The Student Life

Well!

For one of the first times since I’ve been at uni I actually feel a bit like a stereotypical student.

Before I go into the details I just want to say that the last week and a half of my term are going to be ridiculously busy so I apologise ahead of time if I don’t manage to post every day! I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to being home for a whole month at Christmas, I really need the time to relax and enjoy myself.

But anyway back to the story…

Last night was my hall of residence’s Christmas party. So we all got dressed up and went off for a three course meal and some dancing.

I had a few drinks, as isΒ requiredΒ by students on a night out πŸ˜›

Here is a photo of me and one of my new friends, she’s absolutely lovely and not to mention hilariously good fun!

Β (I think you can sort of tell that I’m on my medication and that the dose is getting quite high as I really just look exhausted even with all of my make-up on!)

It was great fun though, I do love getting dressed up πŸ™‚ And I was pleased that my dress was suitably Christmassy!

The meal was actually surprisingly good, I have to say I didn’t expect much because we didn’t pay much for the event. Now I’m afraid the following photos are from an old and

pretty rubbish point-and-shoot camera and were taking in the semi-dark with the flash on so they’re pretty awful!

I opted for the vegetarian options because I’m becoming less and less interested in eating meat and I’m glad I did, it looked better than the meat option!

Starter was a roasted tomato and pepper soup with croutons (albeit quite soggy croutons!). The soup actually had quite a nice flavour and I like light starters because it means I have plenty of room for my main course.

Main course was a mushroom Wellington along with a sort of potato cake and salad. I love pastry and mushrooms so this was always going to be good for me, even if the pastry was somewhat lacklustre.

Dessert was a chocolate cheesecake and a cute little pot of ice cream. The ice cream was lovely, by this point I was a little tipsy so I have no idea what kind of ice cream it was but it was nice anyway πŸ˜›

We then went back to the girls’ flat and stayed up chatting until I fell asleep! Apparently, according to my research this morning, mixing my medicine with alcohol tends to lead to increased drowsiness and dizziness…

All in all it was a really fun night!

Today I had two quite important meetings and in time with them I had two naps. So a little less like the “stereotypical student”.

I leave you tonight with a photo of my dinner:

Spicy couscous and pan-fried courgette with garlic. Delicious, I needed the veg!

Anyway I’m off to bed, despite my naps I’m absolutely exhausted still πŸ˜›

Have you got any Christmas parties coming up?
Were/are you a stereotypical student?
What’s your favourite thing about the Christmas build-up?

Sophie x

26 comments

  1. Wow what a fabulous and fun night! Love your dress girl and the food? To die for! πŸ˜€
    Next week is going to be chaos for me too with exams, but then it’s time to kick back and countdown Christmas! Can’t wait!!

  2. I love your dress! Red is a good color on you, and it’s just a fantastic holiday outfit πŸ™‚ And I agree with Alexandra, all of that food looks tasty. Ha I love that you were a bit too tipsy to know the ice cream flavor… that kind of thing happens to me too!

  3. The christmas dress is fabulous! πŸ™‚ It sounds like it was a really fun night.

    In the lead up to chrissy, I love gingerbread, sparkly decorations, the smell of christmas trees and the general festive mood thats in the the air.

  4. You look so pretty in your super cute red dress! Our residence hall parties cannot even compare to that! – Yours looks really fun πŸ™‚
    I think I’m usually especially excited about Christmas because not only is it so festive and fun, but it also means school is OVER for the semester. I also love how many people are out and about christmas shopping. And i lovee buying presents πŸ™‚

  5. That sounds fun! You’re lucky you can go to a party where there is veggies! That is so rare haha. I love your party outfit, so cute. I’ve been wanting a red dress for like. ever. Makes me so excited for my Christmas parties coming up! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

