Cafe, Soup and the West End

What is it about the Christmas holidays that makes them so busy?

I don’t really think I’ve had an empty day since being back home! But I enjoy having lots to do, especially as so much of it has been enjoyable.

Yesterday I got my first cycle in weeks as I met a friend in town for lunch and a spot of shopping. It felt so good to get back on my bike, I pedaled hard and fast and I loved the feeling of exerting myself physically for the first time in at least a couple of weeks. I miss exercising when I’m doing particularly badly with my back, I feel sluggish and it does nothing to help my energy levels. It’s a vicious circle really because I know exercise helps both to energize me as well as strengthening me which in turn helps with eliminatingΒ the fatigue, but at the same time sometimes and I am just in too much pain to exercise! I’m hoping that eventually, maybe with the help of some pain medication, I can get into a better exercise/rest routine.

It was also really nice to meet with my lovely friend, Ellie. She went to Sixth Form with me and we’ve been friends from the very beginning! I met her at an open day before even getting to Sixth Form and then we ended up in the same Maths class in both years. We’ve always had a lot in common and it was great to get a chance to catch up.

We went to Cafe Nero for lunch and I got penne with tomato sauce and peppers and a raspberry smoothie. Both were pretty good, I do like fruit smoothies with no yogurt or banana in them, they’re a lot less filling. Lately I’ve been having quite strong cravings for pasta, don’t know what that’s about? It’s not even a craving for carbs, it’s just pasta!

It was great because the centre of town actually wasn’t very busy for once. We had a fantastic time wondering around the shops, trying things on (only sale items of course!). I will have to do a post sometime soon with all of my purchases because I have a lot of new items to show off to you all πŸ™‚

Dinner was a lovely new soup my mum made, served alongside some ciabatta rubbed with garlic – delish.

I don’t normally like minestrone-type soups but this one was really good. I should start making soups at uni, it would be a great warm, cheap dish and I could make it in large batches so that it lasted a few days. I also might start buying Covent Garden soups which hold about three medium portions (for my appetite) because I could just heat them up for a quick, easy, and healthy lunch on days that I don’t have much time to spend preparing food.

Anyway enough about soup, I have something I’m ridiculously excited about that I want to tell you all…

I’m going to London this evening to have a lovely meal in a nice restaurant and to see Wicked in the West End!!!

And I’m going with Tom πŸ˜€

{source}

 

It’s so so exciting, I’ve only ever seen one show in London (Billy Eliot) and it was amazing and I’ve been aching to go again. The whole thing is a birthday present that Tom’s mum gave him so it’s pretty great that I get to cash in on it too! I’ve been excited about this since Christmas finished, I adore going to see shows and this one is more special what with being in London.

So yeah… Now that I’ve babbled away like an over-excited toddler I’ll say goodbye for now. I’ll be back tomorrow with tales of the evening πŸ™‚

Do you have any random cravings?
Bought anything new lately? Any fantastic sales I need to know about?
Have you seen any big shows?

Sophie x

22 comments

  1. I can very easily eat a whole carton of Covent Garden soup to myself and regularly do πŸ™‚ I saw Wicked a few years ago when Peter bought us tickets for Christmas. I loved it as did Peter – he loved the amazing set design, as well as the songs and the story. In fact he’s seen it again without me!

  2. I’ve seen wicked! It’s pretty good. I’ve also seen Monty Python and the holy grail and Mama Mia all on Broadway in NYC. I loved em, they’re so much fun and all the actors are crazy good. Have a great night girl! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

