A Letter to… My 14 Year-Old Self

Dear 14 year-old me,

This is 18 year-old me, your future self. I want to give you some advice, it could change your life for the better.

I know things are tough right now. You feel like you don’t fit in, you don’t think you look right, work is difficult and you have more homework than there seems to be time, there are all sorts of friend dramas. But these things do fluctuate and actually, those issues will get better, I promise.

Life isn’t really about fitting in with the crowd, even though that may seem to be the primary aim of everyone around you. Funnily enough being you is so much more important, try just fitting into your own skin. You are you and that is enough, that is wonderful. There are things that you want to change about how you look. Right now you wish your hair was straight and your breasts were bigger. Would you believe that in just four years time you’ll adore having curly hair and when you lose a cup-size you’ll be perfectly happy with your “handful”? Well you will, trust me.

Work is difficult, that’s just how the world works. And homework sucks. But it’s so worth it, just keep working hard, stay organised, learn as much as you can. It will pay off and then you will feel so good about getting the grades that you deserve. And you will, trust me.

Friendship dramas? I wish I could tell you that eventually those won’t exist but I’m afraid that wouldn’t quite be true. I guess it is just human nature. But they will become less dramatic, they will feel less extreme. Just learn how to tell what is really important and what you can ignore. Nurture your relationships. Some will fade over time but some will stay as strong as ever. You will meet new people and form amazing relationships with new friends. You’ll learn what really counts in friendships. Trust me.

Now I have a few words of advice for you about the future, after all, I already now how this story goes. Things are going to get much more difficult and you are going to struggle. One day you will realise that there was so much in your life that you took advantage of. Life isn’t always “fair” and you’ll just have to deal with it. Sometimes life gives you lemons. But for everyone, life carries on. And so will yours.

So whilst you still can, jump on trampolines, go for long walks, run across sandy beaches, climb the stairs of a tower just because you want to see the view, rush around the shopping sales, stand and stare at art in galleries, play with small children and just dance, dance everyday!

And above all savour your health, it is one of the most precious things you have.

You’ll regret it if you don’t.

Yours truly,

Sophie, 18 year-old me, your future self.

(Me, posing, 2008)

Well I hope you’ve enjoyed the first in my Series of Letters post! Any suggestions for future letters are welcome 🙂

What would you write to your 14 year-old self?
What is the one piece of advice you wish you’d been given at that age?

20 comments

  1. This was so well written, I love it! I wish I could write a similar letter to my 14 year old self– to stop worrying about pleasing the mean cliques and learn to embrace myself for who I am.
    You’re wise beyond your years my friend! 🙂

  2. This is a great idea 🙂
    It was so interesting to read, i know i’m repeating everyone else but you really are a wonderful writer!
    Reading it reminded me a lot of myself when i was younger, especially friendship drama, haha! I think it’s something every teenage girl can relate to 🙂

  3. love your writing can’t wait to keep reading and I can’t believe you’re so young. You know a lot already 😉

    I think I would tell my 14 year old self that she is loved. She is worth something and it’s not her fault her dad drinks.

Leave a Reply

