Oh the weather outside is frightful.

Urgh.

Seriously it’s horrible out there today!

And as luck would have it I just had to traipse to a lecture halfway across campus, boo! 😦

To be honest, the weather today reflects my mood but I don’t want to bore everyone with my moaning so instead I’m going to be full of positivity in this post!

I can’t believe it’s already the 8th December, the time is flying by (not that I’m complaining). Christmas is approaching and that alone is enough to warm my heart. In case it wasn’t already obvious, it’s by far my favourite time of the year 🙂

 

Doesn’t that pancake look delicious? I met with Natalie yesterday for lunch (a lovely girl I know from back home) and she introduced me to the wonders of the campus smoothie bar which also sells really quite tasty pancakes. I chose ham and cheese as I was feeling the savoury and got a “berry booster” – yum!

Good food always cheers me up 😛

Something else that always cheers me up? Coffee. Or pretend coffee as the friend I went to the cafe called it! I got a rather scrumptious hazelnut and cinnamon latte (who knew those two flavours mixed so well?) and a slice of banana cake which was equally tasty. I do love cafes! I love their cheery atmosphere, their warmth, their wide variety of hot, comforting food and drinks and their people watching opportunities 🙂

What do you think of my new snowflake fairy lights? I bought them when I was home last weekend because I thought they were cute and would add a nice Christmas touch to my bedroom 🙂

Along with the fairy lights I also bought some tinsel and wrapped it around my rose garland to add some more festive sparkle to my room. I think it works quite well personally! And finally I indulged in one of my favourite crafts at this time of the year:

So overall I’m quite pleased with my Christmas decorations, what’s not to like about advent calendars, fairy lights, tinsel and paper snowflakes??

Have you put up your Christmas decorations yet?
My family is waiting for me before putting up the Christmas tree which is lovely as it’s one of my favourite Christmas preparations!

Have you got a favourite warm drink from this time of year?
Or a favourite Christmas craft?

Sophie x

27 comments

  1. Sorry to hear about the lame weather, I hate those kind of gloomy days. But I looovvee those happy little lights and your paper snowflakes! Those snowflakes are always so much fun to make! 😀

  2. The weather was a bit of shock coming home from Rome today!
    I love your decorations – they’re so pretty. I don’t even have any decorations for my house – I think I at least need to get some tinsel!
    I’m obsessed by cafes – I always have a decaf skinny latte … I’m very predictable 🙂

  3. I love making paper snowflakes!!! And your berry smoothie and savory pancake look delicious! I really want some like right now lol. My Christmas decor is mostly up. I love this time of year as well! 🙂

  4. I love this time of year. The hustle and bustle of the holidays, the cute little jingles on the radio, the gorgeous decorations, and the spirit can’t be beat! The fun holiday flavors and treats are amazing too. I have been craving a peppermint mocha so badly!

  5. Cinnamon & Hazelnut in a coffee sounds like a delicious combo! Those fairy lights are the best festive lights I’ve seen. Your Christmas decorations add a lovely touch to your dorm room 🙂
    Anything with in it peppermint is my fave thing to drink around this time of the year.

  6. I don’t have any decorations up yet, but I’m planning on putting up Chrismtas lights later today 🙂

    And coffee, oh I could go on and on about the joys of good coffee. Needless to say it’s always a mood booster for me as well 🙂
    Take care!

  7. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love your snowflakes, they look so perfect. I haven’t started decorating yet, and might not decorate my own place, but I’m helping the family with theirs and a friend with hers, so it will put me in the holiday mood! Hazelnut + cinnamon sounds tasty, but I love EVERYTHING with cinnamon 🙂

  8. My favorite warm drink to have during this time of year would definitely be a Stabucks pumpkin spice latte. Cliche, I know, but that baby rules my tastebuds!

Leave a Reply

