The Day I Fell in Love with Wicked!

Oh I wish I could explain quite how much I loved last night.

It’s been a long time since I left a performance feeling quite as exhilarated, quite as emotional.

It was just magical.

But first the meal:

As part of the experience we were gifted a free pre-theatre meal at Bbar in London which was, I have to say, really quite enjoyable despite the fact that pre-theatre menus obviously have a fairly limited choice and you are in and out in less than an hour.

We ordered a starter and a main course and both were really lovely.

I chose a Caesar salad as my starter which was one of the best I’ve ever had. Despite, or maybe because of, its simplicity it was the perfect starter. It was just a plate of lettuce, little bread croutons, Parmesan and dressing but it was a lot better than just the sum of its ingredients. Something about the dressing was divine. I’ve I’d thought that the chef would have given up the recipe I would have asked!

For my main I went with ricotta ravioli in tomato and garlic sauce with fresh basil. My only complaint was that the pasta was probably a little over stuffed with the ricotta and spinach mix but other than that it was really good. The tomato sauce was lovely and the rocket salad was a great addition. Tom’s main probably stole the show though! (I’m afraid the photo I took was blurred :-() He ordered the chargrilled bbar burger which came with caramelized onion which was delicious and chips. I’m pretty sure these were some of the best chips I’ve ever eaten in my life!

So the restaurant was really good and a massive plus point was that it was just a few streets away from the theatre so we got there nice and early.

Now let me tell you, the minute I saw the green light shining from the theatre I started to feel the excitement build. And I wasn’t disappointed.

In fact, the show completely exceeded my expectations.

The entire show was just one fantastic thing after another. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a show where every single actor, including the extras, were of such a high standard. I was kept on the edge of my seat throughout the entire thing. And the music, the songs! I’m still singing them today, the amount of times I’ve listened to Defying Gravity is ridiculous!

Everything about the show was of such a high quality: the set, the special effects, the lighting, the orchestra, the actors, the singing… If you have never seen this show before then I urge you to go as soon as you can! I don’t like to make statements like this but I honestly think you’ll be hard pressed to find an Elphaba better than Rachel Tucker. She just sings so well and fits the role so perfectly. And she belts the high notes like no one’s business!

It was just such a wonderful evening. Going to London with Tom, eating a lovely meal and then going to see one of the best shows I’ve ever seen was just amazing. Tom is truly a wonderful boyfriend for giving me this experience 🙂

I know I’ll want to see it again if I can!

What’s the best show you’ve ever been to?
Any exciting plans this weekend?

22 comments

  1. OMGosh! so exxcited for you! I love all musicals. It’s a secret dream (I’ll never obtain) to be in one. I loved the Lion King, Dirty Dancing, Wicked, Phantom of the Opera, West side story, My fair lady….the list goes on and on!!!!!

    I always get after stage high 🙂 bet you have that right now based on how excited your post vibe seemed.

    Oh and that food looks YUM!

  2. I seriously love Wicked, it’s my absolute favourite musical and I think it’s genius. I have the soundtrack but am yet to see it live. One day I must. x

Leave a Reply

