Truly Scrumptious

Yesterday was just lovely.

After having been away for the past eleven weeks, spending the day at home and knowing that I’m going to be here for the next month was so wonderful. And we really did have a nice day.

I’ve been here no more than 48 hours and already I feel infinitely more relaxed!

There is something about enjoying breakfast at a leisurely pace, undisturbed, just being able to savour every bite. Back at uni I tend to eat my breakfast in my bedroom whilst getting ready for lectures. I usually swallow it all down in a few minutes and can’t take the time to put together anything particularly special. Or else I wake up and it is already 10am and then breakfast and lunch blur together and I end up eating something completely unsatisfying just to make sure I do eat, certainly nothing deserving of the title brunch. But here I could eat my weetabix mush topped with raisins and granola and my glass of fresh orange juice at the table, with the window throwing beautiful sunshine into the room.

The morning was filled with preparations for lunch. And what a lunch we had. My granddad was coming and I haven’t seen him since before I left for uni so I was really looking forward to a lovely family meal. I helped my mother prepare the side dishes and I made the dessert whilst my father prepared the meat. It was so nice to be in the kitchen cooking with my parents again.

Doesn’t that look delicious? Honey and mustard glazed roast ham studded with cloves, dauphinoise potatoes, steamed brussels, and red cabbage and apple. It was the best meal I’ve had in weeks, indulgent, comforting and truly scrumptious. And it really felt like Christmas too.

I piled my plate high with the red cabbage and apple, it is just the most delicious combination ever, the juices from both combine, the soft, juicy pieces of apple get dyed to a gorgeous red-purple and it tastes so good. It really goes so well with the roast ham which my dad is the king of. The glaze is amazing and it seeps through that layer of fat and flavours the meat wonderfully. And don’t even get me started on those potatoes. It is really the most indulgent dish. It’s full of cream and flavoured with garlic. I’m not usually a fan of cream, I never have it with any desserts, almost always favouring yogurt or ice cream over it, but here nothing could be better. It is most certainly not a healthy dish, and it makes absolutely no effort to pose as one. But perhaps that’s what makes it quite so delicious, you know as you’re eating it that it is pure indulgence.

Dauphinoise Potatoes

1kg waxy potatoes
300ml double cream
300ml single cream
2 large cloves of garlic
knob of butter
salt & pepper

  • Pre-heat oven to 170ºC/340ºF.
  • Peel and thinly slice potatoes. You want them close to the thickness of a coin, thicker slices won’t cook as well.
  • Grease a large ceramic (or glass) dish, then place slices of potato to form a layer over the bottom of the dish and season.
  • Then repeat this process, layering up the potato and seasoning. Thinly slice the garlic cloves and slip the pieces in between the slices of potato.
  • Once you have all of the potato and garlic slices layered in the dish pour in the cream. It should just cover all of the potatoes.
  • Place in the oven and cook for about an hour to and hour and a half until the potatoes are all cooked through, the cream has thickened and the top layer of potato has turned golden and slightly crispy.

There you have it, the post indulgent side dish of potatoes possible. Believe me you won’t regret it. It was so delicious I didn’t once stop to think about the fat and calorie content of the dish. And as you can see it is really simple to prepare.

The dessert I made was also pretty delicious. It was a pear and almond cake, I call it a cake although it is actually baked in a dish. It’s lovely and if you have a food processor (hooray for being home!) it is also really easy to make. And as I said earlier, I’m not actually normally a fan of cream so I had this with lovely Cornish ice cream. What a meal!

Well today I’m off to meet to of my dearest friends from home for some coffee and cake so I’m very much looking forward to that. It’s going to be lovely to catch up :-). I also have a double doctor’s appointment later so I’ll let you know how that goes later.

Have a great Monday everyone, I hope you all had a fantastic weekend.

Less than a week till Christmas!

What did you do this weekend?
Have you got a special indulgent dish you love?
Who else is beginning to get ridiculously excited for Christmas?

Sophie x

10 comments

  1. Wow all of this food is so delicious looking! I’m so happy you’re home and relaxed, there truly is no place like home 🙂 I’m so excited for Christmas too, I’m still in shock it’s this weekend!
    Good luck at the doctor!

  2. Sharing good food with family is a great way to unwind. Enjoy your break!

    I can’t wait for Christmas! It’s been unseasonably warm where I am, and there isn’t a speck of snow on the ground yet, so it doesn’t seem like Christmas is so near.

  3. That meal looks delicious – a great photo too! I don’t eat all that much meat, but roast ham is one of my favourites and I’m very much hoping that I’ll be eating some during the Christmas period.
    I’m at work this week, so I’m not feeling very festive at the moment, but I can’t wait to finish work and go home on Friday 🙂

  4. Wonderful meal. Do you add any particular dressing to the cabbage & apple? I want to make that salad 🙂 Good luck with your doctor’s appointment, I’m sure everything will go well. Eating good food already started this weekend for me. I tried a new Thai place Sunday night and the food was delicious!

Leave a Reply

