading When God Was a Rabbit at the moment and whizzing through it because it’s so good!

  9. The Tiger’s Wife is on my to-read list, too. But my mom has my copy right now, so I have to wait for her to finish first…Oh well, it’ll make me tackle a few other things I should read.

Leave a Reply

