What I Ate Wednesday No.21 – Christmas Edition

Okay first of all I’m sorry for disappearing for three days (I know it’s not like a job or anything but I don’t like not writing to some kind of schedule!). The Christmas period has been a) pretty busy and more importantly b) absolutely lovely so I’ve not really had the time to read many blogs, let alone write a post myself.

Now I promised I would show you all the wonderful things I indulged in over Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and so I thought, what better way to do it than by a What I Ate Wednesday Christmas Day post!

Thank you yet again to the lovely Jenn for bringing us WIAW 🙂

So here it is merry Christmas…

Christmas Eve:

Dressed crab with an avocado salad for starter. Light, fresh and delicious. I adore crab, it’s one of my absolute favourites when it comes to seafood. It has such a lovely subtle flavour and a rather light and tender texture. It is perfectly complimented by the avocado which was dressed with spring onion, chili and lemon juice. You’ll notice that rather large blog of mayonnaise on the side of the plate, call me unsophisticated but I love mayo with crab, it’s somewhat retro but I just think it works!

The main course was crowned by a deliciously tender piece of guinea fowl served alongside of roast potatoes, honey roasted root vegetables (turnip, parsnip and carrots), steamed Brussels sprouts and a generous lug of gravy poured over the lot. It’s one of my favourite meals, honestly I can’t really think of a meal I look forward to more. The food is superb, the anticipation and excitement for Christmas is mounting and the company is wonderful. Here’s what the evening is really about:

Family.

My lovely father and sister, Christmas Eve is all about the four of us being together as a family and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

My beautiful mother 🙂

We had my parents to thank for this delicious meal and it was finished with a fresh and festive flair (I love alliterations :-P)

Fruit salad made up of mango, lychees, passion fruit and pomegranate. It was the perfect way to end a simply perfect meal.

Christmas Day:

Toasted brioche with blackberry jelly. Rather tasty.

Christmas crackers: an essential part of Christmas lunch.

Our less than conventional Christmas lunch: luxurious smoked salmon on brown bread, spicy spring rolls, prawn filo parcels, tasty bread-crumbed chicken, and incredibly moreish tomato vol-au-vents. It was tasty and quite a treat, I find it difficult to believe that anyone would say no to some party food! But the best part of this meal had to be the dessert:

Ice cream Christmas pudding! Isn’t it a fabulous idea? It had three layers: chocolate, vanilla and praline. It was really yummy, there is no other word for it, and it was quite exciting to cut through it. I particularly liked our incredibly tasteful decorations 😉

So there you have it, my Christmas food from this year’s wonderful celebrations. I had a really amazing time and the food certainly contributed to that!

I hope you all had a really fantastic time this Christmas period 🙂

Happy Wednesday!

What was the best thing you had to eat during the Christmas period?
Which foods do you simply have to eat each year to get into the Christmas spirit?

Sophie x

P.s. Don’t forget to check out my new Facebook page (and like it)!

15 comments

  1. That ice cream pudding looks divine! Genius idea! Everything I ate this Christmas was fabulous and I enjoyed every bite of everything…possibly a little too much, but thankfully it only comes around once a year…otherwise it would be hard to resist so many goodies.

  2. All that food looks so elegant and delicious! You looked gorgeous on Christmas eve, I love your pearls! I’m glad you had a fantastic holiday filled with good food and loved ones. This was my first year doing the “crackers” at my boyfriends aunts house and it was the first time I’ve even heard about them. So that was kinda cool! I ate so much yummy stuff during Christmas/Christmas eve! Some of my favorites were pumpkin bread, peanut butter rolls, shortbreads, sugar cookie blondies, and homemade mac n cheese! 🙂

  3. wowwww everything looks good! and even those avocadoes, I’d be happy with just those! 😛 You and your sis look soooooo much alike! At first I wasn’t sure if it was you or a sister of yours hehe. And Merry Belated Christmas Sophie!

Leave a Reply

