What I Ate Wednesday No.18

Well today’s been full of ups and downs. I will explain all but first I figured I figured I’d share with you some of today’s eats in the spirit of:

Thank you once again Jenn for creating WIAW!

Breakfast was the usual. I do love my weetabix and frozen raspberries.

Lunch was another of my typical foods: avocado on toasted bagel. Just like the weetabix and frozen raspberries, l love my avocado. It’s been one of those days were I just wanted quick, easy and comforting food.

This afternoon was the switching on of the Christmas lights so a few of us got together to go into town and enjoy the beginnings of the Christmas season. We enjoyed a lovely coffee first and I shared an oatmeal and raisin cookie with Trelawney which was pretty tasty. We then went to wonder around the German Christmas Market for a bit before the event started, it’s really cute so I definitely want to go back.

Unfortunately this is where the good part of my day ended. In our group was a guy who uses an electric wheelchair so, what with my cane, we obviously had difficulties getting through the crowds. The market square was absolutely packed with people just shoving past each other and paying absolutely no attention to those around them. It was getting ridiculous and so we decided we needed to get out of the crowds. Mistake. Some people are astoundingly ignorant. And so there we are, making our way (very slowly) through the crowds, trying to get people to move to let the chair through, when this guy starts shoving past. When we try to stand back as its clear that he’s not stopping he decides to start having a go and started mouthing off and swearing at me. I was shocked. He pretty much harassed me for walking with a cane. For being disabled.

I’m finding it a bit difficult to stomach if I’m honest. I don’t understand how some people can be like that.

And having that happen today has just compounded how I’ve been feeling lately and I’ve decided that I’m going to take a little break from blogging. Only for a few days, I’m sure I’ll be back at it again on Monday, but I just need a little time off and I thought I’d tell you in case anyone wondered where I’d gone!

I just need to clear my head, get on with some work and get my exercise and cooking ‘mojo’ back. I’ll miss you all though and I’ll be reading all of your blogs so although I’ve been  finding it difficult to find the time to comment I promise I’m still reading them all and enjoying hearing what you’ve been up to.

Hope you’re all having a good week 🙂

Sophie x

25 comments

  1. Omg Sophie this has made me so sad to read 😦 I can’t believe what rude ignorant bastards people are. Being inconsiderate in a crowd is bad enough, but actually verbally insulting you is just despicable. I’m really sorry you had to have that experience. I know I can’t say anything to make it much better but honestly, I’m thinking of you, and if you want to chat feel free to send me an email any time.

  2. Wow. That’s messed up. I can’t believe that happened to you, really, that’s so heartless. You’ll be missed in the blog world! I look forward to reading your post, but you gotta do what’s best for you. I hope you have a a great Thanksgiving girl! 🙂

  3. I’m sorry to hear about you encountering these types of people especially when it was supposed to be such a fun evening for you! When things like that happen I tend to look at it as their loss. They’re just not educated enough to know how to handle themselves around people and they just act so senseless and ignorant. I know its hard, but we just have to learn to ignore people like this. I hope your week finishes off well and that you’ll be feeling better soon! Baking and exercise tend to make me feel better! 🙂

    1. I think you’re completely right – you do just have to ignore things like this, even though they can be quite shocking.
      The end of my week was much nicer, seeing my boyfriend cheered me up loads!
      Thank you for the support 🙂

  4. This made me so mad..I would have gone off on this guy if I were there. My sister has autism so I am all too familiar with ignorant ass holes that don’t have a heart for people who have a disability whether it be mental or physical. Stay strong, and to hell with that guy..he probably has a terrible home life and will suffer one day because of his tendencies. You are amazingly beautiful and are loved by many!

Leave a Reply

