Autumn Scenes

Today was really quite mild for November. Lately, everyday has felt like Winter, the air has been crisp, the temperature cold and the scenery decidedly wintery. But today was so mild I didn’t need to wrap up in my coat, my woolly snood and my red leather gloves, I went out in just a jumper!

I think my new medication is making me drowsy, I slept in again today, finally pulling myself out of bed at around 11am. I really feel like a teenager when I do that. I used to be a relatively early riser, once upon a time. I guess the exhaustion changes you.

Breakfast was the same luxury breakfast that I’ve enjoyed several times since being home.

And by luxury I mean it involved fresh raspberries. Just having that burst of delicious freshness and a sweetness in my mouth makes me smile.

Lunch was an autumnal favourite of mine:

Lovely, warm, comforting tomato soup with half a seed crusted bagel. Delish. Covent Garden Soup is really fantastic, any brits ever tried it? I might just have to get some at uni, it’s not the cheapest but they are just so good.

This afternoon my mother and I decided to go for a little walk to get some fresh air and admire the autumn scenery.

 It was lovely to walk along one of my favourite trails and I’m glad I got to see home at this time of year, I’d have missed the seasons changing. I do love this time of year.

It’s strange to think that I have two homes now if you count the place you live as a home. For me though, and it might sound cheesy but, home is definitely where the heart is. I can’t imagine uni ever really feeling like home. I don’t imagine anywhere else will until I really have a place of my own that I can put my heart into and put my personal touches into.

Dinner tonight was a new recipe. My mother made a really delicious cottage pie with a twist: the topping was not the usual mashed potato, it was made with butternut squash. My goodness, it was really delicious. I don’t ever want to have the traditional version again!

Now many of you requested my cheese straw recipe the other day, I’m warning you it isn’t a healthy recipe but it is pretty damn tasty, so here it is:

Cheese Straws
Adapted from a very old book we have called Kids’ Kitchen – I did say it was old 😛
(makes roughly a tray of straws)

  • 40g butter, cubed, plus a little extra for greasing
  • 85g plain flour, plus extra for dusting
  • 40g Cheddar, grated (could use a different cheese such as Parmesan if preferred)
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • a pinch of salt and pepper
Pre-heat the oven to 180°C/350°F. Grease a baking sheet/tray with butter.
Mix the flour, salt and pepper in a large mixing bowl. Add butter and, using your fingertips, rub into the flour until it resembles fine breadcrumbs.
Stir the cheese into the mixture. Make a well in the centre and tip in half of the beaten egg. Mix it in and, using your hands, work the doughy mixture into a ball.
Sprinkle a little flour onto a clean work surface and turn out the dough. Sprinkle flour over a rolling-pin and then roll out the dough to approximately 0.5cm (1/2 inch) thick.
Cut the pastry in half and then cut each piece into long thin straws. Place the straws onto the baking sheet, leaving a small space between them. Use a pastry brush to brush the remaining beaten egg onto each straw.
Cook for 10 minutes until golden. Once ready remove from the oven, leave to cool for a moment and then transfer them to a wire rack. Serve once they have hardened enough to pick up.
Enjoy!
Which is your favourite season and why?
Best variation of a traditional recipe?
Sophie x
19 comments

  1. what lovely nature trail/pond /w the ducks 😀 sigh….I need to get out in nature more

    those raspberries look so good. the ones in my fridge just won’t even suffice now 😉

  2. I like all the seasons except winter. Fall is the best because of the flavors and the fact that it’s cross country season!! I absolutely love all the scenery too – the pictures you took are gorgeous. The duck one is my favorite!

  3. I love Covent Garden soups! They did a curried spinach and cauliflower one a while ago that was just amazing. I also love Glorious soups, have you ever tried them? Their New England butternut squash is to die for… all exaggerations completely justified! 🙂
    Your afternoon walk looks gorgeous, I love the ducks!
    I know exactly what you mean about how strange it is to have two homes while you’re at uni. I ended up saying ‘I’m going home for the weekend’ when I left Hull to come back to my parent’s house, and then still saying ‘I’m going back home today’ when I set off back to Hull. So confusing!

  4. Mmmmm I want to try cheese straws!! And I love that word, “snood”! But what does it mean? Please explain for silly ellie. 😛 I’m just really eccentrically into words & terminology because I’m a language lover.

  5. Cottage pie – is that the same as shepherds pie? It looks similar.
    My favorite time of year is Spring. The days begin to get light earlier, the air is still crisp and cool yet there’s warmth around the corner.

  6. Fall is my favorite season because it’s pretty and chilly running weather is my favorite, but I also love winter because I grew up in the mountains.

Leave a Reply

