Restaurant Disappointments and Successes

Do you ever get tired?

I’m tired. In fact, frankly, I’m completely and utterly exhausted.

But I don’t feel like complaining so instead I’m just going to detail my evening at the restaurant with my parents.

Because of a long day for everyone we decided on the spur of the moment to go out for a meal. We picked a restaurant we used to go to occasionally but haven’t really been to in a while called Brasserie Gerard. I was worried that at this point in the day we might struggle to get a table but it turns out I needn’t have worried, all of the restaurants we passed on the way were almost empty! Perhaps it is because tomorrow is New Year’s Eve so anyone who has plans for a meal is going out then? Either way it made for a rather unusual Friday evening restaurant experience.

To start I decided to go with a simple classic: king prawns in butter and parsley sauce with peppers, lemon and baguette. It was pretty good, the prawns tasted fairly fresh and the butter sauce was surprisingly light.

For my main course I went for what the menu described as “Ratatouille wrapped in brick pastry served with roasted sweet potato”. It was… interesting. The spinach and pesto was great. The sweet potato averagely tasty. But that is were the okay part of the dish ended. Normally I love ratatouille but this was unfortunately lacking salt which is, lets face it, vital for veg. And it could have done with something extra like garlic. And the “brick pastry”? Well correct me if I’m wrong but isn’t it supposed to be like filo pastry? This was more like a pancake and a slightly burnt and soggy pancake at that.

Now I don’t want to put anyone off the restaurant, the food is normally really good and both of my parents’ main courses were nice. I just think that the issue was the lack of customers. There were only two other tables in the restaurant! And we were there from 7.30pm till 9.30pm so I can’t imagine there were many, if any, others. The lack of people to cook for must have meant that the staff spent a lot of time standing around with little to do and I’m sure this impacted their cooking. Anyway the experience was made up for by dessert:

Tarte Tatin. It’s pretty much my favourite dessert. If it’s on the menu I’m 99% guaranteed to order it. It’s gooey, sugary goodness is enough to make me drool (well, almost). I just adore the soft-centred caramelized apples. And even if this one was almost definitely brought in it was delicious. I must learn to make them myself! When I perfect my own I’ll have to share the recipe because it really is one of the yummiest desserts ever. No exaggeration.

Anyway, now that I’ve babbled on about my absolute favourite dessert I think it’s time I said goodnight, I really need to get some more sleep!

What is your absolute favourite dessert?
Have you tried any new restaurants lately? Success or Disappointment?

Sophie x

7 comments

  1. ooh that food looks delish! sorry your dinner was only mediocre. youd think if there were barely any customers that they would have time to put in extra effort! my favorite dessert..that’s a tough one! i love fresh baked choc chip cookies, or anything super chocolatey for that matter (like a brownie sundae). yum!

  2. CHEESECAKE of any shape or form…..I’d eat it every day if I could. Your site is looking amazing. I need help constructing mine. sigh. I hope you had a great christmas Sophie! xo

  3. I hate it when you order somethign really disappointing at a restaurant, especially if what everyone else has ordered looks delicious!
    My favourite dessert of all time would have to be some sort of fruit crumble – perhaps rhurbarb in the spring.

  4. Mmm great food to say the least… I would have ordered a similar entree… we have the same tastes Sophie! And goodness, that dessert does sound fabulous! I have never tried something like that, but perhaps it would be my new favorite if I did! On that note, a warm chocolate cake with ice cream is probably a favorite of mine, or a fruit cobbler/crisp, blueberry specifically!

Leave a Reply

