One of Those Days

I guess I knew coming back wouldn’t be easy.

I had kinda hoped that I wouldn’t feel this homesick though!

My room just felt really cold and small and as some of my flatmates were still away it felt really lonely to be back 😦

At least I was expecting to feel this way, it comes as no surprise that after a wonderful week at home in the warm and comfort of where I grew up, spending time with my friends and family, uni life doesn’t seem as appealing all of a sudden…

Oh well I’m sure I’ll feel a lot better in a couple of days!

As I’ve not been feeling up to much I’m afraid I’ve only taken a picture of my breakfast this morning and not taken any photos since.

I went for a good ol’ weetabix mush with a liberal covering of frozen raspberries on top. It is my favourite breakfast after all. Although I have to admit frozen raspberries just don’t quite cut it the way fresh ones do! Also I hope you all like my newΒ place mat, I bought three different ones to try to make my ugly windowsill a little more appealing in my food photos.

Funny thing about my food photos: I take most of them on my windowsill as it’s the only place that gets semi-decent light here. As such, because my bedroom is on theΒ ground floorΒ I get some funny looks from people going past when they happen to glimpse in and see me taking photos of what they must see as the window! πŸ˜›

This week I’m going to try to make it to the gym again. I’ve really hurt my knee today so I’ll see how it goes but I really do want to get back into the habit of going. I plan on taking it easy to begin with and trying to build up my endurance.

Right now I’m afraid I’m off to go write an essay about Chaucer so I’d best leave things here. I promise I’ll be back tomorrow with a more interesting post!

Has anyone get any tips for gradually building up my ability to train without the pain kicking in?
What did you get up to this weekend?

Sophie x

29 comments

  1. I have been such a slacker with my food pics too! I say that you should ease into training, start slow and build up. Maybe start with the elliptical or something so it doesn’t put too much stress on your knee then once you feel better try to walk/run etc but take it easy πŸ™‚

  2. Lovin’ the new place mats! I’m sorry your homesick, I hope you start to feel better 😦 and I’m reading Geoffrey Chaucer in my senior lit class right now. The one with the pardoners tale and all the different characters stories. It actually makes me look forward to that class because he really was an entertaining writer.

  3. Sorry to hear you’re homesick. 😦 Just think how great it’ll be next time you get to visit! πŸ™‚ Being apart from my family makes me even more excited to see them!
    Good luck writing the essay girly!

  4. When I was injured I just stuck with the exercise machines that I could do comfortably – the elliptical and mountain climbers were fine for my foot and hip injury. I built up my endurance slowly and then gradually started to introduce different machines as I recovered. I also did more weights and core exercises.
    Have fun with your essay!

  5. I’ve been feeling a bit homesick lately too. The start of the holiday season always makes me miss home!

    Haha I can so relate to getting weird looks for taking pictures of my food! My old apartment neighbour could look into my window when I had the blinds open, so he saw me taking pictures of food on my window ledge on numerous occasions. He thought I was a nut bar! πŸ˜›

    Good luck on your essay!

  6. I miss you so much big sis, I have so much work too. Good luck with all your essays πŸ™‚ your frozen raspberrys look so pretty x x x x

  7. Lovely place mat! Sorry your homesick. I’m sure within a week or so you’ll be back into a routine and it won’t be so bad. Between school work and hitting the gym…both good ways to distract yourself. Start slow on the machines and each week start increasing the intensity πŸ™‚ Hope your knee pain isn’t too painful.

  8. Aw, I know how homesickness is – especially when I lived in Ireland, all of my housemates would leave every weekend and I’d be stuck there, obviously not able to go home- blagh.

    I would say take it super easy and slow and you should be good!

  9. Awww poo I am so sorry you are feeling homesick still! But your attitude is truly remarkable and will carry you through this time of loneliness. I have so been there before, I basically hated my life my first year at school and cried about 24/7 ha, but it does get better!
    Let me know if you need anything, I am only an email away πŸ™‚

  10. I like the new place mats- good idea! I can relate with the weird stares- there is not a lot of natural light in my apartment at all so I take many pictures out on the porch and often people will walk by and stare haha

  11. aw I hope your homesickness fades! i know that feeling well!
    and as far as getting back into training i would say the main tip i have to offer is just listen to your body and don’t push it. i know it’s hard, but it’s worth it!

  12. I’m so sorry you’re feeling homesick, Sophie. I’m feeling homesick too, already. And I was just home yesterday! I think it’s completely normal..but it’s tough! You’re definitely not alone. What I do whenever I feel homesick is just focus on the fun things ahead. Plan a special weekend with your family, countdown the days until your next break, or write your family a letter!

  13. I think just building things up slowly is the best, then every couple of weeks (or even days) have a ‘set back’ week when you reduce your workouts to give yourself a break and then go back to increasing again and so on. Hope you feel less homesick soon chick x

  14. Slow and easy is the key to injury recovery (as I’m learning!). Listen to your body and know when you need to step back a bit. Also, ice after workouts is so crucial for me!

Leave a Reply

